Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide includes
- Links to free and low cost Internet resources for legal research.
- How to evaluate internet resources
- Advice on using books for legal research.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions & Journals
Google Scholar includes opinions for U.S. state appellate and supreme court cases since 1950, U.S. federal district, appellate, tax and bankruptcy courts since 1923, and U.S. Supreme Court cases since 1791. In addition, it includes citations for cases cited by indexed opinions or journal articles which allows you to find influential cases (usually older or international) which are not yet online or publicly available.
Option to limit to specific court. Limit search to the title to find specific party names..
When searching for law reviews, the title is usually linked to a paid resource like HeinOnline or JSTOR. To find free versions, click the link on the right, or the "View all versions" link under the citation and summary.
Save to "My Library" by clicking the under an article or opinion.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions & Law Reviews
Advanced search option allows you to limit by author, title, jurisdiction, and court. How cited tab pulls up articles and opinions that have cited your opinion or law review article. Use "all versions" link to find free versions of articles.
Browser extension. Search thousands of sources instantly to find legal access to research articles and data.
The Indigo Book
A free, Creative Commons-dedicated implementation of The Bluebook’s Uniform System of Citation. The Indigo Book was compiled by a team of students at the NYU School of Law, working under the direction of Professor Christopher Jon Sprigman.
Legal Dictionary and Abbreviations
This guide was created by Cynthia Pittson and is currently maintained by Pace Law Library Reference Librarians.
Portals & General Legal Research Websites
Set up a free account to research standard clauses and get inside analysis. Customize model contracts with Document Assembly tool. Create private libraries from your own collection (the private libraries service is fee-based).
eReference Library Link Dataset Toolkit 2018
Comprehensive link dataset toolkit of electronic reference resources and services currently available on the Internet. This guide provides researchers with a wide ranging A-Z pathfinder of subject matter specific sources, sites and services that includes actionable information on topics that include: business, dictionaries and digital archives, the economy, education, energy, governance, law and legislation, news, online services provided by librarians, information maintained by US and global organizations (public, private, industry, news, academic/scholarly, government), sciences, and more.
Federal Judicial Center
Education and research agency for the federal courts.Includes a wide variety of downloadable PDF manuals and monographs.
Free Government Information
Free Government Information (FGI) is a place for initiating dialogue and building consensus among the various players (libraries, government agencies, non-profit organizations, researchers, journalists, etc.) who have a stake in the preservation of and perpetual free access to government information. FGI promotes free government information through collaboration, education, advocacy and research.
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
Guide to Law Online
The Library of Congress Guide to Law Online lists links to research guides and sources of statutes, cases, regulations for various foreign countries.
International focus, includes legal directories, law firms, practice areas, job postings.
Links to federal and state primary law.
Free online legal resources. LawInfo is a legal marketing portal sponsored by Thomson Reuters.
New York State Government Information Locator Service
Provides a single point of access to information services provided by state agencies, the legislature and the judiciary. Hosted by the New York State Library.
Includes bulk access to court decisions, statutes and administrative codes, and Pacer documents.
Public Library of Law
Cases from US Supreme court and Courts of Appeals, cases from all 50 states dating back to 1997, federal statutory law and codes from all 50 states, regulations, constitutions, and court rules.
Free Online Law Reviews
Law Review Commons
The Law Review Commons contains over 220,000 articles from open-access law reviews with issues dating from 1852. Current issues and archives are freely available online through law schools’ bepress Digital Commons repositories.
Free Full-Text Online Law Review/Law Journal Search Engine
From the ABA, this free search engine searches the free full-text of over 350 online law reviews and law journals, as well as document repositories hosting academic papers and related publications such as Congressional Research Service reports. Several of the law reviews and legal journals (such as the Stanford Technology Law Review), working papers, and reports are available online only.