Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Rights for Victims of Crimes by
Call Number: HV6250.25 .W35 2011
Publication Date: 2011-09-16
This short book makes its readers experts in advocating rights for victims of crime. It empowers taxpayers, voters and (potential) victims of crime to make the case to rebalance justice and support victims. Written for the millions of victims of crime and their friends and families, it helps to transform an antiquated system of criminal and civil justice into a modern system that is just and fair, shifting from neglect to respect and support. While some laws in the USA and elsewhere do support victims by providing assistance, compensation, and protection from the accused, this book also sheds a harsh light upon their inadequate implementation.
Assistance for Victims of Domestic Violence
City of Yonkers - Domestic Violence Information
Lists hotline and emergency contact information.
City of Yonkers Crime Prevention and Safety Tips
This site provides crime prevention tips as well as links to various victims assistance websites.
Hope's Door - Northern Westchester Shelter
Hope's Door, formerly the Northern Westchester Shelter, is a private non-profit organization that provides a safe haven and caring services to survivors of domestic violence.
My Sister's Place
MSP is a leader and resource in the field of domestic violence and human trafficking advocacy, shelter and legal services, and education and prevention.
National Clearinghouse for the Defense of Battered Women
The National Clearinghouse works with battered women who have been arrested and are facing trial, as well as those who are serving prison sentences.
National Domestic Violence Hotline
The National Domestic Violence Hotline was established in 1996 as a component of the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) passed by Congress.
NYS Coalition Against Domestic Violence
Provides a list of NYSCADV's member NYS licensed and approved domestic violence programs organized by county. Users can click on the county of interest to link to the contact information for corresponding program.
NYC Administration for Children's Services
Lists its mission, organization, news, events, current initiatives, history (past policies and plans), government affairs, and language access plan.
NYC Mayor's Office to Combat Domestic Violence
Provides information about the organization, its mission and initiatives including family justice center, criminal justice, healthcare, emergency shelter & housing, community response, youth & child safety, elder abuse, and workplace violence.
NYC Victims Services
Contact Information for each borough.
NYS Office for Prevention of Domestic Violence
Informs about the office, the agency, and special projects the agency is involved in, news and funding opportunities, public awareness, laws, statistics, and publications that users may order or download.
NYS Office of Victims Services
This state agency has been providing compensation and other services to innocent victims of crime.
NYSCASA: Coalition Against Sexual Assault
Formed in 1987 by rape crisis advocates as a mutual support group. Today it includes technical assistance, resource development and policy advocacy for the more than 100 rape crisis programs, sister agencies and collaborators statewide that work with survivors of sexual violence and their families.
Office on Violence Against Women
Provides information about the office, its organization, contact information, and employment & internship opportunities.
VINE Link 2.0
VINELink is the online version of VINE (Victim Information and Notification Everyday), the National Victim Notification Network.
This site allows New Yorkers receive information relating to the crime, sentence and release date of persons serving sentences in state prison.
Westchester County Victims Assistance Services
It is a component program of Westchester Community Opportunity Program, providing free, comprehensive and compassionate services to crime victims and their families, friends and loved ones.
New York City Anti Violence Project - AVP
AVP empowers lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, and HIV-affected communities and allies to end all forms of violence through organizing and education, and supports survivors through counseling and advocacy.
General, Mental & Sexual Abuse Assistance
Better Business Bureau
BBB Serving Metropolitan New York helps people find and recommend businesses and charities they can trust.
As part of an integrated campaign to increase awareness about victims’ rights, educate the public about the impact of crime, and promote crime victim resources, the Office for Victims of Crime (OVC) launched crimevictims.gov in 2005....
Internet Crime Complaint Center
This center was established to provide the public with a reliable and convenient reporting mechanism to submit information to the Federal Bureau of Investigation...
National Calendar of Crime Victim Assistance-Related Events
This calendar provides a way to find conferences, meetings, trainings, ceremonies, and other events of interest to the victim service community.
National Center for Victims of Crime
This is a nonprofit organization that advocates for victims' rights, trains professionals who work with victims, and serves as a trusted source of information on victims' issues.
Fraud Information Center
Includes sections on Internet fraud, telemarketing fraud, scams against business, scams against elderly, counterfeit drugs, and fraud news.
National Organization for Victim Assistance
This is a victim assistance organization that provides information pertaining to victims of crime and victims of crises, and how to help.
Manhattan District Attorney's - Victims Resources
Includes a full range of services to crime survivors and their families. Victims will learn how to report crimes and access the available services.
New York City Alliance Against Sexual Assault
New York City Alliance Against Sexual Assault was created to prevent sexual violence and reduce the harm it causes through education, research and advocacy.
New York State Coalition Against Sexual Assault website contains information and resources for individuals, organizations and communities hoping to better understand, prevent, and respond to sexual violence.
Sexual Violence Prevention Program
Sexual Violence Prevention Program
The Sexual Violence Prevention Program's (SVPP) mission is to improve societal response to sexual violence and promote primary prevention strategies that reduce the incidence of victimization from rape or sexual assault in New York State. SVPP approaches sexual violence from a public health perspective, with emphasis on primary prevention, including efforts to change social norms, behaviors, and practices, to cultivate a community climate free from violence.