Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Remarkable Rise of Transgender Rights by "While medical identification and treatment of gender dysphoria have existed for decades, the development of transgender as a "collective political identity" is a recent construct. Over the past twenty-five years, the transgender movement has gained statutory nondiscrimination protections at the state and local levels, hate crimes protections in a number of states, inclusion in a federal law against hate crimes, legal victories in the courts, and increasingly favorable policies in bureaucracies at all levels. It has achieved these victories despite the relatively small number of trans people and despite the widespread discrimination, poverty, and violence experienced by many in the transgender community. This is a remarkable achievement in a political system where public policy often favors those with important resources that the transgender community lacks: access, money, and voters. The Remarkable Rise of Transgender Rights explains the growth of the transgender rights movement despite its marginalized status within the current political opportunity structure"--Publisher's website
Call Number: HQ77.9 .T39 2018
Publication Date: 2018-10-17
The Boundaries of Desire by "The act of reproduction, and all of its variants, have been practiced in roughly the same ways since the beginning, but our ideas about the meaning and consequences of sex are in constant flux. At any given point in time, some forms of sex have been encouraged, while others have been punished without mercy. Jump forward or backward a century, or cross a border, and the harmless fun of one society becomes the gravest crime in another. Beginning at the point when courts guarded the sanctity of the "family home" by permitting men to rape their wives, continuing on through the "sexual revolution," a period that transformed traditional notions of childhood and marriage, and extending into the present day (where debates surrounding gay marriage, sex trafficking, and sex on the internet are part of our daily lives), Berkowitz explores the ways nearly every aspect of Western sexual morality has been turned on its head, with the law always one or two steps behind. By focusing on the experiences of real people who played central roles in the formation of our sexual rights, Berkowitz adds a compelling human element to what might otherwise be faceless legal battles-ultimately arguing that compassion for others is always preferable to sanctimonious condemnation, and that questions about morals and sexual laws are too complicated and volatile to resolve through simple, catch-all solutions. "-- Provided by publisher
Call Number: K5194 .B47 2015
Publication Date: 2015-08-11
Legal Path Dependence and the Long Arm of the Religious State by Bringing together theoretical perspectives from both comparative politics and public law, this book examines the reasons why certain countries criminalize same-sex activities while others have carved into law the requirement that sexual minority communities be protected. The authors break new ground by using cross-national yearly data over decades?focusing on sodomy laws, death penalty provisions for same-sex sexual relations, and sexual discrimination practices - to develop a Gay Rights Index comparing treatment of such groups in various parts of the world. The book includes legal and large-N analyses, historical examples, and case studies underscoring important changes and key trends during the last several decades. Also highlighted are the significant human rights violations still being committed in various parts of the world against sexual minorities, and the continuing role religion plays
Call Number: K3242.3 .A83 2016
Publication Date: 2016-12-01
Records of books, audiotapes, videotapes, and databases cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 12th century.
The Pat Parker/Vito Russo Library
Founded in 1991 to encourage and facilitate the reading and research of LGBT literature, the Pat Parker/Vito Russo Center Library is named in honor of individuals who championed LGBT causes in their professional and personal lives. The Center Library is a lending library connected with others around the city, sponsor of a monthly reading group, and producer and/or collaborator for literary events of interest to the LGBT community.
LGBTQ at NYPL
Connecting you with the LGBTQ collections, programs, and expertise that The New York Public Library has to offer
International Law - Databases
This database provide access to some major family law journals:Family Advocate; Family Law Newsletter; Family Law Quarterly; Family Law Review; Family Lawyer. It also contains International Law materials including, International Treaties and Agreements.
Lists the family laws of select countries along with international family law related journals.
Provides free access to the laws of Commonwealth and Common Law countries including regions of Africa, Asia, Europe the Caribbean and Oceania.
Provides hyperlinked list of the laws of throughout Canada.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (AustLII), a joint facility of UTS and UNSW Faculties of Law.
Blogs, Podcasts, YouTube & Websites
Pace Law School students, staff, and faculty have access with personal password.
Case law, statutes, Shepard's, secondary sources, and news. Access with personal password limited to Pace Law students, faculty and staff.
LGBTQ Employment Law Practice Guide
this Guide endeavors to (1) provide federal and state-specific practical guidance to lawyers of all backgrounds and experience levels whose LGBTQ clients require effective representation to resolve or litigate a workplace-related dispute, (2) assist employers’ counsel in drafting and designing culturally competent and sound workplace policies and practices that are both legally compliant and that protect the rights of LGBTQ workers, and (3) provide guidance to employer’s counsel in responding to an LGBTQ litigant’s charge or complaint of discrimination on the basis of sexual orientation and/or gender identity.
Includes wide variety of legal material, includng the full-text of law reviews back to volume 1. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.