Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Websites Containing Ordinances, Case Studies, and Policy Materials : Covering Multiple States
These websites contain a combination of case studies, policy materials, and lists of / links to relevant municipal ordinances. Each website focuses on materials from more than one state. These websites look at issues of renewable energy siting, but there may be some overlap with other topics covered in this guide.
APA's Integrating Solar Energy into Local Development Regulations
"This briefing paper provides planners, public officials, and engaged citizens with an overview of three aspects of integrating solar energy into local development regulations — removing barriers, creating incentives, and enacting standards — and offers examples from communities across the country that are taking steps to support local solar market growth."
APA's Planning and Zoning for Solar Energy
Contains "... an extensive collection of sample ordinances on solar access, solar siting, and solar energy systems large and small, along with background articles and examples of how communities are adding solar provisions to their comprehensive plans."
APA's Planning for Solar Energy: Promoting Solar Energy Use Through Local Policy and Action
This 2014 APA publication edited by David Morely is focused on planning for solar energy use at the local level. This publication can be downloaded for free if you register with the APA website. (You do not have to be an APA member in order to register.)
APA's Solar Planning & Zoning Data Search
"The Solar Planning & Zoning Data Search allows you to search hundreds of examples of solar-supportive plans, development regulations, and other planning-related implementation tools."
APA's Webinar Series: Promoting Solar Energy Use Through Local Planning
This site links to 3 webinars: Putting Solar Energy Use on the Local Policy Agenda, Promoting Solar Energy Use Through Local Plans, and Promoting Solar Energy Use Through Local Development Regulations. These webinars are accessible by the public at no charge.
DOE's Solar Energy for All: How-To Guides Encourage Growth of Solar Communities
"By adopting community shared solar energy projects -- condo owners, renters, and those whose rooftops are not suitable for solar can band together to participate in a collective photovoltaic system." This website includes links to two guides to community shared energy projects: A Guide to Community Shared Solar and The Solarize Guidebook.
DOE's Solar Outreach Partnership
The DOE's [Department of Energy] Solar Outreach Partnership "is designed to help accelerate solar energy adoption on the local level by providing timely and actionable information to local governments."
DOE's SunShot Initiative
The SunShot Initiative "seeks to make solar energy cost-competitive with other forms of electricity by the end of the decade." SunShot is a collaborates with many other organizations in sponsoring training and research in the area of solar energy. Includes success stories.
DSIRE: Database of State Incentives for Renewables and Efficiency
This database contains a summary table of all 50 states, from which you can link to state and local rules, regulations and policies for renewable energy. Local building energy codes are also included in the database.
ICMA Topic: Solar
The International City/County Management Association (ICMA) website includes a Knowledge Network with topics related to land use law, including vacant properties.
NREL: Open PV Project
From NREL, this tracks PV installations through data submitted by citizens, businesses, etc. As of 5/16 not all visualizations are available.
Profiles in Regional Solar Planning: A Handbook and Resource Guide 2d ed.
Published by the Solar Outreach Partnership, NARC (National Association of Regional Councils, and the SunShot Initiative. This publication has chapters on barriers to solar, regional solutions, case studies and a toolkit.
Solar America Board for Codes and Standards
Includes studies and recommendations for codes and standards.
Websites Containing Ordinances, Case Studies, and Policy Materials : State-Specific
These websites contain a combination of case studies, policy materials, and lists of / links to relevant municipal ordinances. Each website focuses on materials from one state. These websites look at issues of renewable energy siting, but there may be some overlap with other topics covered in this guide.
Connecticut's Rooftop Solar Challenge Project
Includes links to several documents created as part of the Sun Shot funded project and links to online permitting systems.
Connecticut Rooftop Solar PV Permitting Guide
This May 2014 guide includes is published by Energize Connecticut and DOE's Sun Shot Initiative.
New York: Zoning for Solar Energy Resource Guide
From the Pace Land Use Law Center. Includes case studies.
Pennsylvania: Sunshine Team: Facilitating Solar Energy Standards in Your Community
"This resource hub contains information and tools for municipalities that wish to institute best practices for the zoning and permitting of small scale solar PV projects in their communities." This work was completed as a result of a SunShot Rooftop Challenge grant from the Department of Energy. "The objective of that grant was to create model zoning, permitting, and inspection procedures with 23 municipalities in Allegheny and Beaver Counties, and develop creative financing tools for solar energy in the Southwestern Pennsylvania region."
Pennsylvania: Zoning for Non-Commercial Solar and Wind Systems
"Municipalities may adopt zoning regulations governing the installation and operation of solar and wind energy systems. This guide specifically examines zoning for non-commercial installations (for example, residential rooftop solar panels)." From Conservationtools.org, which is managed by the Pennsylvania Land Trust Association.
Utah: Solar-Friendly Zoning Toolbox
From Solar Simplified.org this website is focused on local planning for solar energy use in Utah. Includes a model solar ordinance, information on historic districts and trees, and other resources for zoning officials.