Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Pace Library Catalog
Search by author, title, author/title, journal title, keywords, subject, or call number. Sometimes you may have an incorrect title or author's name, so be creative in your searches. If the item is available in one of the other Pace libraries, use the REQUEST link and log in with your name and your Library barcode. Barcodes are available at the Circulation Desk in the Law Library.
Search the Library catalog and many interdisciplinary databases including HeinOnline.
These are a selection of print treatises available at the Law Library. To find additional materials, search the online catalog.
This is a selection of treatises that are not jurisdicion-specific and which are available online in Lexis or Westlaw. (Most of these are available in Westlaw.) Both Lexis and Westlaw have some jurisdiction-specific treatises, but coverage will vary by state.
Ethical Standards in the Public Sector
Patricia Salkin, editor. Published by the ABA (2nd ed., 2008). Available on Westlaw.
Ethics of Representing Organizations: Legal Fictions for Clients
Treatise by Addresses ethics within the specific context of representing entities. Available on Lexis and last updated in 2013.
Ineffective Assistance of Counsel
Treatise by John M. Burkoff, Nancy M. Burkoff which focuses exclusively on ineffective assistance claims, including state and federal constitutional standards for ineffectiveness. Available on Westlaw.
Law of Lawyer Advertising
Treatise by Rodney Smolla on the constitutional and commercial speech aspects of lawyer advertising. Includes all state rules and regulations. Available on Westlaw.
Legal Ethics-The Lawyer's Deskbook on Professional Responsibility
Covers materials issued by the ABA, state and federal courts, and state bar associations, including model rules, cases, and ethics opinions. Available on Westlaw.
Treatise by Ronald E. Mallen that covers legal malpractice liability, prevention, litigation, and insurance. Topics addressed include disqualification, sanctions, fee disputes, vicarious liability, and liability to non-clients and former clients. Available on Westlaw.
Legal Opinion Letters: A Comprehensive Guide to Opinion Letter Practice
Covers drafting, requesting, receiving, interpreting, and evaluating both client and third-party legal opinion letters.Includes a chapter on Legal Opinion Liability. Available on Westlaw.
Liability of Attorneys & Accountants for Securities Transactions
Treatise by Robert J. Haft, et al. that covers federal and state laws, focusing on potential liabilities that each professional may encounter with a securities transaction. Available on Westlaw.
Professional Responsibility in Criminal Defense Practice
Practice-oriented guide by John Wesley Hall, Jr. that addresses the problems faced by attorneys when serving as criminal defense counsel. It provides trial guidance for striking the correct balance between duty to the client under the Sixth Amendment representing a client's interests, yet obeying the law and maintaining a profitable practice. Available on Westlaw.
Treatise by Bennett L. Gershman establishes systematic guidelines on prosecutorial behavior, citing thousands of precedential cases, and standards of legal and ethical conduct. Available on Westlaw.
Rule 11 Sanctions
Georgene M. Vairo's treatise on Rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Published by the ABA in 2004. Available on Westlaw.
Although some law reviews are dedicated to the topic of legal ethics and professional responsibility, do not limit your searches to just those periodicals. Remember that any law review may publish an article that deals with this topic, so don't narrow your focus your search too narrowly on certain publications.
Bar journals are published by the state, federal, city and county bar associations and contain articles that are written by practicing attorneys in that state. These bar journals can be a particularly rich source of articles on the legal ethics rules which are specific to that jurisdiction. Note that not all jurisdictions will have a bar journal. You can find federal, state, city, and county bar journals on Lexis and Westlaw from the 1990s - current. For historical coverage starting with v. 1, use HeinOnline.