The Accused - Criminal Justice Information - Victims, Juveniles, Incarcerated & Accused - Research Guides at Elisabeth Haub School of Law, Pace University

Alternatives, Reentry, & Prisons

Center for Community Alternatives
This site serves people in trouble: youth at risk; families in crisis; people struggling to address drug and alcohol problems and HIV and AIDS; and people who have been involved in the criminal justice system who are seeking community reintegration and productive, law-abiding lives. CCA endeavors to address these issues by emphasizing personal empowerment, self-respect and concern for one's community.
more...less...
The Center for Community Alternatives (CCA) promotes reintegrative justice and a reduced reliance on incarceration through advocacy, services and public policy development in pursuit of civil and human rights.
CASES
Center for Alternative Sentencing and Employment Services. Offers information about the programs offered by CASES.
more...less...
The mission of the Center for Alternative Sentencing and Employment Services (CASES) is to increase public safety through innovative services that reduce crime and incarceration, improve behavioral health, promote recovery and rehabilitation, and create opportunities for success in the community.
The Osborne Association
Information about programs aimed at adopting healthy lifestyles, reconnecting families, achieving economic independence of former inmates, reducing reliance on incarceration, and strengthening communities.
more...less...
Provides news, press releases, and publications of The Osborne Association's involvement in the criminal justice system.

Information about programs aimed at adopting healthy lifestyles (HIV/AIDS counseling, nicotine addictions, drug and sex education, health education, outpatient substance abuse treatment programs), reconnecting families (parenting and marriage education, children services and counseling, services for incarcerated mothers), achieving economic independence of former inmates (employment and training service, janitorial/maintenance services), reducing reliance on incarceration (Aftercare services, legal support services, jail-based training for job and life skills), and strengthening communities (Church mentor programs, Interfaith Reentry Network).

Mission:
The Osborne Association offers opportunities for individuals who have been in conflict with the law to transform their lives through innovative, effective, and replicative programs that serve the community by reducing crime and its human and economic costs.
Alternatives to Incarceration (ATI) Programs
The Division of Probation and Correctional Alternatives (DPCA) funds and oversees a variety of pretrial services and correctional alternative programs throughout New York State, often referred to as Alternative to Incarceration or ATI programs. These programs may fall under the authority of governmental or non-profit agencies. They operate in conjunction with the criminal justice system in all New York State counties and the City of New York.

The Fortune Society
Provides contact information and an overview of the services offered for incarcerated or formerly incarcerated people (client services, housing, health, counseling, education, career development, family, alternative to incarceration, Drop-in center).
more...less...
Provides free subscription service of Fortune News for incarcerated men and women, the Fortune Society's publications, video archive, news and events, and links to other advocacy groups.

Mission:
The Fortune Society believes in a world where all who are at-risk, incarcerated or formerly incarcerated can become positive, contributing members of society. Our work supports successful reentry of formerly incarcerated men and women and promotes alternatives to incarceration, thus strengthening the fabric of our communities.
Greenhope Services for Women, Inc.
Greenhope will be a part of the Independent Commission on New York City Criminal Justice and Incarceration Reform (the "Independent Commission") chaired by Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman. Speaker Melissa Mark-Viverito announced during her recent State of the City address that Independent Commission on New York City Criminal Justice and Incarceration Reform will examine measures to improve the City’s criminal justice system and its incarceration practices.
more...less...
Greenhope's mission is to empower women involved in substance abuse and the criminal justice system to reclaim their lives, reunite with their families, and rebuild their communities.
Council of State Government (CSG) Justice Center
Founded in 1933, The Council of State Governments (CSG) is the nation’s only organization serving all three branches of state government. CSG is a region-based forum that fosters the exchange of insights and ideas to help state officials shape public policy. This offers unparalleled regional, national and international opportunities to network, develop leaders, collaborate and create problem-solving partnerships.
more...less...
The CSG Justice Center comprises approximately 120 employees based in offices that span three time zones. Our professional backgrounds vary extensively, with decades of experience in law enforcement, community corrections, court administration, housing, mental health and addiction services, state prisons, local jails, juvenile justice, law, education, workforce development and victim advocacy. Staff here have served governors, state legislators and members of Congress on both sides of the political spectrum. What bonds us together is a shared commitment to our mission, to a common set of values, and to the national, bipartisan Board of Directors that guides our work.
National Reentry Resource Center (NRRC)
he NRRC provides individualized and strategic guidance to recipients of Second Chance Act grants in order to maximize their efforts to reduce recidivism and help people succeed in their communities after they return from incarceration.
more...less...
The NRRC was established by the Second Chance Act (Public Law 110-199). Signed into law in 2008, the Second Chance Act authorizes federal grants to government agencies and nonprofit organizations to provide reentry services—including employment assistance, substance use treatment, housing, family programming, mentoring, victims support, and other services—and to support corrections and supervision practices that aim to reduce recidivism.

The CSG Justice Center operates the NRRC in collaboration with BJA and the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention, as well as partner organizations
Women's Prison Association (WPA)
WPA works with women at all stages of criminal justice involvement. We promote alternatives to incarceration and help women living in the community to avoid arrest or incarceration by making positive changes in their lives. Inside prison and jail, we are a source of support to women and a resource to them as they plan for release. After incarceration, women come to WPA for help to build the lives they want for themselves and their families in the community.
more...less...
The Women's Prison Association envisions a community where our reliance on incarceration as the default response to crime has been replaced by constructive, community-driven and -enhancing responses. Critical to our vision of a world with fewer jails and prisons is the belief that all human beings have the capacity for change and that every individual can be accountable for her actions and the results. Believing that no person should be defined solely by her bad acts, we exist to support women at any stage of criminal justice involvement so that they can imagine and realize law-abiding, self-directed and satisfying lives in the community.

The national and international community has put forth an effort to formulate minimum standards for prison administrations to follow.

Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners
Adopted by the First United Nations Congress on the Prevention of Crime and the Treatment of Offenders, held at Geneva in 1955, and approved by the Economic and Social Council by its resolutions 663 C (XXIV) of 31 July 1957 and 2076 (LXII) of 13 May 1977.
United Nations prison-related standards and norms
The United Nations Standard Minimum Rules for the Treatment of Prisoners set out what is generally accepted as being good principle and practice in the treatment of prisoners and the management of institutions.
more...less...
Among other measures, it provides for the following:
Rules for general application including separation of inmates according to categories, accommodation, education and recreation, and medical services.
Rules applicable to prisoners under sentence include genera provisions, classification and individualization, treatment, and work.
The standards also include alternatives to incarceration.
ABA Standards on Treatment of Prisoners
In February 2010, (includes a URL to 2011) the ABA House of Delegates approved a set of ABA Criminal Justice Standards on Treatment of Prisoners.
more...less...
These Standards supplant the previous ABA Criminal Justice Standards on the Legal Status of Prisoners and, in addition, new Standard 23-6.15 supplants Standards 7-10.2 and 7-10.5 through 7-10.9 of the ABA Criminal Justice Mental Health Standards.
The Centre for Justice & Reconciliation - Restorative Justice Library
The Centre for Justice & Reconciliation is a program of Prison Fellowship International. Its mission is to develop and promote restorative justice in criminal justice systems around the world.

Literature for Inmates

Books Through Bars
This program sends quality reading material to prisoners and encourage creative dialogue on the criminal justice system.
more...less...
Information about the organization (history, accomplishments, mission, contact info), offered programs (book distribution, public education, youth program, movement building, research), how to get involved (to volunteer, donate books & funds), and resources.
Changing Lives Through Literature
Alternative Sentencing Program based on reading literature and discussion.
more...less...
Information about the organization (history, philosophy, information for students, instructors, probation officers, and judges), programs, key issues (classroom, gender, sentencing, literacy), resources (instructional materials, court forms & methods, links, video), outreach, contact information, announcements, and blog.
Ella Baker Center: Books Not Bars
Fights to redirect California's resources away from youth incarceration and towards youth opportunities.
more...less...
Information about the organization, the basics of the campaign to close down California youth prison and open rehabilitation center instead, the latest news coverage & press, how to get involved (including internship opportunities), information about the families network, and videos, music, and podcasts.

Services for the Accused, Convicted, or Incarcerated

Correctional Association of New York
It is an independent, non-profit organization founded by citizens in 1844 and granted a unique authority by the New York State Legislature to inspect prisons and to report its findings and recommendations to the legislature, the public and the press.
more...less...
Information on its programs (Juvenile Justice Project, Prison Visiting Project, Public Policy Project, Women in Prison Project), access to its publications (reports and factsheets), access to the CA Newsletter, and a news archive, organized according to the article's relevance to CA's four programs. Information on internships is available.
Equal Justice Initiative
Provides legal representation to indigent defendants and prisoners who have been denied fair and just treatment in the legal system and prepares reports, newsletters and manuals to assist advocates and policymakers in the critically important work of reforming the administration of criminal justice.
Hour Children
Is located in Long Island City, NY.
It is a multi-faceted family service organization providing housing (permanent and transitional), and supportive services for women and their families involved in the criminal justice system.
Innocence Project
Provides information about the causes of false convictions of innocent people, and methods to reform the accuracy of the criminal justice system.
more...less...
Provides fact sheets (statistics on exonerations, facts on post-conviction DNA exonerations, witness identification reform, access to post-conviction DNA testing), access to video and audio from the Innocence Project, Innocence Blog, press release (containing recent articles related to DNA exoneration), and access to The Innocence Project Online free monthly newsletter.
Legal Action Center
Helping people rebuild their lives with dignity. Information about the organization, how to support LAC, programs, events, and contact information. Organization provides legal services, information about NYS and National Policy advocacy, national healthcare reform, national advocacy campaign, Liman policy research institute, training and technical assistance, and resources (free publications and webinars, newsletter, and links).
more...less...
Mission:
The Legal Action Center is the only non-profit law and policy organization in the United States whose sole mission is to fight discrimination against people with histories of addiction, HIV/AIDS, or criminal records, and to advocate for sound public policies in these areas.

For three decades, LAC has worked to combat the stigma and prejudice that keep these individuals out of the mainstream of society. The Legal Action Center is committed to helping people reclaim their lives, maintain their dignity, and participate fully in society as productive, responsible citizens.
National Resource Center on Children and Families of the Incarcerated
The National Resource Center on Children & Families of the Incarcerated
more...less...
Provides a listing of different resources for family members of the incarcerated (children of prisoners library, directories of programs that work with children around the country, factsheets, videos and films, articles and other resources), a research database showing current and past research in the field.

Information on how to purchase products, sold by NRCCFI, ideal for training new members or volunteers of a program for children and families of the incarcerated (Training-by-Telephone, NRCCFI Reports, Books & Films, Training Materials, Onsite Training).
PLN - Prison Legal News
PLN is an independent monthly magazine that, since 1990, has provided review and analysis of prisoner rights, court rulings and news about prison issues. To access the website contents in its entirety, including articles, case briefs, and publications, a subscription service is necessary.
more...less...
PLN has a national (U.S.) focus on both state and federal prison issues, with international coverage as well. It provides information enabling prisoners and other individuals and organizations to seek the protection and enforcement of prisoner's rights. PLN bookstore offers an inventory of books focusing in the field of corrections.
Pretrial Justice Institute
Provides information on its services (advocacy, training and technical assistance, improving research), offers resources on different aspects of the pretrial process and services (Archived Published Research, Bill Tracker, State Bail Laws, National Standards, Case Law).
more...less...
It informs about its Pretrial Services, Diversion Programs, and information on its efforts to improve research and analysis of pretrial programs.

Mission:
The Pretrial Justice Institute's mission is to advocate nationwide for fair and effective pretrial practices that eliminate inappropriate detention, optimize diversion from prosecution, and maintain community safety.
Women's Advocate Ministry
Information about the organization, women in prison project (factsheets), news, how to help, newsletter, resources, and contact information.
more...less...
Mission:
The mission of Women’s Advocate Ministry, Inc. (WAM) is to provide active outreach, crisis intervention, referral and supportive services to incarcerated women and their children.

Criminal Justice Information - Victims, Juveniles, Incarcerated & Accused: The Accused

About

Alternatives, Reentry, & Prisons

Literature for Inmates

Services for the Accused, Convicted, or Incarcerated

Legal Sources / Bibliographies