Research Guides: Food Law: Laws and Regulations

Cartagena Protocol on Biosafety
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act
Pub. L. No. 75-717, 52 Stat. 1040, U.S. Code, Title 21.
Food Additives Amendment of 1958
Pub. L. No. 85-929, 72 Stat. 1784.
Radiation Control for Safety and Health Act
Pub. L. No. 90-60, 282 Stat. 1173
Nutrition Labeling and Education Act of 1990
Pub. L. No. 101-535, 104 Stat. 2353.
Food and Drug Administration Revitalization Act
Pub. L. No. 101-635, 104 Stat. 4583
Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994
Pub. L. No. 103-417, 108 Stat. 4332
Food and Drug Administration Modernization Act of 1987
Pub. L. No. 105-115, 111 Stat. 2296
Food and Drug Administration Amendments Act of 2007
Pub. L. No. 110-85, 121 Stat. 823
FDA Food Safety Modernization Act
Pub. L. No. 111-353, 124 Stat. 3885.
National Bioengineered Food Disclosure Standard
GMO labeling law. Pub. L. No. 114-216, 130 Stat. 834.
Compilation of Laws Enforced by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration and Related Statutes
- This link opens in a new window
1996 compilation from HeinOnline. Use your Pace portal credential to access off campus.

Agriculture Decisions
- This link opens in a new window
1942-present from HeinOnline. Available off campus with your Pace portal credentials.
Food and Nutrition
USDA is responsible for providing a safety net for millions of Americans who are food-insecure and for developing and promoting dietary guidance based on scientific evidence.
Office of the Inspector General
Audit reports, strategic plans, reports to Congress, investigations, testimony, and more.
USDA Data
Provides links to publicly available USDA data on livestock, meat, poultry, dairy, grains, etc.
USDA Food Safety Recalls
Links to the lists of current and archived food recalls, as well as for reporting problems.
USDA Information
From the 2017 Government Manual, includes links to agencies and list of personnel.
USDA Laws and Regulations
Links to regulatory plan, judicial decisions, regulations and rulemaking, reports and publications, and significant guidance documents.
USDA New Farmers Website
Resources for new farmers.
USDA Office of The General Counsel Legislative Histories Collection
Includes over 1500 federal agricultural legislative histories between 1921 and 1971.It includes public laws, bills, hearings, Congressional reports, digests, excerpts from the Congressional Record, vetoed laws, and USDA notations, papers, and reports.
more...less...
For best results, search using the Public Law Number field and enter the public law number for the relevant law.
USDA Organic
Portal to programs, services, and educational materials that can help your organic farm or business.

Dietary Supplements
Provides information on dietary supplements for consumers and industry.
Dockets Management
Official repository for administrative proceedings and rule making documents.
FDA Enforcement Reports
All recalls monitored by FDA are included in the Enforcement Report once they are classified.
FDA Information
Information on the FDA from the 2017 United States Government Manual.
Food Guidance, Compliance & Regulatory Information
Guidance documents describe FDA’s interpretation of our policy on a regulatory issue.
Guidance Documents
Comprehensive list of current guidance documents, with links to texts.
Ingredients and Packaging
Provides information on regulations bout ow food is processed, packaged, and labeled.
Labeling and Nutrition
Provides information on labeling requirements under the Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act as well as its amendments.
Recalls, Withdrawals, Alerts
Provides information gathered from press releases and other public notices about certain recalls of FDA-regulated products
Rules and Regulations

Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act: A Statement of its Legislative Record by Charles Wesley Dunn
Call Number: KF3869.A15 D8 1938a
Publication Date: 1938
Special Federal Food and Drug Laws: Statutes, Regulations, Legislative History, Annotations by Thomas W. Christopher
Call Number: KF3864 1954
Publication Date: 1954

Additional Legislative Histories on Westlaw
- This link opens in a new window
Use public law number in the advanced search box, e.g. PL +2 105-115
Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 103-417. Available on Westlaw.
Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (1938)
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 75-717. Available on Westlaw.
Food Additives Amendment of 1958
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 85-929. Available on Westlaw.
Food and Drug Administration Revitalization Act
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 101-635. Available on Westlaw.
Nutrition Labeling and Education Act of 1990
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 101-535, Available on Westlaw
Additional Legislative Histories on Lexis Advance
- This link opens in a new window
Use the public law number and search in the search box, e.g. "PL 101535".
Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 103-417. Available on Lexis.
Food and Drug Administration Revitalization Act
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 101-635. Available on Lexis.
Nutrition Labeling and Education Act of 1990
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 101-535. Available on Lexis.

U.S. Federal Legislative History Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In addition to the inclusion of comprehensive federal legislative histories published by the U.S. GPO and private publishers, this library also includes a unique finding aid based on Nancy Johnson's award-winning work, Sources of Compiled Legislative Histories. Researchers should begin their U.S. federal legislative history research with this finding aid, which often includes references to law review articles on-point to a particular legislative history. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.

Dietary Supplement Health and Education Act of 1994
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 103-417.
Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act with Amendments
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 75-717. Available on HeinOnline.
Legislative history of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act and its Amendments
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. 75-717. Available on HeinOnline.
Food Additives Amendment of 1958
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 85-929. Available on HeinOnline.
Food and Drug Administration Revitalization Act
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 101-635. Available on HeinOnline.
Nutrition Labeling and Education Act of 1990
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative history of Pub. L. No. 101-535. Available on HeinOnline.

Assistant Dean of the Law Library

Deborah L. Heller

Email Me

Contact:

Elisabeth Haub School of Law at Pace University
78 North Broadway
Gerber Glass 201C
White Plains, NY 10603

914-422-4339