Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Clearing the Air by
Call Number: TD883 .S565 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Air pollution has become the world's greatest environmental health risk, and science is only beginning to reveal its wide-ranging effects. Globally, 19,000 people die each day from air pollution, killing more than HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and car accidents combined. What happened to the air we breathe? Sustainability journalist Tim Smedley has travelled the world to try and find the answer, visiting cities at the forefront of the fight against air pollution, including Delhi, Beijing, London and Paris. With insights from the scientists and politicians leading the battle against it, and people whose lives have been affected by it, Clearing the Air tells the full story of air pollution for the first time: what it is, which pollutants are harmful, where they come from and most importantly what we can do about them. Air pollution is a problem that can be solved. The stories uncovered on this journey show us how. (From the publisher).
Call Number: TD883.1 .G37 2019
Publication Date: 2019
"Air pollution prematurely kills seven million people every year, including more than one hundred thousand Americans. It is strongly linked to strokes, heart attacks, many kinds of cancer, dementia, and premature birth, among other ailments. In Choked, Beth Gardiner travels the world to tell the story of this modern-day plague, taking readers from the halls of power in Washington and the diesel-fogged London streets she walks with her daughter to Poland's coal heartland and India's gasping capital. In a gripping narrative that's alive with powerful voices and personalities, she exposes the political decisions and economic forces that have kept so many of us breathing dirty air. This is a moving, up-close look at the human toll, where we meet the scientists who have transformed our understanding of pollution's effects on the body and the ordinary people fighting for a cleaner future."-- Dust jacket
Air CFRs Made Easy, 2d ed. by
Call Number: KF3812.Z9 C665 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Provides environmental professionals with an overview of air quality compliance programs and subject-specific guidance for understanding the requirements of the C.F.R. Arranged alphabetically by subject.
The Clean Air Act by
Call Number: KF3812 .B45 2011
Publication Date: 2013
Provides an overview of the act and its implementing regulations.
Clean Air Act Step by Step Compliance 2003 by
Call Number: KF3812 .C5545 2003
Publication Date: 2003
This compliance manual provides the information and tools corporate/plant environmental staff and legal counsel need to deal with the extensive CAA regulatory requirements. Unlike other references that provide a cursory overview of CAA requirements, this comprehensive manual provides a systematic review and analysis of the major CAA regulatory requirements, explaining not just what must be done, but how to do it.
The Clean Air Act Handbook by
Call Number: KF3812 .C554 2004
Publication Date: 2004
For both the novice and advanced student, this text address the complex provisions of the Act in a clear and easy to approach manner.
The Clean Air Act Handbook, 4th ed. by
Call Number: KF3812 .C554 2016
Publication Date: 2017
Addresses all the topics and elements of the clean air act. Practitioner oriented as it is written by over 30 practitioners in the field.
Clean Air Handbook, 4th ed. by
Call Number: KF3812 .B769 2015
Publication Date: 2015
Revised to include recent developments, including the Clear Skies Initiative. Provides a complete introduction to the history and structure of the Clean Air Act.
An Interactive History of the Clean Air Act by
Call Number: KF3812 .A3281963 A2 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Provides an overview of the 1970 Clean Air Act and its subsequent effectsand highlights the relationship between science and policy.
Lessons from the Clean Air Act: Building Durability and Adaptability into U.S. Climate and Energy Policy by
Call Number: KF3812 .L47 2019
Publication Date: 2019
Climate and energy policy needs to be durable and flexible to be successful, but these two concepts often seem to be in opposition. One venerable institution where both ideas are apparent is the Clean Air Act, first passed by the United States Congress in 1963, with amendments in 1970 and 1990. The Act is a living institution that has been hugely successful in improving the environment. It has programs that reach across the entire economy, regulating various sectors and pollutants in different ways. This illuminating book examines these successes - and failures - with the aim to offer lessons for future climate and energy policymaking in the US at the federal and state level. It provides critical information to legislators, regulators, and scholars interested in understanding environmental policymaking"-- Provided by publisher
"In designing public policy, analysts often focus on criteria like efficiency and distributional fairness. These are important attributes of good policy design and in the climate and energy context we have seen significant attention paid to them. Our focus in this book is, nevertheless, different. Our claim is that, despite the recent pause in U.S. efforts to reduce emissions, the U.S. will need to return to aggressively regulating its greenhouse gas emissions. And in doing so, we will need well-designed energy policy that will need not only to be efficient and fair but also to be durable in order to achieve substantial reductions in greenhouse gas emissions by mid-century. Most centrally, we will need durable energy policy in order to motivate the substantial private sector investment in long-lived energy infrastructure that will be necessary to transform our energy system
Air Quality Compliance and Permitting Manual by
Call Number: KF3812 .T79 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Written in an approachable format (nonlegalese) this text provides accessible explnations of the regulatory and technical concepts of air quality compliance. Text also describes the actual permit submissions that are required under regulations (many of which end up being state requirements) and the technical and analytical approaches which are needed in preparing the information required in the permit applications. Useful topics include: Fundamental 1990 and previous Clean Air Act concepts, Permitting, Compliance Checklists and risk assessment methodologies.
Clean Air Act by
Call Number: KF3812 .C5547 2006
Publication Date: 2005
Provides researchers with asummary of the Clean Air Act and its major requirements. Also includes a Plain English version of the Act's interpretation and a comprehensive index.
Combating Climate Change with Section 115 of the Clean Air Act by
Call Number: KF3819.2 .C65 2020 Internet
Publication Date: 2020
"Editor Michael Burger brings together a comprehensive assessment of how one statutory provision - Section 115 of the Clean Air Act, "International Air Pollution" - provides the executive branch of the U.S. government with the authority, procedures, and mechanisms to work with the states and private sector to take national climate action."
Treatment of Greenhouse Gases under the Clean Air ACT by
Call Number: KF3812.2 .D56 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Authored by members of the American College of Environmental Lawyers (ACOEL) this text discusses greenhouse gas emissions from the perspective of different branches of government. Text also discusses the case of Massachusetts v. EPA.
Discovery Service at Pace
Search the Pace library catalog and many interdisciplinary databases. Use to find books and articles. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Pace Library Catalog
Search by author, title, author/title, journal title, keywords, subject, or call number. Sometimes you may have an incorrect title or author's name, so be creative in your searches. If the item is available in one of the other Pace libraries, use the REQUEST link and log in with your name and your Library bar code. Bar codes are available at the Circulation Desk in the Law Library.