Research Guides: Family Law Research: Tools and Forms

Domestic Violence Victims

City of Yonkers - Domestic Violence Information
Lists hotline and emergency contact information.
City of Yonkers Crime Prevention and Safety Tips
This site provides crime prevention tips as well as links to various victims assistance websites.
Hope's Door - Northern Westchester Shelter
Hope's Door, formerly the Northern Westchester Shelter, is a private non-profit organization that provides a safe haven and caring services to survivors of domestic violence.
more...less...
Offers information about the organization and its programs & services (emergency shelter program, 24-hour hotline, safety planning, counseling and advocacy services, legal services, support group, children's program, "love shouldn't hurt" teen education program, community education & outreach, and workplace violence program), STAR (students terminating abusive relationships), DV101 (domestic violence 101 includes overview, definition, warning signs, about abusers, and hot to help), events, ways to help (donations & volunteer opportunities), news, contact information, and released national (national domestic violence hotline, love is not abuse, family violence prevention fund, etc.), and local (Westchester county office for women, Pace women's justice center, victims assistance services, Westchester Jewish community services, etc.) links.
My Sister's Place
MSP is a leader and resource in the field of domestic violence and human trafficking advocacy, shelter and legal services, and education and prevention.
more...less...
For more than 32 years, My Sisters' Place (MSP) has worked to end violence in intimate relationships and combat the effects of domestic violence and human trafficking on survivors and children.

Informs about the organization, its agendas, emergency services (hotlines and residential services), legal services (legal center intake services, family law unit, immigration unit, special litigation & appeals project, court advocacy project), support and counseling (individual counseling and support group, child protective services collaboration, substance abuse program), human trafficking, children's services (children's programs services, teen programs & services), life skills programs (computer and communication skills, financial planning, resume writing, career exploration, interview techniques, mentor & internship opportunities, stress management), education & outreach (community training program, operation safety program), and other resources (Westchester & Surrounding domestic violence organizations, legal organizations & information, New York State information, teen dating violence, men as allies). It provides ways to get involved as a donor, volunteer or employee, and current news, events, public service announcements, media contact, and newsletter.
National Clearinghouse for the Defense of Battered Women
The National Clearinghouse works with battered women who have been arrested and are facing trial, as well as those who are serving prison sentences.
more...less...
The site provides contact information for battered women, or for people working with battered women, to call in order to obtain assistance in their cases, a soon to come resources page, and a listing of situations when one should should contact the National Clearinghouse.

Mission:
The mission of the National Clearinghouse for the Defense of Battered Women is to secure justice for battered women charged with crimes related to their battering and prevent further victimization of arrested, convicted, or incarcerated battered women.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
The National Domestic Violence Hotline was established in 1996 as a component of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) passed by Congress.
more...less...
It is a nonprofit organization that provides crisis intervention, information and referral to victims of domestic violence, perpetrators, friends and families.The Hotline answers a variety of calls and is a resource for domestic violence advocates government officials, law enforcement agencies and the general public. The site provides information about the organization, how to get help, how to recognize abuse, ways to get involved as a donor, volunteer, employee, participant, information about the Hotline campaign, and other resources.
NYS Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Provides a list of NYSCADV's member NYS licensed and approved domestic violence programs organized by county. Users can click on the county of interest to link to the contact information for corresponding program.
NYC Administration for Children's Services
Lists its mission, organization, news, events, current initiatives, history (past policies and plans), government affairs, and language access plan.
more...less...
It further provides information regarding child safety (recognizing signs, child abuse & neglect, consequences of making a report, office safety, baby campaign, child safety video, etc.), how to become a foster or adoptive parent, child care and head start information, support for families and youth (preventive services, children's services, resources for foster and adoptive families, adoption, housing support), how to become a mentor, advocacy assistance, statistics & links (publications, child welfare resorts, etc.), resources in other languages (Spanish, Chinese, Russian, Arabic), business opportunities including education resources, media inquiries (news and events), and contact information.
NYC Mayor's Office to Combat Domestic Violence
Provides information about the organization, its mission and initiatives including family justice center, criminal justice, healthcare, emergency shelter & housing, community response, youth & child safety, elder abuse, and workplace violence.
more...less...
Further, it informs about family justice center (advocacy, support, counseling, immigration, criminal justice or family court assistance, children's services, special populations, how to donate or to volunteer at the center, etc.), healthy relationship training academy, victims services (police, legal services, offender accountability, counseling, public assistance, healthcare, emergency shelter & housing, children), special issues (computer safety warning, victims with disabilities, elder abuse, lesbian, gay, bi, & transgender issues, immigrants, teenagers), statistics & resources (annual and quarterly fact sheets, civil order of protection data, benefits for immigrants, grants and pending sources, speakers and trainers, and related links), related legislation, press releases and publications, information on how to donate or volunteer with the organization, and contact information.
NYC Victims Services
Contact Information for each borough.
NYS Office for Prevention of Domestic Violence
Informs about the office, the agency, and special projects the agency is involved in, news and funding opportunities, public awareness, laws, statistics, and publications that users may order or download.
more...less...
The laws include legislative summaries, domestic violence laws by subject, legislative links, and legal system. The statistics include NY data, national data, and reports.

Gives an advice on what is domestic violence, what help is available (NYS domestic violence hotline numbers, help for victims, family & friends, legal system, computer safety, and links about available help), what do professionals need to know, and how can one make a difference.
NYS Office of Victims Services
This state agency has been providing compensation and other services to innocent victims of crime.
more...less...
Lists services (victim compensation, victim notification program, FRE - forensic rape/sexual assault examination, unit services, training, advocates, forms & publications (forms, brochures, annual reports), statistics, news, contact information, legal information (restitution, FOIL requests, regulations), information on public meetings, advisory council, help for crime victims, and other links.

Mission:
Three-tiered mission to: (1) provide compensation to innocent victims of crime in a timely, efficient and compassionate manner;(2) fund direct services to crime victims via a network of community-based programs; and (3) advocate for the rights and benefits of all innocent victims of crime.
NYSCASA: Coalition Against Sexual Assault
Formed in 1987 by rape crisis advocates as a mutual support group. Today it includes technical assistance, resource development and policy advocacy for the more than 100 rape crisis programs, sister agencies and collaborators statewide that work with survivors of sexual violence and their families.
more...less...
Informs about its services including section on understanding (lists applicable penal code sections), preventing (lists training, outreach, and primary prevention materials), and responding (lists DNA information and resources, pediatric protocol, rape crisis programs in NYS, sexual assault examiners, trauma task forces in NYS, building connections project) to sexual violence. Under Get Information, the site links to the NYSCASA library, manuals, fact sheets, training documents, recommended websites, and technology safety tips. The website informs on how people can take action by getting involved in Capitol Day, by contacting a representative, and it lists the NYSCASA's annual legislative agenda and the public policy letters.
Office on Violence Against Women
Provides information about the office, its organization, contact information, and employment & internship opportunities.
more...less...
Offers information about help for victims (list of national hotlines, domestic violence, sexual assault, and stalking resources), specific information on domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, and dating violence, various grant programs (STOP, grants to Indian Tribal governments, rural grant program, legal assistance for victims grant program, campus grant program, state coalitions grant program, transitional housing grant program, etc.), funding opportunities, fact sheets, special initiatives (family justice center, judicial oversight demonstration initiative, greenbook initiative, VAWA measuring effectiveness initiative), safety for Indian women (grants to tribal communities, section 904 tribal task force, tribal consultation, tribal resources), report to Congress, press releases & remarks, & events & meetings, federal legislation and agencies, and international issues.
VINE Link 2.0
VINELink is the online version of VINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday), the National Victim Notification Network.
more...less...
Timely information about criminal cases and the custody status of offenders 24 hours a day. Some states have the ability to display this website in Spanish. Victims and other concerned citizens can also register to be notified by phone, email, text message (SMS) or TTY device when an offender's custody status changes.
VINE NY
This site allows New Yorkers receive information relating to the crime, sentence and release date of persons serving sentences in state prison.
Westchester County Victims Assistance Services
It is a component program of Westchester Community Opportunity Program, providing free, comprehensive and compassionate services to crime victims and their families, friends and loved ones.
more...less...
VAS also works to end violence through community action, public policy and cultural change and through prevention education programs in schools and in other community venues.
New York City Anti Violence Project - AVP
AVP empowers lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and HIV-affected communities and allies to end all forms of violence through organizing and education, and supports survivors through counseling and advocacy.

Lexis- NY Forms
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides variations in a variety of family related forms along with the relevant instructions.

West Law - NY Form Finder
- This link opens in a new window
This database provides a form builder and includes a learn about section that discusses the relevant law applicable top each form.

Rights in a divorce

Court Forms

NY Family Court Forms
Provides links to most common NY family court court related official forms that can be downloaded in fillable pdf, word and word perfect forms.
more...less...
It also includes Uniform Interstate Family Support Act Forms (UIFSA) & Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction And Enforcement Act Forms (UCCJEA).
Family Court Form Programs - Do It Yourself
This provides links to relevant do it your self programs.

Domestic Violence Manual

Lawyer’s Manual on Domestic Violence
Lawyer’s Manual on Domestic Violence
Representing the Victim, 6th Edition