Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Translates laws of other countries into English using machine translation (Google & Microsoft). Includes laws from 90 countries, including Brazil. Provides links to the untranslated text.
National Water Agency which is part of the Ministry of the Environment. Provides information about water policy and regulation in Brazil.
Brazilian Forest Service
Part of the Ministry for the Environment. Provides access to legislation as well as information on the national forestry system.
Câmara dos Deputados
Treaties, legislation, court decisions, secondary sources. Free, use advanced search
Provides access to laws from different countries, including Brazil, on food, agriculture, and natural resources.
Access to PDF versions of the Diário Oficial da União (DOU) back to 1990.
Website of the institute of Environment and Renewable Natural Resources at the Ministry of the Environment for Brazil. Provides access to legislation by topic as well as other information about agency activities and programs.
Institute for Biodiversity Conservation at the Ministry of the Environment. Created in 2007 and responsible for the creation of conservation units and protection of biodiversity.
Legislation Search on the Senado Federal
Allows users to search for legislation through the Information System of the National Congress (SICON), LexML, and historical legislation.
Database of laws, regulations, case law, and secondary sources for countries in the Americas. Materials generally provided in the original Portuguese, but some materials translated into English. Put together by the Kozolchyk National Law Center, which is a nonprofit research and legal reform institution. Keyword search.
Superior Tribunal de Justiça (STJ)
Known as the Citizenship tribunal, the STJ is the court of last instance for non-specialized infra-constitutional matters not dealt with in the Federal Constitution. The court also hears appeals from lower courts that deny application of a federal law, and is responsible for resolving splits of interpretation of lower court decisions. All materials and the website are in Portuguese.
Supremo Tribunal Federal
Portal to the Supreme Tribunal Federal (STF) which is the court responsible for interpreting the Constitution of Brazil. Also responsible for hearing appeals in the last instance and matters of jurisdiction. Decisions are provided in Portuguese although some constitutional issues may be translated into English.
To view the materials available in English, go to the black bar at the top of the page and choose English from the drop down International menu towards the middle of the screen.
Amended Constitution from 2016 (DOU 19/02/16)
Official version of the amended 2016 Constitution from the Diário Oficial.
Constituição da República Federativa do Brasil
Link to the Senado Federal. Provides access to the promulgated text, actual text, an English version, audio version, and PDF of the document. Most of the materials are in the original Portuguese.
World Constitutions Illustrated: Brazil
Available through HeinOnline, this resource provides access to various versions of the Constitution of Brazil including original text in both Portuguese and English; commentary to the Constitution in English; amending laws; scholarly articles on the Brazilian Constitution; bibliography on select Constitutional works; and external links.
Currently, Lexis Advance does not have any cases or legislation from Brazil and only has the following:
Currently, Westlaw does not have any cases or legislation from Brazil and only has the following: