Research Guides: Access to Justice: Articles

Catalog & Discovery Service
Search the print and electronic holdings of both the Law Library and the University Libraries. Sign in with your Pace Portal username and password to save searches and request materials from other campuses. Also allows you to search through additional databases and locate journals.
Journal Discovery Service
Allows you to find journal articles.
Google Scholar
Provides access to a wide range of scholarly materials, including articles available on ssrn.com, HeinOnline and the Digital Commons, as well as snipets of books from Google Books.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for more than 3,430 scholarly publications covering academic areas of study including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Bar Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains state and local bar journals, searchable by article title, author, description, date, and full text of the articles. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text of scholarly journals in a wide variety of disciplines. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.

Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.

Law Commons This link opens in a new window
This site, hosted by bepress, provides open-access legal scholarship from over 200 institutions. It is searchable and browsable by area of law, author, and institution. Free.
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Lexis +AI This link opens in a new window
Case law, statutes, Shepard's, secondary sources, and news. Access with personal password limited to Pace Law students, faculty and staff.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers and articles in the social sciences, including law. Free.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
Pace Law School students, staff, and faculty have access with personal password.

This is a list of selected journals, which may have articles on access to justice issues.

ABA Journal
Provides access to articles on the topic of access to justice.
American Criminal Law Review
The American Criminal Law Review is the nation’s premier journal of criminal law. The ACLR seeks to serve the criminal law community by providing a forum for the best scholarship in the field. The ACLR especially strives to provide information and ideas that are useful to criminal law practitioners.
American Journal of Criminal Law
Berkely Journal of Criminal Law
Columbia Human Rights Law Review
Columbia Journal of Race and Law
Criminal Justice
Published by the ABA, this journal focuses on practice and policy issues of the criminal justice system. Available on Westlaw and Lexis.
Criminal Justice Ethics
Articles focusing on ethical issues in criminal justice by philosophers, criminal justice professionals, lawyers and judges and the general public on topics relating to the police, courts, corrections and issues in legal philosophy.
Dædalus
The journal featured an open access issue with articles devoted to access to justice in Winter 2019.
Harvard Civil Rights - Civil Liberties Law Review
Journal of Gender, Race & Justice
Journal of Open Access to Law
JOAL is an open-access, peer-reviewed academic journal of international scope. Its purpose is to promote international research on the topic of open access to law.
Journal of Race, Gender, and Ethnicity
Justice System Journal
Available in various databases with an embargo. This interdisciplinary journal publishes articles on all aspects of law, courts, court administration, and judicial behavior and their impact on public and social policy. Available on Lexis with a 6 month embargo on full-text articles.
Michigan Journal of Race and Law
National Black Law Journal
Race and Justice: An International Journal
Race and Justice: An International Journal serves as a quarterly forum for excellent scholarship on race, ethnicity, and the justice system. The journal prioritizes rigorous empirical studies that use quantitative, qualitative, or mixed methods. RAJ’s scope includes policy examinations, theory tests, program evaluations, and other types of studies that speak directly to policy, practice, or theory and advance the scholarly literature in one or more substantive areas. The journal is open to scholarship from all disciplinary origins and from countries around the globe.
Rutgers Race & The Law Review
Stanford Journal of Civil Rights and Liberties
Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice
Created in 1979, the Windsor Yearbook of Access to Justice was the earliest Canadian journal devoted to the trans-cultural and international study of individuals and groups excluded from the protections of the domestic or international legal orders. Also available on Westlaw and Lexis.