Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection

This guide includes information about the collection at Pace Law Library, including our collection development policy and policies for environmental material, government documents, intercampus and interlibrary loan, and weeding.

Interlibrary Loan Policy

I. Definition and Purpose

II. Eligibility

III. Available Materials

IV. Requests

V. Copyright

VI. Costs

VII. Lending Charges

VIII. Delivery Time

IX. Notification

X. Loan Period

XI. Lending to Other Libraries

XII. Questions

 

I. Definition and Purpose

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is the process by which a specific library item, or a copy thereof, is made available by one library to another library upon request. It is based upon the principle of reciprocity and standard procedures (see Appendices). Borrowing libraries are expected to make every effort to exhaust their own resources before requesting material from another library.

Interlibrary Loan services support the mission of Pace Law Library by providing, for research and serious study, enhanced access to scholarly materials that are not available because they are outside the scope of the Library's collection. Interlibrary Loan is a supplement to, not a substitute for, appropriate collection development.

II. Eligibility

ILL services are only available to current Pace Law School students in good standing, faculty, faculty emeritus, and staff. Others must request service through their public library, academic library, or other library with which they are affiliated.

Pace Law Library will accept ILL requests from any library including, but not limited to, academic, public, corporate, institutional, and law firm libraries. Requests may be made online, by telephone, by fax, or mail. 

All ILL records will be kept confidential in compliance with New York Civil Practice Law and Rules section 4509. Basic data about the number of requests and the types of materials requested will be compiled for statistical purposes, to complete required library reporting requirements.

III. Available Materials

Any type of library material needed for study, instruction, research or information may be requested through ILL. Monographs and articles are the most commonly requested materials. Although all requests are processed, it should be noted that most libraries will not lend unique or valuable materials, audiovisual materials, computer software, materials from reference or special collections or with local circulation restrictions, or entire periodical issues or volumes. Requests for such resources are likely to be unfilled (in turn, Pace Law Library will not loan other libraries any materials which do not circulate to our own students). Books must not be borrowed in lieu of buying textbooks or for semester-long reserve; Interlibrary Loans are intended for short-term use.

The Pace Law Library will strictly adhere to any restrictions on use imposed by the lending library, such as "in library use only."

IV. Requests

ILL requests must be submitted online. Online forms must be filled out as completely as possible. Requests for material available at Pace Law Library will not be processed unless the material is not on the shelf. Full-text databases should also be checked for availability. There is no limit on the number of requests an individual may submit, and requests are usually processed in the order they are received. However, processing may be prioritized based on the number of requests from others.

V. Copyright

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies and other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and other archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One condition is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for and later uses a copy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. Pace Law Library reserves the right to refuse a copying request if, in its judgment, fulfillment would involve a violation of copyright law. Online registration and print requests for photocopies include this copyright warning and borrowers must acknowledge awareness of the warning by accepting the conditions online or in print. In addition, CONTU (National Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyrighted Works) guidelines provide that, in any calendar year, a library may request and receive only five royalty-free articles from the previous five years of a specific periodical. It is the responsibility of the borrowing library to ensure that royalties are paid on any photocopies in excess of that number or to initiate a subscription to such periodical.

VI. Costs

Generally, there is no charge for ILLs because it is part of Pace Law Library's mission to satisfy the information needs of the Law School. However, if the cost of a particular item is exceptionally high, the requesting individual will be asked to assume responsibility for payment before the item is ordered.

VII. Lending Charges

Pace Law Library will, when appropriate, enter into reciprocal arrangements to facilitate borrowing and/or reduce borrowing costs. Non-reciprocal academic and other non-profit entities will not be charged for borrowing books, but will be charged for photocopies according to the schedule of charges below. For-profit entities will be charged $15.00 per title for borrowing books, as well as for photocopies according to the schedule.

  • Per citation: $ 5.00 (non-profit) or $15.00 (for profit) 
  • PLUS $1.00 per page

VIII. Delivery Time

It generally takes from two to three weeks to obtain requested books and print photocopies from other libraries; therefore, advance planning of research is essential. Electronic delivery of photocopies is always requested, but there is no assurance that the supplying library will be able to comply. Status inquiries may be made to the Interlibrary Loan Department by e-mail or phone.

IX. Notification

Items obtained for Pace Law School faculty or staff will be delivered electronically or to their mailboxes. Upon request, faculty will also be notified off-campus by telephone or email. Pace Law students will be notified by email when their requested items arrive and can be picked up at the Circulation Desk during regular library hours.

X. Loan Period

All borrowed books have a due date established by the lending library. It is indicated on the form on the front cover of the borrowed book. If a book must be kept longer, one renewal may be requested online, by email, by phone, or in person before the due date. Not all lending libraries will grant renewals. Books must be returned when they are due, or Pace Law Library will face suspension of loan privileges for everyone. Pace Law Library privileges may be suspended, or student records may be withheld, for failure to return overdue materials or pay overdue fines or charges for lost or damaged materials. Borrowed items are to be returned to the Circulation Desk.

Any charges levied by a lending library for lost or damaged materials, or for overdue fines, are the responsibility of the individual who requested the material. Library privileges may be suspended, or student records may be withheld, for non-compliance.

XI. Lending to Other Libraries

Pace Law Library will loan circulating materials to other libraries for a period of four weeks. One two-week renewal will be allowed if the item has not been requested by someone else.

XII. Questions

Please direct any ILL questions to Alyson Carney, Public Services Assistant (914-422-4137). The ILL hours are generally Monday - Friday 8:30 AM - 4:30 PM.

Appendices: