Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Fracking in New Mexico takes place in the San Juan Basin in the northwest of the state as well as the Permian basin in the southeast. New Mexico is similar to other states in that it now requires the disclosure of the chemicals used in fracking fluids, although there is a trade secret exemption that companies can ask for.
San Juan Citizen's Alliance v. BLM, No. 16-cv-376-MCA-JHR, 2018 WL 2994406, at *1 (D. N.M. Jun. 14, 2018).
Case brought by citizen groups against BLM and the Forest Service alleging that both violated NEPA in granting mineral estate leases in the Santa Fe National Forest. The court set aside the finding of no significant impact by the agencies as well as the leases and remanded the case back to BLM to further analyse the environmental impacts of granting the leases.
Dine Citizens v. Jewell, No. CIV 15-0209 JB/SCY, 2018 WL 1940992, at *1 (D. N.M. Apr. 23, 2018).
Case brought by Navajo community activists and environmental groups against the DOI, Secretary of the DOI, BLM, and BLM Director challenging BLM approval of applications to drill in the Mancos Shale formation. Plaintiffs alleged violation of NEPA by failing to analyze direct, indirect, and cumulative effects of fracking in that region; failing to prepare an EIS on fracking in that region; and taking action during the NEPA process. The court ruled that the BLM did not violate NEPA by approving the permits and provided sufficient notice to the public.
Swepi, LP v. Mora County New Mexico, 81 F.Supp. 3d 1075 (2015).
Case brought by an energy exploration firm, which had an oil and gas lease with the state of New Mexico, against the county and its board of commissioners seeking an injunction to prevent the county from enforcing its zoning ordinance proscribing oil and natural gas extraction in the county. The court ruled that the ordinance conflicted with state law and since it was not severable, had to be invalidated entirely.
The OIl Conservation Division of New Mexico is responsible for overseeing fracking in the state.
Provides access to relevant OCD forms.
Provides access to GIS data and the oil and gas map
Provides access to OCD hearings orders and minutes back to 2012.
Provides access to publications of the OCD.
Provides access to proposed rules, new rules, current rules, and New Mexico Statutes.
Provides access to OCD Statistics.
OCD Web Applications
Provides access to e-permitting, imaging, and the FTP server.
Oil and Gas Education
Provides information about hydraulic fracturing in the state as well as general information about drilling.