Research Guides: New York Legal Research: Home

Guide to New York State Resources
Available through Findlaw.
Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory
Lawyers.com. Searchable by practice area and location.
New York Resources
Available through Justia.
New York State Archives
This is the official repository of New York State Government records having permanent legal and historical value. Some of the legislative, judicial and executive agency records it holds are available on the website, along with exhibits and photographs.
New York State Government Information Locator Service
Provides a single point of access to information services provided by state agencies, the legislature and the judiciary. Hosted by the New York State Library.
New York State Government Telephone Directory
Office of General Services telephone directories by agency, individual, and topic.
NYLAWZ
Mission is to provide ease of use to New York State and New York City legal information and documents at no cost to users. Although there are many such sources of information, they are scattered across the Internet. New York Lawz provides one stop access. Although some of the documents and information provided are only available from our site, most of our links direct the user to other websites. Among some of the documents and information we provide connections to include: information for pro se court users; books and articles on legal subject matter; forms; how to find an attorney or free legal services; how to make an official complaint about an attorney; available attorney jobs; and free or low fee CLE courses.

Advisory Committee on Judicial Ethics
Judicial ethics opinions from the NY court system.
Association of the Bar of the City of New York Ethics Opinions
Opinions beginning with 1986. Ethics Hotline (212) 382-6624, operated by the Committee on Professional Ethics.
New York County Lawyers' Association Ethics Opinions
Available online starting in 2008.
New York Rules of Professional Conduct with Comments
Effective April 1, 2009, as amended through June 1, 2018, with Commentary as amended through June 1, 2018.

New York State Bar Association Ethics Opinions This link opens in a new window
Includes ethics opinions, the Code of Professional Responsibility, and the Code of Judicial Ethics.

CourtHelp
Information on representing yourself in N.Y. state courts.
LawHelpNY
Find free legal help in NY, along with information about your legal rights and the courts.
Lawyer Referral and Information Service
From the New York State Bar Association.
Legal Services of the Hudson Valley
Provides pro bono civil legal representation for Westchester, Putnam, Rockland, Orange, Dutchess, Ulster and Sullivan county residents.
Westchester County Bar Lawyer Referral Service
Provides low cost legal representation.

Census Data for New York State
U.S. Census information.
GIS Clearinghouse
Centralized access to Geographic Information Systems (GIS) data sets for New York State. Part of the New York State Office of Cyber Security and Critical Infrastructure Coordination.
New York State Data Center
A cooperative program with the Census Bureau for managing the dissemination of Census, state and federal statistical information.
NYOpenGovernment.com
NYOpenGovernment.com is an effort by the Attorney General’s office to promote your right to know and to monitor governmental decision-making. NYOpenGovernment.com is the only statewide resource that allows you to easily access statewide government information, which until now has been scattered or difficult to retrieve.

Law Reports Citation Manual
AKA the Tanbook. Official edition prepared by the Law Reporting Bureau.

Guide to New York Case Citations
Single page chart of most commonly cited case reporters for New York State.

Local Libraries

These libraries offer unique collections and free or low cost access. If you have a library card from your local public library, check its website to see what databases are offered remotely.

New York City Bar Association
Access to the ABCNY library is free to summer associates. The Library contains the single most comprehensive collection of U.S. and N.Y. appellate court briefs and records on appeal available. It has a strong historical collection of treatises as well.
New York County Lawyers' Association
Access to the NYCLA library is free to members. Law students can join the NYCLA for $25 a year, and fees for admitted lawyers are reasonable. The Library offers FREE access to Westlaw and Lexis and has a unique collection of historical materials.
New York Public Library (NYPL)
NY state residents can apply for an NYPL library card, which allows access to many electronic resources remotely.
New York State Library: Apply for P Card
Attorneys admitted in NY can apply for a "P" card that allows remote access to many databases. NYSL has a digital collection of NY historical documents as well.
New York State Library Databases and E-Journals
Access to NYSL's electronic resources is free to NY residents--use your NY driver's license for many of them. Apply for a NY state library card for remote access to all databases. NYSL has a digital collection of NY historical documents as well.
Westchester Supreme Court Library
The Westchester Supreme Court Library is located in the Richard J. Daronco County Courthouse, 111 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., 9th Floor, White Plains, NY, (914) 824-5660. Hours are generally 9AM to 5PM, but you should call to confirm.
White Plains Public Library
Check local public library for access to additional resources.

Author

This guide was created by Cynthia Pittson and is currently maintained by Pace Law Library Reference Librarians.