Research Guides: Elder Law Resources: General Overview

Description

Elder Law is defined as the legal practice of counseling and representing older persons and their representatives about health care and long-term planning, eligibility and receipt of public benefits (e.g. Medicare and Medicaid), planning for incapacity and mental incompetence, estate planning and applicable tax expertise, and employment discrimination.

Evaluating Internet Resources

Finding and Evaluating Online Resources
NIH guide specific to health and medical resources.
Evaluating Internet Resources
Research guide with tips for evaluating websites and spotting fake news.

Internet Archive and Other Web Archives

Bush White House (43)
CyberCemetery
Archive of government websites that have ceased operation (usually websites of defunct government agencies and commissions that have issued a final report). This collection features a variety of topics indicative of the broad nature of government information.
Google Cache Feature
Memory Hole 2
Site that saves important government documents that have been removed from government websites. Also digitizes documents not previously available.
Obama White House
Trump Whitehouse
TV News Search and Borrow
Contains over 1 million news programs collected since 2009 from national U.S. networks.The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.
Wayback Machine
Digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Search for old versions of websites.

Google Books
Use Find in a Library link to find a book.
Catalog & Discovery Service
Search the print and electronic holdings of both the Law Library and the University Libraries. Sign in with your Pace Portal username and password to save searches and request materials from other campuses. Also allows you to search through additional databases and locate journals.

Catalog & Discovery Service
Search the print and electronic holdings of both the Law Library and the University Libraries. Sign in with your Pace Portal username and password to save searches and request materials from other campuses. Also allows you to search through additional databases and locate journals.
Journal Discovery Service
Allows you to find journal articles.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions & Law Reviews
Advanced search option allows you to limit by author, title, jurisdiction, and court. How cited tab pulls up articles and opinions that have cited your opinion or law review article. Use "all versions" link to find free versions of articles.

Databases available at Pace University Libraries This link opens in a new window
Additional electronic databases organized in alphabetical order or by subject. Non-legal databases should be consulted, particularly when researching interdisciplinary topics.
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Law Commons This link opens in a new window
This site, hosted by bepress, provides open-access legal scholarship from over 200 institutions. It is searchable and browsable by area of law, author, and institution. Free.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN includes working and published papers in the social sciences, and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, including the Legal Scholarship Network. It is free, but requires registration. It includes PDF papers with abstracts, and the abstract, title and author are all searchable.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) at Pace
Create an account, log in, and request a book or article (photocopy). Provide all information, and be certain you have checked all resources available to you at Pace first.

Examples of Key Topics in Elder Law

Advance directives
Link goes to Pace Discovery Service and includes books, articles, news, and videos. Access off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Age discrimination in employment
Link goes to Pace Discovery Service and includes books, video resources, and links to full-text articles and news. Access off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Assisted living, nursing homes and long-term care facilities
Link goes to Pace Discovery Service and covers law and legislation, quality of care, and patients' rights. Includes books, news, articles, and videos. Access off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Capacity and disability
Link goes to Pace Catalog and Discovery Service
Elder abuse
Link goes to Pace Discovery Service and include articles, videos, news, and books. Access off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Estate planning and trusts
Link goes to Pace Discovery Service
Fraud and older persons
Link goes to Pace Discovery Service
Guardianship and elder law
Link goes to Pace Catalog and Discovery Service
Housing issues
Link goes to HUD website.
Kinship foster care and guardianship
Link goes to HHS Child Welfare Information Gateway.
Living trusts
Link goes to Pace Catalog and Discovery Service
Medicaid
Link goes to medicaid.gov.
Medicare
Includes coverage information and information on claims and appeals.
Medicare supplement insurance (Medigap)
Link goes to Medicare.gov.
Mental health law
Link goes to Pace Catalog and Discovery Service
Older men issues
Link goes to Pace Catalog and Discovery Service
Older women issues
Link goes to Pace library catalog.
Probate
Link goes to Pace Catalog and Discovery Service
Retirement planning
Link goes to SSA website.
Social Security and disability
Link goes to SSI website.
Taxation and older people
Link goes to Pace library catalog.

Guide Author

This guide was originally developed by Margaret Moreland, reference librarian. It was updated and reorganized by Lorraine Chun, reference librarian. Currently it is maintained by Rebecca Pressman.