Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bills Presented to the President
Browse and compare constitutions of various countries by country or by topic. Constitute was developed by the Comparative Constitutions Project in collaboration with Google.
Free Federal Statutory Law and Legislative Resources
Current and historical legislative information, including Congressional bill summaries and status, the Congressional Record, presidential nominations, treaties, and research guides.
Publishes the status of federal legislation and information about your representative and senators in Congress. Use GovTrack to track bills for updates.
Public and Private Laws
Govinfo site, contains the text of public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress (1995-1996) to the present. Beginning with the 110th Congress (2007-2008), the laws are digitally signed and certified.
1994 to present, from govinfo.gov.
U.S. Constitution Research Guide
Text, Commentaries, Historical Texts and Judicial Decisions - Law Library of Congress guide to the U.S. Constitution, with the text and additional resources.
United States Code (OLRC)
Downloadable version from the Office of the Law Revision Counsel.
United States Legislative
Law Library of Congress guide to the legislative process and Congress, includes overview, procedural manuals, Congressional Record, and other Congressional reports and publications.
Links to committee reports and other documents.
Century of Lawmaking for a New Nation
Part of the American Memory Project, includes searchable text and images for U.S. congressional documents and debates, 1774-1875.
Legislative History Research Guide
The legislative history of a law is comprised of the documents created during deliberations leading to the law's enactment. They are used to determine the legislature's intended purpose and to clarify any ambiguities in the language.
New York Governor's Bill Jackets
The New York State Archives has made Legislative Bill and Veto Jackets starting from 1995 available online. The jackets may be accessed by year and chapter as well as through a keyword search of the bill number and brief title.
1916 New York City Building Zone Resolution
PDF version, also available in Word, provided by Louisiana State University.
Local Laws Database (NY Dept. of State)
Local Laws adopted by the legislative body of a local government (county, city, town or village) are filed with the Department of State pursuant to section 27 of the Municipal Home Rule Law. Additionally, the legislative body of each county is required to provide the Secretary of State with a complete codification of all local laws (“county code”) in effect that it has adopted. The NY Department of State maintains an electronic database of local laws and county codes. The database contains local laws filed with the Department of State on or after January 1, 1998. It also includes county codes filed on or after April 1, 2015. Local laws and county codes filed with the Department of State are usually included in the Local Laws Database within two business days.
New York City Administrative Code
Available through the New York State Legislature website. Scroll to bottom of screen,
New York City Building Code
From the NYC Dept. of Buildings.
New York City Charter
As amended through July 2004.
New York City Council Legislative Research Center
Search proposed legislation, local laws, and resolutions beack to 1998.
Westchester County Code
From Municode, searchable and browsable.
General Code: eCode360
Subscription version of the eCode database. Allows you to search for terms across multiple municipalities at the same time.
Municipal codes available online by state.