Research Guides: Intellectual Property Law: Internet Resources

New Resources

Database on Flexibilities in the Intellectual Property System
Contains data drawn from WIPO documents on Patent Related Flexibilities in the Multilateral Legal Framework and their Legislative Implementation at the National and Regional Levels. The database allows searches for implementation of flexibilities in national IP laws in selected jurisdictions.
TRIPS Flexibilities Database
The TRIPS (Agreement on Trade-Related Aspects of Intellectual Property Rights) Flexibilities Database contains instances when authorities have invoked, planned to invoke, or have been asked to invoke a TRIPS flexibility for public health reasons, in particular to assure access to medicines. Not all instances listed have been executed. If you are interested only in instances where the flexibility has been executed you can use the filter in the 'executed' column.

IP Blog Posts from Justia

International Intellectual Property Institute

Websites

Gateway to the European Union
Europa, the official EU website, includes basic information and links to publications and documents.
Office of the U.S. Trade Representative
Resource center includes links to trade agreements and trade topics.
Organizations and Agencies from the USPTO
Links to international and foreign organizations for those who wish to seek protection for their intellectual property beyond the borders of the United States, as well as for those non-US customers who wish to seek patent or trademark protection in the United States.
U.S. Copyright Office
Official website, includes copyright records, laws, regulations and policy.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office--Patents
Includes links to wide variety of tools, electronic filing system, image database, laws, regulations, policies and procedures, electronic business center, and news.
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office--Trademarks
Links to news, Madrid Protocol, tools including the Trademark Electronic Search System, manuals, guides, official gazette, laws and regulations.
World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO)
The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is a specialized agency of the United Nations. It is dedicated to developing a balanced and accessible international intellectual property (IP) system.
more...less...
Information about the organization, its structure, purpose, and history. Includes IP services, program activities, resources, and news & events.

IP Services include:
Patents
Trademarks
Designs
Appellation of Origins
Protection of States Emblems
Arbitration and Mediation Center
Domain name dispute resolution
International Classification
WTO
Includes information related to the TRIPS treaty, along with rulemaking and administrative materials related to TRIPS, and products of the WTO dispute-settlement processes.

Research Guides

Guide to Trademark Law
From HG.org. Provides overview of U.S. and foreign trademark law.
Intellectual Property Law Resources
From Justia, includes overview of IP law, current cases, dockets, and websites.
Intellectual Property Research Guide
University of Chicago Law School.
International Trade Law Research Guide
From GeorgetownLaw Library, includes information on various trade organizations and dispute resolution.
Intellectual Property Law Research Guide
From the University of Chicago Law Library.
Stanford Copyright & Fair Use
Stanford Univ. Libraries site, includes overview of copyright law from Nolo, and recent cases and dockets.

Articles

Do You Know How Much Private Information You Give Away Every Day?, Manoush Zomorodi, Time Magazine, March 29, 2017.

Online Privacy: Using the Internet Safely (blog post), Privacy Rights Clearinghouse, Jan. 6, 2019.

Internet Privacy, American Civil Liberties Union (2019).

Security in Internet of Things: Issues, Challenges, Taxonomy, and Architecture, Vipindev. Adat, 67 Telecommunication Systems 423 (June 13, 2017) (available through Pace A-Z Databases in ProQuest Central database).

A Right to Reasonable Inferences: Re-Thinking Data Protection Law in the Age of Big Data and AI, Sandra Wachter & Brent Mittelstadt, 2019 Columbia Bus. L. Rev. 494 (2019) (available from HeinOnline).

Google Scholar

Searches legal opinions and law reviews as well as p eer-reviewed papers, books, abstracts, citations, and theses. Click Full Text@Pace to see full text availability via Pace databases (not including Lexis and Westlaw).