Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The ABA website provides access to documents relevant to recent (2002-2020) revisions to the Model Rules, which is useful if you are looking to research the revision of a rule. However, the ABA website only provides access to unannotated version of of their model rules. For online access to annotated versions most recent edition of these materials, use Westlaw.
ABA Ethics Opinions are not binding. Formal Ethics Opinions are written prospectively for issues of general interest to attorneys. Informal Ethics Opinions (no longer issued) were issued in response to specific sets of facts.
ABA Ethics Opinions
ABA Ethics Opinions issued 1983 - current are available on the ABA website at no charge. Earlier Opinions can be purchased from the ABA.
The ABA Center for Professional Responsibility provides national leadership in developing and interpreting standards and scholarly resources in legal and judicial ethics, professional regulation, professionalism and client protection. The resources listed below are all found on the Center's website.
Center for Professional Responsibility Policy & Initiatives
Assists states in their implementation of the recent Ethics 2000, Multijurisdictional Practice Commission and Ethics Committee changes to the Model Rules. Includes a chart on the status of each state's review of the rule changes, current policy projects, adopted policy, and related materials.
Ethics 2000 Commission
The Ethics 2000 Commission was formed in 1997 to review the Model Rules of Professional Conduct. It submitted a report to the House of Delegates at the August 2001 Annual Meeting. The report was debated at the August 2001 Annual and February 2002 Midyear Meetings.
ABA Commission on Ethics 20/20
Created by then ABA President Carolyn B. Lamm in 2009, the Commission will perform a thorough review of the ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct and the U.S. system of lawyer regulation in the context of advances in technology and global legal practice developments.
ABA Center for Professional Responsibility - Resources: Report Archive
Includes links to information on: the ABA Commission on Ethics 20/20, Implementation Initiatives, GATS/International Agreements, Judicial Code Revision Project, and Conference of Chief Justices National Action Plan on Lawyer Conduct and Professionalism.
Pace Library Catalog
Search by author, title, author/title, journal title, keywords, subject, or call number. Sometimes you may have an incorrect title or author's name, so be creative in your searches. If the item is available in one of the other Pace libraries, use the REQUEST link and log in with your name and your Library barcode. Barcodes are available at the Circulation Desk in the Law Library.
The Pace Law Library has many of the ABA titles up to date in print. When a title also available in Westlaw, that information is included.
ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct and Rules of Judicial Conduct
Lexis combines the current ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct, the current ABA Model Rules of Judicial Conduct, the ABA Annotated Model Code of Judicial Conduct, third edition (2016), and the ABA Model Code of Professional Responsibility, 2010 ed., in one database, however you can focus your search on any of these titles by checking the relevant content box when in the table of contents. Note that Lexis does not have the ABA Annotated Model Code of Professional Conduct.
ABA Formal Ethics Opinions
Formal Opinions are interpretations of the Rules that the ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility believes to be of general interest. Formal Opinion No. 1 (January 1924) - Current
ABA Informal Ethics Opinions
Informal Opinions are responses by the ABA Standing Committee on Ethics and Professional Responsibility to questions that are narrower in scope and arise less frequently. Informal Opinion No. 1 (1959) through Informal Opinion No. 1530 (1989)
Westlaw's collection of ABA Legal Ethics materials include the ABA Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct which makes it an effective place to research ABA Rules.
ABA Model Rules and Standards:
ABA Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct
ABA Annotated Model Rules of Professional Conduct contains the rule accompanied by commentary and annotations. Current to the 9th edition (2019).
ABA Model Rules of Professional Conduct (Unannotated)
Model Rules of Professional Conduct contains the rule and commentary on the ABA Model Rules.Current through the 2018 edition.
ABA Model Rules for Lawyer Disciplinary Enforcement
Text of the Model Rules for Lawyer Disciplinary Enforcement as published in 2002. In each Rule, scroll down to Related documents and click link for to search Westlaw for related cases and secondary sources.
ABA Model Rules for Lawyers' Funds for Client Protection
ABA Model Rules for Lawyers' Funds for Client Protection published in 1989. In each Rule, scroll down to Related documents and click link for to search Westlaw for related cases and secondary sources.
ABA Standards for Imposing Lawyer Sanctions
ABA Standards for Imposing Lawyer Sanctions, as published by the ABA in 2005. In each Standard, scroll down to Related documents and click link for to search Westlaw for related cases and secondary sources.
ABA Code of Judicial Conduct
ABA Code of Judicial Conduct as published in 2010. Organized as Canons, followed by black letter rules and comments for each rule. In each Canon, scroll down to Related documents and click link for to search Westlaw for related cases and secondary sources.
ABA Ethics Opinions
Contains Formal Opinions January 1924 - Current, and Informal Opinions July 1961 - 1989 (ABA ceased issuing Informal Ethics Opinions in 1989)
Periodical published by the Judicial Administration Division of the American Bar Association. Coverage from v. 26 1987 (selected coverage in earlier issues) - Current.
Periodical published by the American Bar Association Center for Professional Responsibility and the Standing Committee on Professionalism. Note that selected content from the ABA/BNA Lawyers Manual is being reprinted in Professional Lawyer in the form of articles. Coverage from v. 6 1994 (selected coverage in earlier issues) - Current