Research Guides: Guide for Law Review Members: Finding a Paper Topic

ABA Journal Blawg Directory
Locate a legal blog by topic, author type, region, or law school.
ATL How Appealing
The Web's first blog devoted to appellate litigation. Its RSS feed includes news and recent cases.
FindLaw Legal Blogs
Latest legal news and information.
Fourth Amendment
John Wesley Hall's online supplement to his Search and Seizure treatise. Includes federal and state cases.
Google Alerts
Log into your Google account and create an alert on a topic.
Google News
Save searches and stories.
Justia Blawg Search
Topical list of law blogs.
Law Library Blog
Subscribe to our blog to receive notifications of new postings on interesting aspects of the law and legal research.
SCOTUSblog
Comprehensive coverage of the U.S. Supreme Court without bias and according to the highest journalistic and legal ethical standards.

ASIL Insights
Short articles on current international law topics includes several essays on international criminal law.
Law Topics
Wide variety of newsletters on legal topics.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals (CILP) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Weekly index of articles from current law reviews, with links to full text. As of 2020, CILP is now provided through HeinOnline.
Law360 This link opens in a new window
News coverage of high-stakes litigation across 42 practices, including tax, securities, IP, mergers & acquisitions, health law, corporate law, commercial contracts, baking, bankruptcy, environmental law, energy law, employment law, and more. Available via Lexis with personal password and off campus via Pace VPN.
Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes New York Law Journal, National Law Journal, and other ALM publications. Create an alert to follow a particular case or topic.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Use Westlaw topical highlights, state bulletins and newsroom databases. Create WestClip (Westlaw alert) to track your topic. Browse the topics.

Write a Publishable Comment
- This link opens in a new window
Get Published by Your Law Review or Journal
- This link opens in a new window
Finding the right legal issue or case to analyze with Lexis.
Law Students as Legal Scholars: An Essay/Review of Scholarly Writing for Law Students and Academic Legal Writing
- This link opens in a new window
Article by Ruthann Robson published in The New York City Law Review in 2004.
Stalking the Golden Topic: A Guide to Locating and Selecting Topics for Legal Research Papers
- This link opens in a new window
Article by Heather Meeker published in the Utah Law Review in 1996.