CCH Bank Compliance Guide (database: CCH-BCGD) - a comprehensive resource for the banking compliance professional, which addresses issues relating to consumer protection in savings, lending and operations and activities of financial institutions.
International Letter of Credit Law and Compliance (database: ILOCLP) - a general summary of letter of credit law and practice, encompassing international principles of law and practice, as codified in the United Nations Convention on Independent Guarantees and Standby Letters of Credit, and international rules of letter of credit practice, namely the Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits (UCP600) and the International Standby Practices (ISP98). It also addresses domestic law of various nations, including the two jurisdictions which have codifications of letter of credit law, namely the United States and China, as well as case law in other countries.
BNA Banking Report (database: BNA-BNK) - A weekly publication that reports on and analyzes legislative, judicial, and administrative activities that affect financial institutions. Includes summaries of current developments, digests of court decisions, and the full text of proposed and final rules and important court rulings.
Banking Law (filename: BANKLW) - a comprehensive treatise on the regulation, organization, operation, examination and liquidation of commercial banks, with detailed analysis of statutory law, studies of relevant case law, and coverage of the National Bank System and Comptroller of the Currency; the FDIC and the Federal Reserve System; branching and mergers; checks, drafts, notes, and the bank collection process.
Banking Law Manual (2d ed.): Federal Regulation of Financial Holding Companies (filename: BANKLM) - an in-depth description of the law with discussion of recent theoretical research on financial services modernization and banking regulation by experts in economics, finance and law. A reference on the principles of federal banking regulation for banking institutions (including commercial banks, thrift institutions and bank and thrift holding companies.)
Bank Holding Company Compliance Manual (2d ed.) (filename: BHCCMN) - A practical, how-to guide on the day-to-day compliance responsibilities faced by bank holding company and financial holding company compliance officers, with analysis of current financial services modernization legislation. It covers such important areas as:
* Federal Reserve Board requirements for bank and non-bank acquisitions
* Permissible non-banking activities for bank holding companies and financial holding companies
* Capital and financial requirements
* Setting up internal compliance control systems
* On-going compliance.
Bloomberg BNA (Available to Pace users through Law Library website):
BNA Banking Report
BNA Banking Daily
BNA International Business and Finance Daily
American Banker (subscription database; free trial available)
Fed in Print (Federal Reserve Publications Index)
The Law of Bank Deposits, Collections, and Credit Cards, Barkley Clark & Barbara Clark (1999) (KF974 .C56) (2 Vols.).
Payment Systems: Examples & Explanations, James Brook (4th ed. 2010) (KF933 .B76) (Reserve).
Dictionary of Banking Terms, Thomas P. Fitch (4th ed. 2010) (HG151 .F57) (Barron's Business Guides).