Research Guides: Animal Rights Law: Statutes & Case Law

Animal Protection Laws of the United States of America
From the Animal Legal Defense Fund.
Animal Welfare Act
From the USDA Animal Welfare Information Center. Includes current text of 7 U.S.C. §§ 2131-2159 and text of all public laws. Also includes current regulations.
Brief Summaries of Federal Animal Protection Statutes
CRS Report issued Feb. 1, 2010.
Federal Statutes
Chart with explanations of and links to federal animal welfare and rights laws.
Laws that Protect Animals
From the Animal Legal Defense Fund, this provides information on both federal and state laws that protect animals.
Model Animal Protection Laws Collection
Downloadable PDf from the Animal Legal Defense Fund.

Egg Products Inspection Act
21 U.S.C. §§ 1031-1056.
Federal Meat Inspection Act
21 U.S.C. §§ 601-695
Humane Methods of Slaughter Act
7 U.S.C. §§ 1901-1907; includes links to regulations.
Poultry Products Inspection Act
21 U.S.C. §§ 451-472

Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act
Annotated bibliography of Federal documents related to the Animal Welfare Act and including Congressional hearings, citations from the Congressional Record, Federal Register notices, and Public Laws. From the USDA's Animal Welfare Information Center.
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act of 1970: P.L. 91-579
- This link opens in a new window
1v. Washington: Covington & Burling, 1970.
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act Amendments of 1976 P.L. 94-279
- This link opens in a new window
1v. Washington: Arnold and Porter, 1975-1976.
Legislative History of the Federal Meat Inspection Act Amendment of 1970: P.L. 91-342: 84 Stat. 438: July 18, 1970
- This link opens in a new window
1v. Washington: Covington & Burling, 1970.
Legislative History of The Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act Amendments P.L. 98-487
- This link opens in a new window
1v. Washington: Arnold and Porter, 1984.
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act of 1970
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act Amendments of 1976
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Federal Meat Inspection Act Amendment of 1970
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of The Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act Amendments of 1984
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Egg Products Inspection Act of 1971
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act of 1970
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Animal Welfare Act Amendments of 1976
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Federal Meat Inspection Act Amendment of 1970
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of The Federal Meat Inspection Act and the Poultry Products Inspection Act Amendments of 1984
- This link opens in a new window
Legislative History of the Egg Products Inspection Act of 1971
- This link opens in a new window

Animal Law Resource Center Case Law Search
Allows you to search for state and federal cases involving animal law.
Animal Legal Defense Fund Cases
Provides information on cases involving the organization.
Federal Cases
Includes summaries of decisions as well as links to full text.
Nonhuman Rights Project Cases
Includes information and filings from cases brought on behalf of animal clients including Happy the elephant.