Research Guides: Hydraulic Fracturing (Hydrofracking): Montana

Montana

Fracking in Montana occurs throughout the state, although there is a concentration of gas and oil fields in the northern portion of the state. The Bakken Shale Formation is one of the areas of current exploration. Like many other states, Montana requires the disclosure of the contents of fracking fluid, although companies can apply for a trade secret exemption to this requirement.

Carbon County Resource Council v. Montana Board of Oil and Gas Conservation, 385 Mont. 51 (2016).
CCRC sought review of a Board of Oil and Gas decision approving hydraulic fracturing at the Hunt Creek 1-H well. The groups claimed they were denied a meaningful opportunity to participate in the decision process. The court below felt that the claims were not ripe. The court ruled that the claims were ripe for review, but that the oil and gas board did not violate the right to participate in considering the permits in this case. However, the court did say that the board's 48 hour rule regarding notice may be unconstitutional in other circumstances.

The Department of Natural Resources and Conservation Board of Oil and Gas is responsible for overseeing fracking in the state.

2011 Rulemaking
Provides access to 2011 final rule, hearings, and public comment.
2018 Rulemaking
Provides access to exhibits and bills related to 2018 rules on hydraulic fracturing.
Approved Fracturing Proposals
Provides access to proposals for hydraulic fracturing that have already been approved.
Approved Trade Secret Requests
Provides access to requests for trade secret exemption from providing content of fracking fluids.
Coal Bed Methane
Provides information on coal bed methane in the state.
Forms
Provides access to Monatana Board of Oil and Gas forms.
GIS Application
Interactive GIS map.
Hydraulic Fracturing
Main page for information about hydraulic fracturing in the state.
Online Data
Provides access to online information about wells, leases, statistics, and more.
Rules and Regulations
Provides access to the Montana Administrative Code and Montana Codes Annotated.
Trade Secret Forms
Provides access to forms and directions about applying for trade secret exemption to providing contents of fracking fluids.

$Image result for fracking in montana maps$

140812TELbakkenmap

Fracking in Montana: Asking Questions, Finding Answers
Document from December 2015 compiled with support from the Montana Farmers Union.