Comparative Environmental Law: European Union & United States: Sources of Law

Full text decisions of the Court of Justice and Court of First Instance; advocate-general opinions; court orders; and judgments.
Court of Justice: 1954-Present
Court of First Instance: 1989-Present
C Series of the Official Journal: 1985-Present

Begins with 1990 for bibliography and 1992 for full text or extracts. Text of selected documents published in the Official Journal C Series including preparatory acts, parliamentary questions, judgments and orders of the Court of Justice, and documents from the European Commission and Council of Ministers.

Full text of legislative acts of the Council of the European Union, the European Parliament, and the European Commission reported in the Official Journal of the European Community, L Series, including international agreements; secondary legislation such as regulations and European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC) general decisions, directives, and recommendations; and supplementary legislation (legislation resulting from agreements between member states). Coverage begins with 1952.

Text of European Union draft legislation, including COM final documents (formal proposals for new legislation, beginning with 1984); legislative and budgetary initiatives and resolutions of the European Parliament (beginning with 1974); opinions on proposed legislation by the Economic and Social Committee and the Committee of the Regions (beginning with 1975); opinions of the Court of Auditors (beginning with 1977); and other documents from the Official Journal of the European Community, C Series.

Text of treaties between member states of the European Union, including the founding treaties establishing the European Coal and Steel Community (1951), the European Economic Community (1957), and the European Atomic Energy Community (1957); accession documents that enlarged the European communities; treaties of amendment such as the Single European Act (1986); and the Treaty of European Union (Maastricht Treaty, 1992).

Cases, statutes, regulations, secondary material, forms, expert materials, and more.

Treaties, legislation, court decisions, secondary sources. Free, use advanced search

Topical directory of EU consolidated acts.

Topical directory of EU legislation.

This collection covers the full text of acts adopted by the EFTA institutions (Surveillance Authority, Standing Committee, Court) and published in the Official Journal from 1994 onwards.

Case law from the EU Court of Justice including judgments and orders, opinions and views of the Advocates General, Opinions of the Court on draft agreements between the EU and non-EU countries or international organizations.

Documents used to prepare EU legislation, produced during the various stages of the legislative and budgetary process.

From 1952-Present. As of July 1, 2013, the electronic version is authentic and has legal effect. However, click on the link to the print edition with legal effect for 2013 and 2014 since there was a problem with the publication software and the electronic version is not official for these years.

Official website of the European Union. Includes EU legislation, case law, official documents and publications.

Decisions from the European Court of Human Rights through the HUDOC database or the Reports of Judgments and Decisions from 1999-2014 and the Reports case selection from 2007-2017.

Available on a variety of topics, this allows you to see a concise version of the legislation.

Treaties, legislation, court decisions, secondary sources. Free, use advanced search

Electronic Information System for International Law. Currently under redevelopment.

International Environmental Law (updated 4/5/2015). Publication of the American Society of International Law.

Directory of topics for international agreements that the EU is party to.

Official Journal C 203 7 June 2016.

Consolidated versions of the Treaty on European Union, Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union, Protocols, Annexes to the Treaty on Functioning of the European Union, Declarations, Charter of Fundamental Rights of the European Union. From the Official Journal C 202, 7 June 2016.