Research Guides: Free and Low Cost Resources for Legal Research: Forms, Court Rules, Jury Instructions

Forms

N.Y. State Court Forms
Includes statewide and location specific forms.
Appellate Division 1st Dept. Forms
Also includes court rules and jury instructions.
Appellate Division Forms--2d Dept.
Includes orders to show cause, affidavit of service, affirmation, appellant's brief, notice of appeal and notice of motion.
Appellate Division Forms--3d Dept.
Includes affidavits, notices of appeal, and law guardian forms.
Appellate Division, Fourth Dept. Forms
Also Guidelines for Perfecting Appeals.
Corporate Filings
Official forms from the NY Dept. of State for business corps, not-for-profit corps, limited liability companies, limited and limited liability partnerships. Brochures on forming various corporate entities as well.
Court of Claims Forms
Divorce Forms
Includes divorce forms and instructions.
Family Court Forms
Includes general forms as well as forms related to adoption, guardianship, juvenile delinquency, paternity, foster care, child custody, child protective, and child support.
Name Change Forms and Requirements
New York City Civil Court Forms
Includes affidavits, notices of service, motions and orders to show cause, and instructions for pro se plaintiffs.
New York City Housing Court Forms
Includes affidavits, motions and orders to show cause, and notices of appeals.
New York City Small Claims Court Forms
Includes general forms, notices and motions to show cause, stipulations, and appeals.
NYS Domestic Violence Forms
Real Property System
Official forms from the NY State Office of Real Property Services.
Request for Judicial Intervention (RJI)
Effective September 1, 2011, the Unified Court System has promulgated a revised Request for Judicial Intervention Form (Form USC-840 Rev. 3/2011), and Addenda, for use in civil practice in the Supreme and County Courts.
more...less...
The forms include the RJI itself (UCS-840), a general addendum (UCS-840A), and specialized addenda for Commercial Division (UCS-840C), foreclosure (UCS-840F), and matrimonial matters (UCS-840M).
Supreme Court Forms--12th Judicial District (Bronx County)
Includes forms for city part IA-3, part IA-21, guardianship, legal support, small claims assessment review (SCAR), and various forms that can be filled in online.
Surrogate's Court Forms
Includes adoption, guardianship, probate, small estate, and wrongful death forms.

ContractStandards
Set up a free account to research standard clauses and get inside analysis. Customize model contracts with Document Assembly tool. Create private libraries from your own collection (the private libraries service is fee-based).
RocketLawyer Legal Forms
Some free legal forms for business, real estate, estate planning, and family law.

Court Rules

U.S. Supreme Court Rules
Federal Rules of Practice for Federal Courts
U.S. Federal Court Finder
Links to websites of every federal court, including bankruptcy courts, U.S. Probation and Pretrial Offices, and Federal Defender Organizations. Local rules and rules of individual federal judges are posted on court websites.
U.S. Tax Court Rules of Practice and Procedure
U.S. Court of Claims Rules
U.S. Court of International Trade Rules

Administrative Rules of the Unified Court System and Uniform Rules of the Trial Courts
Links to rules for the Chief Judge, Chief Administrative Judge, Trial Courts, Joint Appellate Rules Governing Attorneys, and various amendments.
Appellate Division Rules--1st Dept.
Appellate Division Rules--2d Dept.
Appellate Division Rules--3d Dept.
Appellate Division Rules--4th Dept.
Court of Claims Rules
Includes uniform rules, motion practice rules, and individual judge's rules.
New York Official Reports Style Manual
This provides guidance for New York judges and their staffs in the preparation of opinions for publication in the Official Reports. It is not binding on lawyers, but many find it useful in preparing papers for submission to New York courts.
more...less...
"The Style Manual provides a guide for opinion writers and editors in five primary areas: citation, abbreviation, capitalization, quotation, and word style and usage. Additionally, it specifies for editors the format and typographical standards for the Reports."
Supreme Court Rules--3d Judicial District
Includes general and individual judge's rules.
Supreme Court Rules--5th Judicial District
Includes general rules and rules for individual supreme and county courts and judges.
Supreme Court Rules--6th Judicial District
Supreme Court Rules--9th Judicial District
Supreme Court Rules--Commercial Division
Supreme Court-Other Judicial Districts

NJ Court Rules

Jury Instructions

Trialdex Jury Instructions
Includes state and federal pattern jury instructions.
New York Criminal Jury Instructions and Model Colloquies
Model charges and guides intended as a guideline for trial judges.