Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Collection

This guide includes information about the collection at Pace Law Library, including our collection development policy and policies for environmental material, government documents, intercampus and interlibrary loan, and weeding.

Intercampus Loan Policy

I. Definition and Purpose

II. Eligibility

III. Available Materials

IV. Requests

V. Copyright

VI. Time, Notification, and Loan Periods

VII. Questions

 

I. Definition and Purpose

Intercampus Loan is the process by which, upon request, specific library materials, or copies thereof, are made available by one Pace University library to the patrons of the other Pace University libraries. It is based upon the principle of reciprocity and standard procedures. All borrowers are expected to make every effort to exhaust the resources of their home libraries before requesting material from another Pace library.

Intercampus Loans support the mission of the Pace Law Library by providing, for research and serious study, enhanced access to scholarly materials that are not available because they are outside the scope of the Law Library's collection. Intercampus Loan is a supplement to, not a substitute for, appropriate collection development.

II. Eligibility

Intercampus Loan services are available only to current Pace Law School students in good standing, faculty, faculty emeritus, and staff. Other users must obtain materials that are not in the Pace Law Library collection through their public library or other library with which they may be affiliated.

Pace Law Library will accept Intercampus Loan requests from patrons of the Birnbaum and Mortola libraries of Pace University. All book requests are expected to be made through the University-wide library circulation system. Requests for copies and, under special circumstances, book requests will be accepted online or by telephone.

All Intercampus Loan records will be kept confidential in compliance with New York Civil Practice Law and Rules § 4509. Basic data about the number of requests and the types of materials requested will be compiled for statistical purposes, to complete required library reporting requirements.

III. Available Materials

Any type of library material required for study, instruction, research or general information may be requested through Intercampus Loan. Monographs and articles are the most commonly requested materials. Although all requests are processed, it should be noted that most libraries do not lend reference materials, unique or valuable materials, audiovisual materials, computer software, materials in special collections or with local circulation restrictions, or entire periodical issues or volumes. Requests for such resources are likely to be unfilled (in turn, the Law Library will not send any materials that do not circulate to our own students to another Pace University library). Books must not be borrowed in lieu of buying textbooks or for semester-long reserve; Intercampus Loans are intended for short-term use only. The Pace Law Library will strictly adhere to any restrictions on use imposed by the lending library, such as "in library use only."

IV. Requests

Intercampus Loan requests are expected to be submitted through the Pace University catalog (click the request link, log in with your name and Library barcode, and follow the instructions). Forms should be filled out as completely as possible to ensure that you receive the correct item. Requests for items that are owned by the Law Library should not be submitted and may not be processed unless the material is not on the shelf. Full-text databases should also be checked, particularly for article availability. There is no limit on the number of requests an individual may submit and requests are usually processed in the order they are received. However, processing may be prioritized based on the number of requests received from others.

V. Copyright

The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies and other reproductions of copyrighted materials. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and other archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One condition is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research." If a user makes a request for and later uses a copy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use," that user may be liable for copyright infringement. Pace Law Library reserves the right to refuse a copying request if, in its judgment, fulfillment would involve a violation of copyright law. Online registration and print requests for photocopies include this copyright warning and borrowers must acknowledge awareness of the warning by accepting the conditions online or in print. In addition, CONTU (National Commission on New Technological Uses of Copyrighted Works) guidelines provide that, in any calendar year, a library may request and receive only five royalty-free articles from the previous five years of a specific periodical. It is the responsibility of the borrowing library to ensure that royalties are paid on any photocopies in excess of that number or to initiate a subscription to such periodical.

VI. Time, Notification, and Loan Periods

It generally takes two to four days to obtain requested items from other Pace University libraries. However, because requested material may not always be available, advance planning of research is essential.

Items for Pace Law School faculty or staff will be delivered electronically or to their mailboxes. Upon request, faculty will also be notified off-campus by telephone or email. Pace Law students will be notified by email when requested items arrive and may be picked up, and books will be checked out, at the Circulation Desk during regular library hours.

Books borrowed through Intercampus Loan have a due date that is given when the book is checked out by the Law Library. If a book is needed for a longer period, a renewal should be requested online, by email, by phone, or in person on or before the due date. A book may not be available for an extended period of time if the record indicates that someone else is waiting for it. Books must be returned to the Circulation Desk when they are due, or overdue fines will be generated. Any charges levied for lost of damaged materials, or overdue fines, are the responsibility of the individual who requested the material. Unpaid charges or fines may result in the suspension of library privileges, or student records may be withheld.

VII. Questions

Please direct any Intercampus Loan questions to Alyson Carney, Public Services Assistant (914-422-4137).