Research Guides: Comparative Environmental Law: European Union & United States: Secondary Sources

Tale of Two Continents: Environmental Management-Based Regulation in the European Union and the United States
Deming, Rachel, 46 Envtl. L. 811 (2016).
The United States, the European Union, and international environmental law: the domestic dimensions of green diplomacy
Keleman, R. Daniel and Tim Knieval, 13 Int. J. Const. L. 945 (2015).
Learning from the Leader: The European Union's Renewable Energy Mandates as a Blueprint for American Environmental Federalism
- This link opens in a new window
Jayanti, Suriya Evans-Pritchard, 65 Rutgers L. Rev. 173 (2012).
Continental Drift: Agricultural Trade and the Widening Gap Between European Union and United States Animal Welfare Laws
Vesilind, Pamela A., 12 Vt. J. Envtl. L. 223 (2011).
International Litigation Trends in Environmental Liability: A European Union–United States Comparative Perspective
García-Castrillón, Carmen Otero, 7 J. Priv. Int. L. 551 (2011).
Creating Incentives for Sustainable Buildings: A Comparative Law Approach Featuring the United States and the European Union
- This link opens in a new window
King, Nancy J and Brian J. King, 23 Va. Envtl. L. J. 397 (2005).

Google Scholar
Provides access to a wide range of scholarly materials, including articles available on ssrn.com, HeinOnline and the Digital Commons, as well as snipets of books from Google Books.

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes wide variety of legal material, includng the full-text of law reviews back to volume 1. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
After clicking on the link, you may see a screen that says log-in on the upper right. If you click that, you will be taken into the database.
Law Commons This link opens in a new window
This site, hosted by bepress, provides open-access legal scholarship from over 200 institutions. It is searchable and browsable by area of law, author, and institution. Free.
Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains more than 2,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Lexis Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Case law, statutes, Shepard's, secondary sources, and news. Access with personal password limited to Pace Law students, faculty and staff.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN) This link opens in a new window
Includes working papers and articles in the social sciences, including law. Free.
Westlaw This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pace Law School students, staff, and faculty have access with personal password.

Agriculture and EU Environmental Law by Brian Jack
Call Number: KJE6605 .J33 2009
ISBN: 0754692418
Publication Date: 2009
Establishing the common agricultural policy; Agriculture and the European environment; Integrating environmental protection into agricultural production policies; Environment and rural development policy; Agri-environment policy; Organic farming; Agriculture and nature conservation; Regulating agricultural pollution; Agriculture and food safety; Agriculture, the environment and international trade
Civil Liability for Environmental Damage by Wilde
Call Number: K955 .W55 2013
ISBN: 9041132333
Publication Date: 2013
Comparative Environmental Law and Regulation by Nicholas A. Robinson, ed.
- This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9780379012514
Chapter 19 is on EU Environmental Law. Available on Westlaw
Conflicting Integration: The Environmental Law of the European Union by Elli Louka
Call Number: KJE 6242 L68 2004
ISBN: 9050953603
Publication Date: 2004
Essential EU Climate Law by Marijn Holwerda (Editor); Martha Roggenkamp (Editor); Edwin Woerdman (Editor)
Call Number: KJE6242 .E75 2015
ISBN: 9781783470570
Publication Date: 2015
The EU As a Global Regulator for Environmental Protection by Ioanna Hadjiyianni
Call Number: KJE6242 .H33 2019
ISBN: 9781509925605
Publication Date: 2019
EU Environmental Governance by Amandine Orsini (Editor); Elena Kavvatha (Editor)
Call Number: KJE6242 .E915 2021
ISBN: 9780367418670
Publication Date: 2020
EU Environmental Law by Geert Van Calster; Leonie Reins
Call Number: KJE6242 .C35 2017
ISBN: 9781782549178
Publication Date: 2017
Setting the context; Principles of European environmental law; Environmental law-making in the EU; Implementation and enforcement; Public participatory rights; Additional tools in implementing European environmental law; Environmental and strategic impact assessments; Environmental liability and environmental crime; State aid and competition law; Biodiversity and nature conservation; Water protection legislation and policy; Noise pollution legislation and policy; Air pollution legislation and policy; Climate change legislation and policy; Waste legislation and policy; Chemicals legislation and policy; Trade and the environment
EU Environmental Law and Policy by David Langlet; Said Mahmoudi
Call Number: KJE6242 .L359 2016
ISBN: 0198753926
Publication Date: 2016
Comprehensive introduction to EU environmental law. Explains the historical, institutional, and constitutional premises for the adoption of substantive EU environmental law. There are also thematic chapters that discuss particular aspects of environmental law in the EU.
Public Environmental Law in the European Union and the United States by René J. G. H. Seerden; Michiel A. Heldeweg; Kurt R. Deketelaere
Call Number: K3585 .P83 2002
ISBN: 9041119264
Publication Date: 2002
Focusses on constitutional and administrative environmental law, but also covers criminal and private law.
Research Handbook on EU Environmental Law by Marjan Peeters & Mariolina Eliantonio Eds.
ISBN: 1788970675
Publication Date: 2020
Sustainable Development in the European Union by Matthew Humphreys
Call Number: KJE6245 .H86 2018
ISBN: 9781409447313
Publication Date: 2018

Discovery Service This link opens in a new window
Search the Pace library catalog and many interdisciplinary databases. Use to find books and articles. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.

Pace Law Library Databases
List of databases available at Pace Law Library, including information for on and off campus access. Organized alphabetically and by subject.
Illiad
Create account, request books and articles after checking online catalog. Used to request items not available at Pace.

Europa: Environment
Discusses the EU's environment program. Provides links to EU institutions and bodies dealing with the environment.
International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) Publications
The IUCN is a membership union of both government and civil organizations and is the largest and most diverse environmental network.
Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) (subscription)
Subscription Database. You can search for information by both country and topic, including environment and energy.
United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)
UNEP is the leading global environmental authority. UNEP seeks to provide leadership and partnership in caring for the environment for future generations.
Under Regions at the top of the page, you can choose Europe.
United Nations Food & Agriculture Organization (FAO) Publications
The FAO leads international efforts to end hunger.
World Bank
Publications. The World Bank provides financial and technical assistance to developing countries around the world.
World Resources Institute (WRI)
Publications. WRI is a global research organization.