Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hate Thy Neighbor by
Publication Date: 2013-06-08
Draws on evidence that includes in-depth interviews with ordinary citizens and analysis of Fair Housing Act cases, providing an examination of how neighborhood racial violence is enabled today and how it harms not only the victims, but entire communities.
Housing Segregation in Suburban America since 1960 by
Publication Date: 2005-01-24
Charles Lamb's study argues that the promise of the Fair Housing Act was not realized because President Richard Nixon narrowly construed its intent and set in place a policy that has been upheld by his appointees to the federal courts and sustained by subsequent administrations, both Republican and Democratic.
The Imperative of Integration by
Publication Date: 2010-09-27
Some would argue that we have finally arrived at a postracial America, but The Imperative of Integration indicates otherwise.
American Law Reports
73 A.L.R. Fed. 899 (1985)
"Redlining," consisting of denial of home loans or insurance coverage in certain neighborhoods, as discrimination in violation of § 804 and 805 of Fair Housing Act (42 U.S.C.A. §§ 3604, 3605)
148 A.L.R. Fed. 1 (1998)
Construction and Application of § 804(f) of Fair Housing Act (42 U.S.C.A. § 3604(f)), Prohibiting Discrimination in Housing Because of Individual's Disability
3 A.L.R. Fed. 3d Art. 2 (2015)
When is Claim under Fair Housing Act (42 U.S.C.A. 3601 et seq.) Ripe for Adjudication
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Encyclopedias and Practice Aids
15 Am. Jur. 2d Civil Rights § 390 (2016).
Contains a detailed statutory description of the FHA, the methods by which the FHA can be enforced, and who the FHA stands to protect. Also contains relevant statutes and case law which demonstrate methods in which the FHA achieves its purpose.
14 C.J.S. Civil Rights § 117 (2015).
Includes a description of how a prima facie case of housing discrimination could be demonstrated, defines terms such as 'redlining' and 'zoning,' as well as updates as to what is considered a cognizable disparate impact claim as of 2015.
Mark S. Dennison, Proof of Housing Discrimination Against a Prospective Tenant on Account of Race or National Origin, 93 Am. Jur. Proof of Facts 3d 415 (2016).
Provides intricacies of bringing an FHA claim, including persons who may bring an action, elements of a discrimination claim based on race or national origin, and damages or other relief available.
Bill Wishard, Racial Discrimination in Sale of Real Estate, 14 Am. Jur. Proof of Facts 2d 511 (2016).
Offers descriptions regarding various racial discrimination issues in the sale of real estate, including 'steering,' and which types of evidence tend to prove racial discrimination.
Treatises and Looseleafs
Housing Discrimination Law & Litigation
Provides a point-by-point analysis of the entire field of housing discrimination law -- from the background of our modern discrimination laws to the most recent fair housing cases and legislation.
Housing Discrimination Practice Manual
Includes information on what is substantively considered to be prohibited conduct under the FHA, and sets forth the procedural options and forums that are available to victims of discrimination.
Fair Housing -- Fair Lending
This looseleaf provides up-to-date information on cases regarding housing discrimination, including coverage of recent settlements, filings, summaries of verdicts, federal court decisions, and HUD news.