Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The following is a list of criminal justice and criminal law related blogs discussing current and emerging issues within the criminal justice system. You may subscribe to a blog via RSS feed.
Policy and Advocacy Organizations
CR - Critical Resistance
Critical Resistance seeks to build an international movement to end the Prison Industrial Complex by challenging the belief that caging and controlling people makes us safe.
Crime and Justice Institute
Bridges the gap between research and practice in public institutions and communities. Provides information and access to CJI's publications and projects (organized by topic), the Newsroom gathers recent press and news items, events, and articles concerning topics in the field of crime and justice.
The Justice Center
The Council of State Governments Justice Center is a national nonprofit organization that serves policymakers at the local, state, and federal levels from all branches of government. Staff provides practical, nonpartisan advice and evidence-based, consensus-driven strategies to increase public safety and strengthen communities.
Criminal Justice Policy Foundation
Information and advice to policy makers, criminal justice professionals, and the public through consultation, education programs, conferences, publications, the news media and the Internet. The foundation assists drug policy reform organizations with advice on legal organization, management, outreach, research, media relations, and coalition building.
JDI - Just Detention International
This organization focuses on ending sexual abuse behind bars. JDI works to: hold government officials accountable for prisoner rape; promote public attitudes that value the dignity and safety of people in detention; and ensure that survivors of this violence get the help they need.
Information about the services JFA Institute offers (forecasting and policy simulation models, risk assessment, program evaluations, and criminal justice population mapping), and provides access to reports and other publications.
Justice Policy Institute
Access to recent JPI press releases, recent articles featuring JPI work, and other. The research section provides access to JPI's research on crime and punishment, organized by publication date and topic, and factsheets, consisting of statistics in response to current criminal justice issues. Links to related organizations are available.
National Crime Prevention Council
The National Crime Prevention Council’s helps people keep themselves, their families, and their communities safe from crime.
National Criminal Justice Association
Provides policy statements on key issues in criminal and juvenile justice, highlights information on publications and projects that show promise in the field, and information on current legislation in Congress, NCJA communications with federal, public, and private agencies.
The NPMRP is a non-governmental, non-partisan independent project that will attempt to determine the extent of police misconduct in the United States, identify trends affecting police misconduct, and report on issues about police misconduct in order to enhance public awareness on issues regarding police misconduct in the U.S.
NCIA - National Center on Institutions and Alternatives
Access to publications, press releases, research studies, and reports of the services that NCIA offers (criminal justice, mental health, youth in transition school, career development center, youth and adult residential, jail suicide prevention, public policy & research), and contact information for any questions or information about the services.
Prison Policy Initiative
Provides publications (major reports, articles, and books, regarding mass incarceration), coverage of press releases and coverage of PPI in the news, and a number of resource lists (maps, graphs, legal resources for prisoners, research and reports about criminal justice issues, criminal justice factsheets) to help activists, journalists and policy makers. Contains information on internship opportunities.
Restorative Justice Online
Provides a database of citations and abstracts for articles, books, technical documents, and other publications related to restorative justice. Also, the Press Room (what is restorative justice, personal stories, audio/visual resources, stories from the media, stories and case studies of the restorative justice processes, kinds of crimes, restorative justice around the world, uses of restorative justice outside of criminal justice). Available in English, French, and Spanish.
The Sentencing Project
Founded in 1986 to provide defense lawyers with sentencing advocacy training and to reduce the reliance on incarceration. It is a current and up to date site with access to publications, current news, and advocacy materials on several areas of prison reform (sentencing policy, incarceration, racial disparity, drug policy, felony disenfranchisement, women in the justice system, and other collateral consequences of Incarceration).
The Urban Institute - Justice Policy Center
Conducts nonpartisan research and evaluation designed to improve justice and public safety policies and practices at the national, state, and local level.
VERA Institute of Justice
Information on all the centers and programs (safety initiative, immigration & justice, sentencing & corrections, youth justice, child welfare/health/justice, family justice, prosecution and racial, substance abuse and mental health, cost-benefit analysis unit), Vera's resource library including publications, podcasts, video and audio files.