Research Guides: Climate Change: Science

Homepage
UNEP website providing science and data for people. Run by the Science Division located in Nairobi and six regional offices, which provides up-to-date, scientifically reliable, relevant data and information for policy and planning towards sustainable development.
Data Downloader
Allows users to download data based on topic, country, and regions.
Geospatial Applications
Mapping Tools
Allows you to create a map using your data, provided you have included latitude and longitude coordinates in particular fields.
Ontology
Provides for searching the gene ontology database.

Statistics
Provides access to food and agriculture, forestry, fisheries and aquaculture, and trade and markets statistics.
Agricultural Market Information System (AMIS)
Designed to enhance market transparency. Currently tracks, wheat, maize, soybean, and rice markets.
AQUASTAT
Provides information on water resources, water use, agricultural water uses, and non-conventional water resources.
CountrySTAT
Provides information for food and agriculture statistics at the national and subnational level.
FAOSTAT
Includes data for 245 countries and 35 regional areas from 1961.
Fisheries and Aquaculture
Collections of data on fisheries and aquaculture.
GAEZ
Global Agro-Ecological Zones provides the background for many applications, including quantifying land productivity.
more...less...
Note: Requires Adobe Flash.
GeoNetwork
Allows users to find interactive maps, GIS datasets, and satellite images.
Global Information and Early Warning System (GIEWS)
Provides information on food security and production for all countries.
Global Livestock Production and Health Atlas (GLiPHA)
Provides global and subnational data on livestock.

Carbon Dioxide Vital Signs
Provides information on latest measurements and allows users to download data.
Global Temperature
Allows users to download data and see graphs and charts of global temperatures back to the 1880s.
Arctic Sea Ice Minimum
Provides an interactive graph of changes in sea ice going back to 1979.
Ice Sheets
Provides data from NASA's GRACE satellites showing land ice sheets on Greenland and Antarctica. There is a break in data from 2017 until around summer of 2019 owing to the end of one mission and the beginning of a new one.
Sea Level
Allows users to download various data, some of which goes back to the 1870s.

Climate
Provides up to date and authoritative information about the climate.
Climate Dashboard
Allows you to view graphs of climate change, climate variability, and climate projections through the lens of various factors.
Dataset Gallery
Provides data on the US, world, and regions. Allows for filtering by climate variables and data type. Includes a variety of data formats.
National Center for Environmental Information
Billed as one of the most significant archives of environmental information on Earth, NCEI provides information on weather and climate, coasts, oceans, and geophysics.

Adaptation Knowledge Portal
Product of the Nairobi Work Programme. Provides access to information on climate change adaptation and work under the UNFCCC. Includes case studies, methods and tools, documents, and more.
Carbon Footprint Calculator
Allows users to calculate their carbon footprint for the household, transportation, and lifestyle.
Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data
Provides data on country and regional emissions.

Climate Homepage
Provides data related to climate change including information on coastal flooding, food resilience, water, health, transportation, energy infrastructure, and ecosystem vulnerability.

A joint initiative of the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Climate Science Legal Defense Fund. The service tracks government attempts to restrict or prohibit scientific research, education, discussion, or publication since the November 2016 U.S. elections.

Silencing Science Tracker

Climate Attribution Database
Database including scientific resources arranged thematically. Part of a collaboration between the Sabin Center for Climate Change Law and the Lamont-Doherty Earth Observatory. All of the information is relevant to climate litigation and policy-making.
National Center for Atmospheric Research
Research center sponsored by the National Science Foundation.
Safe Climate Research Initiative
SilverLining, a nonprofit organization dedicated to ensuring there are enough options to address near-term climate risks, uses the initiative to support research in solar climate intervention.