Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Case Studies, Guidelines, and Best Practices - Overview
Websites containing collections of guidelines and best practices can provide useful starting points when researching aspects of land use law. Start with the guidelines and best practices, and then you can often work back to the municipalities that are using those development tools. Often these these websites will also contain case studies in addition to other materials, such as links to relevant municipal ordinances.
Case Studies, Guidelines and Best Practices A - M
Advocates’ Guide to Housing and Community Development Policy (2014 ed.)
From the National Low Income Housing Coalition, this online publication is divided into sections: materials on advocacy tools, The National Housing Trust Fund, rental housing programs for the lowest income households, special housing issues, additional housing programs and tools,and community development resources.
Enterprise: Solutions and Financing for Affordable Housing. Vibrant Communities. Real Opportunities.
"Enterprise Community Partners, Inc., is a national Section 501(c)(3) charitable organization that provides expertise for affordable housing and sustainable communities." The Enterprise website contains information about building affordable housing using sound sustainable development practices. Click on the Solutions and Innovations tab for links to case studies, reports, etc.
EPA's Smart Growth and Affordable Housing
Includes a links to materials about green building and transit oriented development as they relate to issues of affordable housing.
Gaining Ground Information Database
From the Land Use Law Center at Pace Law School, this database "includes a collection of exemplary federal, state, and local ordinances; commentaries; research papers; and research aids." The focus is of the collection "is on local laws and practices and the state and regional policies, laws, and programs that guide, direct, and enable local action."
Green Affordable Housing Policy Toolkit
This 2010 publication was written by Trisha Miller of Enterprise Green Communities.
HUD Publications: Affordable Housing
HUD makes available electronic copies of published HUD research, including best practices, reports, case studies, and guidebooks. Some materials are produced by HUD, other materials are produced by outside organizations.
Special Topic: Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Housing
HUD: Regulatory Barriers Clearinghouse
The HUD Regulatory Barriers Clearinghouse includes case studies, strategies and a searchable database of identified barriers and solutions. The database is divided into the following topics: Administrative Processes & Streamlining, Building & Housing Codes, Fair Housing and Neighborhood Deconcentration, Fees and Dedications, Planning & Growth Restrictions, Redevelopment/Infill, State and Local Environmental and Historic Preservation Regulations/Enforcement Process, Sustainable Communities, Tax Policies, and Zoning, Land Development, Construction and Subdivision Regulations.
Not in My Backyard: Removing Barriers to Affordable Housing
This is the 1991 report of the President's Commission (also known as the Kemp Commission) on Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Housing.
Why Not in Our Community: Removing Barriers to Affordable Housing, An Update to the Report of the Advisory Commission on Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Housing
This 2005 publication is an update to the 1991 Report of the Advisory Commission on Regulatory Barriers to Affordable Housing (the Kemp Commission). The update describes "recent trends in regulatory barriers to affordable housing, reviews recent efforts by states and local communities to reduce regulatory barriers, and details actions being implemented by the Department to reduce regulatory barriers."
Zoning as a Barrier to Multifamily Housing Development
This report 2007 report, written by Gerrit Knaap, Stuart Meck, Terry Moore, and Robert Parker contains "an investigation of a [broad] policy question: Does Zoning present a barrier to higher-density, multifamily housing development?"
Regulatory Barriers to Manufactured Housing Placement in Urban Communities
This 2011 study "examines the scope and severity of state and local regulatory barriers to manufactured housing placement within CDBG-eligible communities."
Special Topic: Affordable Housing in New Jersey
Fair Share Housing Center
"Fair Share Housing Center (FSHC), founded in 1975, is the only public interest organization entirely devoted to defending the housing rights of New Jersey’s poor through enforcement of the Mount Laurel Doctrine, the landmark decision that prohibits economic discrimination through exclusionary zoning and requires all towns to provide their “fair share” of their region’s need for affordable housing."
New Jersey Affordable Housing Law Resources
The New Jersey Digital Legal Library contains an online archive of New Jersey Affordable Housing Law Resources. This collection includes the Mt. Laurel Litigation Archive.
Case Studies, Guidelines and Best Practices N - Z
National Housing Institute
The National Housing Institute (NHI) website focuses on issues of affordable housing and community development. This website contains policy discussions and some case studies that were published as part of the NHI's quarterly magazine, Shelterforce: The Journal of Affordable Housing and Community Development.
NYS DEC: Climate Smart Communities Toolkit
"The Climate Smart Communities Toolkit allows New York communities to find recommended practices that will help to reduce greenhouse gas emissions specifically in the areas of land-use, transportation policy, green building, infrastructure investment, green infrastructure, and housing policy."
Partnership for Sustainable Communities - Case Studies
Contains case studies related to Green Building transit, affordable housing, mixed-use development, brownfield redevelopment, and water management.
Preserving Affordable Housing Near Transit
This 2010 report from Reconnecting America has case studies from Atlanta, Denver, Seattle, and Washington, D.C.
Public Land & Affordable Housing in the Washington DC Region: Best Practices and Recommendations
By Robert Hickey and Lisa Sturtevant, Center for Housing Policy and the National Housing Conference. Prepared for ULI Washington, February 2015. Includes case studies and best practices.
Smart Growth Online
Smart Growth Online is a project of the Smart Growth Network, a collection of environmental groups, historic preservation organizations, professional organizations, real estate interests, and state and local governments. Materials on the website include studies, reports, and links to other resources.
StableCommunities.org: Home Marketing and Sales Guide
This publication was "written especially for affordable housing developers and organizations who employ owner-occupied housing development as a tool for community stabilization."
Sustainable Cities Institute
Use search box to find Case studies. This site also contains model RFPs, reports, and city profiles.
The Natural Resources Defense Council's Smarter Cities program investigates the progress made in cities across the U.S. toward sustainability. Smarter Cities breaks down rankings into several categories such as air quality, environmental standards, green buildings, transportation, standard of living, and water quality.
Policy analysis and reports often includes statistical data and references to other useful sources.
Partnership for Sustainable Communities: An Interagency Partnership HUD DOT EPA
Established in 2009, the Partnership for Sustainable Communities works to "coordinate federal housing, transportation, water, and other infrastructure investments to make neighborhoods more prosperous, allow people to live closer to jobs, save households time and money, and reduce pollution. The partnership agencies [U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD), U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), and the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)] incorporate six principles of livability into federal funding programs, policies, and future legislative proposals."
Field Guide to Effects of Low-Income Housing on Property Values
The National Association of Realtors website has a collection of articles which address the effects of low income housing on property values.
NARC: National Association of Regional Councils
NARC works with regional planning organizations on issues including transportation, economic and community development and the environment.The NARC website includes policy materials, case studies, and links to regional councils of government and metropolitan planning associations.
National Housing Conference (NHC): Research Library
NHC publications address many housing issues, including issues related to fair and affordable housing.