Research Guides: Land Use, Planning, and Zoning Legal Research Guide: Commercial Landlord Tenant Law

Most Commercial Landlord Tenant treatises include forms. Included here is a general treatise on the topic and jurisdiction specific treatises.

Commercial Landlord Tenant Treatises - General

Current Leasing Law and Techniques - Forms
This treatise includes analysis, checklists and forms. Available on Lexis

Commercial Landlord Tenant Treatises - New York

Steinman's Bergerman and Roth, New York Real Property Forms Annotated
This treatise addresses commercial leases in NY, and includes forms and checklists. Available on Lexis.
Warren's Weed New York Real Property
Comprehensive treatise on NY real property law. See especially ch. 84 Leasing of Property - Commercial Leases. Available on Lexis.

Contracts - Treatises

Corbin on Contracts: Force Majeure and Impossibility of Performance Resulting from COVID-19
Treatise from Corbin on Contracts on COVID-19 related issues, including Ch 5 Discharge by Frustration of Purpose. Available on Lexis.
Corbin on Contracts
Comprehensive contracts treatise available on Lexis.

Most Commercial Landlord Tenant treatises include forms. Included here are general and jurisdiction-specific treatises from Westlaw.

Practical Law is part of Westlaw that has is focused on up to date forms and guidance for the practice of law. Included below are links to Commercial Leasing material for New York and Practical Law's collection of COVID-19 related materials. You can also access Practical Law from the Content menu and the drop-down box at the top left of the screen.

Commercial Landlord Tenant Treatises - General

Commercial Real Estate Forms 3d
Commercial Real Estate Forms 3d covers many types of commercial real estate transactions and contains forms and analysis. Available on Westlaw
Commercial Real Estate Leasing
This treatise provides guidance for commercial lease negotiation and drafting, including detailed provision analysis and sample forms. Available on Westlaw.
Commercial Real Estate Workouts
This treatise provides guidance to structuring and maintaining real estate workouts, including detailed statutory analysis and forms (exhibits). Available on Westlaw.
Real Estate Leasing Practice Manual
This treatise includes complete leasing agreements, as well as alternative clauses to modify lease structures. Available on Westlaw

Commercial Landlord Tenant Treatises - New York

Rasch's New York Landlord and Tenant, Including Summary Proceedings
This treaties addresses commercial and residential law. Available on Westlaw.
New York Law & Practice of Real Property
Treatises addresses many aspects of New York Real Property, includes forms for sale of real property. Available on Westlaw.

Commercial Landlord Tenant Forms - New York

West's McKinney's Forms
McKinney's forms has NY forms on many topics including Real Property. Browse the table of contents, use the index or search full text. If start from a relevant statute in McKinney's statutes, use the cross-references to McKinney's Forms. Available on Westlaw.

Practical Law

Practical Law - Commercial Leasing - New York
Practical Law has a section on real estate, which can be further refined by the topic of Commercial leasing and then by jurisdiction of New York State. Includes forms. Click on Resource Type to narrow by type of document. Practical Law is accessed via Westlaw.
Practical Law - Real Estate Global Coronavirus Toolkit
Gathers together relevant Practical Law materials that address COVID-19 issues. Despite the title of this resource, the focus is US law. Practical Law is accessed via Westlaw.

Contract Law - Treatises

Williston on Contracts 4th
Comprehensive treatise on contract law, not jurisdiction - specific. Available on Westlaw.
New York Contract Law - New York Practice Series
The only jurisdiction-specific treatise focused on New York contract law. Available on Westlaw.

Restatements

Restatement of the Law - Contracts
Contains Restatement (First) of Contracts
and Restatement (Second) of Contracts. Available on Westlaw.

Mediation

Mediation: Law, Policy & Practice
Treatise available on Westlaw.

New York News Sources on Westlaw
Includes New York newspapers, WPIX 11, and some NY magazines. Does not include the New York Law Journal. Available on Westlaw.
ALM Media on Lexis
News from American Law Media publications including the New York Law Journal and Commercial Leasing Law and Strategy. Available on Lexis.
Law360
Legal news for all topics, only available from Lexis.