Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Environmental legal research in New York can be complex and involve many different levels of government (state/city/municipal). This guide provides information about undertaking environmental legal research in New York at all levels and provides links and references to primary and secondary sources of law. It is impossible to provide all of the possible treatises, journals, and news sources that discuss New York Environmental Law; this guide highlights a few and should be used as a starting point in your research.
Laws of New York
Available through the New York State Legislative Information Service. Includes New York City Charter and Code (links are under Miscellaneous).
New York Codes, Rules, and Regulations (NYCRR)
Unannotated version of the NYCRR from Westlaw. The NYCRR contains state agency rules and regulations and is divided into 22 titles--one for each state department, one for miscellaneous agencies and one for the Judiciary.
New York State Agencies
Lists state officials and state agencies in alphabetical order.
New York State Assembly
Official website of NY State Assembly; search for NY legislation.
New York State Courts An Introductory Guide
An overview of the New York State court system.
New York State Legislature
Provides links to the Assembly and Senate Agendas and Calendars, List of Chapters (the New York slip law designation), veto and approval messages, Laws of New York, and budget.
New York State Senate
See top navigation tabs to search for "Legislation" and updated information from the following "Committees:"
Energy & Telecommunications
New York State Unified Court System
Includes court calendars, rules, forms, links to bar associations, and directory of New York State attorneys. eCourts offers case tracking and electronic filing.
City of New York Charter, Administrative Code & Rules
Department of Buildings: Title 1
Department of Environmental Protection: Title 15
Department of Transportation: Title 34
Environmental Control Board: Title 48 Chap. 3
Department of Parks and Recreation: Title 50
Landmarks Preservation Commission: Title 63
New York City Agencies & Officials
Links to all of the agencies in the City of New York as well as the officials in charge.
New York City Council
To track and find new environmental legislation, use the top navigation tab for "Legislation & Committees"
Committee on Environmental Protection
Committee on Parks & Recreation
Committee on Sanitation and Solid Waste Management
Committee on Waterfronts
New York City Courts
See the New York Supreme Court link.
New York City Greenbook
Official directory of the City of New York.
Acting Director/Environmental Law Librarian