Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Low Cost Resources
Casemaker partners with state bar associations to provide members with access to primary legal research and knowledge discovery. These state bar associations currently include CT, MA, RI, ME, and VT, and the NYC Bar Assn.
Casetext combines state-of-the-art search capability with a free legal research platform. Casetext’s platform is unique in enabling users to add personalized meta-data to documents and then use this data to filter and refine subsequent searches. Casetext enables sophisticated queries including term proximity and keyword boosting. AI product CARA available for a fee. Access for law faculty and students is free. Sign up here.
Jenkins Law Library
"America's first law library," located in Philadelphia, provides on-site and remote access to legal databases to its members. Member databases and access information is available here
. Membership fees are available here
New research platform. They have developed "technical and legal intelligence to deliver results that are far more precise, contextual and comprehensive." Currently it only covers California law.
State & Local Bar Associations
ABA list, check to see member benefits, including remote access to a low cost legal research service.
These libraries offer unique collections and free or low cost access. If you have a library card from your local public library, check its website to see what databases are offered remotely.
New York City Bar Association
Access to the ABCNY library is free to summer associates. The Library contains the single most comprehensive collection of U.S. and N.Y. appellate court briefs and records on appeal available. It has a strong historical collection of treatises as well.
New York County Lawyers' Association
Access to the NYCLA library is free to members. Law students can join the NYCLA for $25 a year, and fees for admitted lawyers are reasonable. The Library offers FREE access to Westlaw and Lexis and has a unique collection of historical materials.
New York Public Library (NYPL)
NY state residents can apply for an NYPL library card, which allows access to many electronic resources remotely.
New York State Library: Apply for P Card
Attorneys admitted in NY can apply for a "P" card that allows remote access to many databases. NYSL has a digital collection of NY historical documents as well.
New York State Library Databases and E-Journals
Access to NYSL's electronic resources is free to NY residents--use your NY driver's license for many of them. Apply for a NY state library card for remote access to all databases. NYSL has a digital collection of NY historical documents as well.
Westchester Supreme Court Library
The Westchester Supreme Court Library is located in the Richard J. Daronco County Courthouse, 111 Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Blvd., 9th Floor, White Plains, NY, (914) 824-5660. Hours are generally 9AM to 5PM, but you should call to confirm.
White Plains Public Library
Check local public library for access to additional resources.