Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Many of these websites include sample contracts, leases, advice on corporate structure, and other transactional resources.
Aglease101: Sample Farm Leases and Materials about Leases
Includes multi-state materials which help land owners and land operators discuss and resolve issues to avoid legal risk. The website also guides both land owners and land operators towards informed and equitable decisions.
Equity Trust: Model Documents and Materials Relating to Farmland Preservation
Publications on preserving affordable working farms, creation and management of community land trusts (CLTs), and promoting economic justice and property reform.
Farm-to-Consumer Legal Defense Fund
Non-profit, protects the rights of farmers and consumers to engage in direct commerce; it protects the rights of farmers to sell the products of the farm and the rights of consumers to access the foods of their choice from the source of their choice. FTCLDF is a true grassroots organization and receives no government funding and little or no corporate funding.
Includes information under Resources on business structures, land matters, food safety, and sales & contracts.
Farmers Legal Action Group
Farmers’ Legal Action Group (FLAG) is a nonprofit law center dedicated to providing legal services and support to family farmers and their communities in order to help keep family farmers on the land. Includes sample documents.
Farmers Market Legal Toolkit
The Farmers Market Legal Toolkit includes legal resources, best practice recommendations, and case studies for market leaders on selecting and enhancing business structures, accepting SNAP benefits, and managing common risks.
Farmland Access Legal Toolkit
This toolkit includes farm case studies to illustrate innovative models of farmland access, farm transfer, and the strategic use of conservation tools to enhance the affordability of farm access and transfer, and to keep farmland in farming.
Land for Good: Resources on Leasing Farmland
Toolbox contains materials most relevant to farming and farms in New England. It includes practical articles about what’s in a lease, types of leases, what to look for in a lease and how to negotiate a good lease. You’ll also find “thought pieces” that address the interests of the community in long-term farm leases, and landlord-tenant relations.
Land For Good: Toolbox for Landowners
Provides information and links to help landowners who want to allow farming on their lands.
Legal Food Hub
Project of the Conservation Law Foundation. Resources include guides to food law for attorneys.
Legal Guide to the Business of Farming in Vermont
Useful resource when developing a list of questions for an attorney, accountant, or farm service provider. Farmers may also use it to identify and address issues that need to be included in the farm's business plan or to become better informed consumers of legal or farm viability services. Originally published in 2006, updated in 2015.
National Ag Law Center
The National Agricultural Law Center is the only agricultural law research and information facility that is independent, national in scope, and directly connected to the national agricultural information network. As a result of the expanding scope of agricultural law and its convergence with related areas, the Center also includes food law in the scope of its coverage.
National Council of Farmer Cooperatives
Provides useful news and information related to farming cooperatives. The NCFC is an organization of regional and national farmer cooperatives.
Sustainable Economies Law Center
Non-profit corporation that supports community resilience and grassroots economic empowerment. They provide essential legal tools so communities everywhere can develop their own sustainable sources of food, housing, energy, jobs, and other vital aspects of a thriving community.