Hydraulic Fracturing (Hydrofracking): Quick Links

Arnold & Porter, LLP, a top law firm has an active environmental practice group that is tracking cases related to hydrofracking. Updated on a rolling basis.

Arnold & Porter, LLP, a top law firm has an active environmental practice group that is tracking state regulations related to hydrofracking. Updated on a rolling basis.

Pro-environmental site (New York centric). Contains information on basic terms, news updates, and select documents in their Resource Center.

Provides access to lists of news, seminars, and recent scientific publications on hydrofracking.

Interactive map from a pro-environment group with information related to "troubling reports of poisoned drinking water, polluted air, mysterious animal deaths, industrial disasters and explosions" related to hydrofracking.

Pro-environmental site. Has an annotated review of Hydraulic Fracturing 101 as well as links to various publications.

Industry site that provides news, blog posts and information on hydrofracking. The sites Library (see top tab) also has links to studies, press releases, memoranda and state resolutions.

The EPA's portal for all hydrofracking materials. Contains links, documents, learning turorials and basic definitions. This is an essential site to visit when doing any research on hydrofracking.

FracFocus is a "national hydraulic fracturing chemical registry" managed by the Ground Water Protection Council and Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission. "The site was created to provide the public access to reported chemicals used for hydraulic fracturing within their area." Eight states participate with this group: Colorado, Oklahoma, Louisiana, Texas, North Dakota, Montana, Mississippi and Pennsylvania. This site does not deal with "issues unrelated to chemical use in hydraulic fracturing such as Naturally Occurring Radioactive Material (NORM)."

Authored by attorneys at Kelley Drye this blog provides focused insight and analysis of key regulatory, legislative, legal, and economic developments related to the use of hydraulic fracturing (fracking) in the natural gas industry.

"[N]on-profit organization dedicated to enhancing the public’s understanding of the impacts of the global shale gas industry by collecting, interpreting, and sharing data and visualizations through our website;" the strength of this site is its interactive maps. As an aggregator its datasets are usually freely available from governmental websites.

This database includes reference to best management practices related to water quantity and rights. From the Getches-Wilkinson Center for Natural Resources, Energy, and the Environment at the University of Colorado Law School.

The U.S.G.S. "has compiled a map of shale-gas assessments in the United States that were completed by 2012 as part of the National Assessment of Oil and Gas Project. Using a geology-based assessment methodology, the U.S. Geological Survey quantitatively estimated potential volumes of undiscovered gas within shale-gas assessment units. These shale-gas assessment units are mapped, and square-mile cells are shown to represent proprietary shale-gas wells. The square-mile cells include gas-producing wells from shale intervals."

Industry Site (Pennsylvania based) that provides acces to news updates, reports, memorandum and studies (see the Library tab at the top navigation bar).

Eight screen interactive visual tutorial on the mechanics of hydraulic fracturing.

Pro-environmental public journalist news site with a dedicated series on hydrofracking. To date over 120 high quality news articles have been posted.

Pro-environmental group dedicated to protecting the Hudson River and NYC watershed. This site provides access to numerous NY DEC documents as well as links to Riverkeeper's comments and document submissions to the DEC.

Pro-environmental group that uses "scientifically credible satellite images and other visual technologies to create compelling pictures that vividly illustrate environmental impacts and provide these pictures and supporting data to environmental advocates, the media, and the public." The group has compiled a database of "more than 27,000 "chemical disclosure reports" voluntarily submitted by industry to FracFocus, for gas and oil wells fracked between January 2011 and August 2012." The information provided is a contrast to that available on FracFocus.

Excellent overview. Scroll down to the bottom of the page for links to other reputable reports and resources.

Legal industry related site. Has an excellent news feed for legal issues related to hydrofracking. Also see their Publications & Reources Tab (University Studies & Government pages especially).

Developed by Resources for the Future (RFF), which is an independent, nonprofit research institution located in Washington, D.C, SHARC is a curated shale research clearinghouse. The site provides information on economic, health, and environmental impacts from oil and gas development. SHARC is freely accessible to all and includes journal articles, reports, websites, books, and other materials.