Government - Criminal Justice Information - Victims, Juveniles, Incarcerated & Accused - Research Guides at Elisabeth Haub School of Law, Pace University

New York State Court & Criminal Justice Agencies

New York State Unified Court System
Includes court calendars, rules, forms, links to bar associations, and directory of New York State attorneys. eCourts offers case tracking and electronic filing.

Directory of New York State Criminal Justice Agencies
Provides NYS Criminal Justice Agency Directory Sorted by Name; Agency Directory grouped and sorted by Agency Type; Agency Directory in Printable (PDF) Format
Agency Directory sorted by County
more...less...
Various sections list the criminal justice agencies within New York State (e.g. Law Enforcement, Law Enforcement Support, Youth Agencies, Prosecution and Defense, Courts, Probation, Juvenile Rehabilitation Facilities, Corrections, Parole, State Criminal Justice Agencies, New York City: State and City Agencies, Federal Criminal Justice Agencies and Professional Associations).
New York State Police
Information about crime prevention, criminal investigation, firearms, etc...
more...less...
Information about the academy, counter terrorism, crime prevention (business, general, Halloween, school safety, conflict resolution, drugs, juvenile crime, preparedness, violence), criminal investigation, firearms, forensic science, NYS criminal justice links, public information office (media releases dating back to 2000 are available and crime prevention guidelines), publications, safe NYS/crime watch listing contact information to report a crime or call for help, schools and communities, specialized services, ticket inquiries, traffic safety, traffic management, and wanted & missing.
NYS Criminal Justice Services
A multi-function criminal justice support agency with a variety of responsibilities; collection and analysis of statewide crime data...
more...less...
It lists community resources (missing child alerts, crime victims assistance, human trafficking, internet/video game safety, juvenile justice reform, NYS most wanted, offender reentry, sex offender management, etc.), law enforcement (crime reporting, grants, fingerprint services, technology, etc.), newsroom (CJS forum, events, open meetings/webcasts, press releases), and reference (charge code manual, criminal history records, criminal justice directory, forms, legal resources, publications, etc.).
NYS Criminal Justice Services - Operation Safe Child
This program was created to to promote child safety by providing parents and guardians with the tools to protect their children.

New York City Criminal Justice Agency, Inc
A city agency created to assist the courts and the City in reducing unnecessary pretrial detention.
more...less...
Includes links to the following related agencies:
PRETRIAL SERVICES LINKS
Pretrial Justice Institute (PJI)
National Association of Pretrial Services Agencies (NAPSA)
New York Association of Pretrial Services Agencies (NYAPSA)

CRIMINAL JUSTICE RESEARCH LINKS
American Society of Criminology
Bureau Of Justice Statistics
Center for Court Innovation
Center on Juvenile and Criminal Justice
Data Analytics Recidivism Tool (DART)
Institute for Law and Justice
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
National Center for State Courts
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
National Institute of Justice
New York City Police Department
New York State Division of Criminal Justice Services
New York State Coalition Against Domestic Violence
New York State Unified Court System
Office of Court Administration
Office of Justice Programs
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
State Justice Institute
United States Department of Justice
Urban Institute's Justice Policy Center
Vera Institute of Justice

NYS Corrections, Probation & Parole

NYS - Corrections & Parole
Westchester County - Correction & Probation

The New York State Department of Corrections and Community Supervision
This agency is responsible for the confinement and rehabilitation of approximately 53,000 individuals under custody held at 54 state facilities and 36,000 parolees supervised throughout seven regional offices.
Correctional Association of New York
This is an independent not-profit organization that advocates for a more humane and effective criminal justice system
Sex Offenders Missing Persons Community Resources Law Enforcement Newsroom Reference Statistics Probation and Correctional Alternatives About Probation Probation Updates Probation Vision Probation Commission Funding/Assistance Rules and Regulations Stand
OPCA is committed to improving practices that promote public safety, ensure offender accountability, provide restitution to victims and reduce recidivism.

Westchester County Department of Correction
The Westchester County Department of Correction (WCDOC) serves the public by providing an efficient, secure and humane means of detaining individuals with criminal matters pending in Westchester County.
Westchester County Department of Probation
This site contains information of the varying services of Probation in Westchester County

Federal - Criminal Justice Information & Law Enforcement Agencies

Criminal Justice Information
Law Enforcement Agencies

Attorney General Guidelines for Victim and Witness Assistance 2011 Edition (Revised May 2012)
These guidelines are for use by officers and employees of the U.S. Department of Justice investigative, prosecutorial, correctional, and parole components in the treatment of victims of and witnesses to crime.
more...less...
The Guidelines are being rolled out to the Department in a series of mandatory trainings for all those whose work affects victims and witnesses, including criminal prosecutors, law enforcement agents, and victim assistance personnel.
The Bureau of Justice Statistics
Collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime...
U.S. Department of Justice: Federal Criminal Law (Indian Affairs)
Information about the FBI, U.S. Attorney's Office, Tribal Justice Agencies, and Bureau of Indian Affairs.
U.S. Sentencing Commission
Current information regarding sentencing guidelines. Users may sign up for email updates from the USSC listserv.
more...less...
Information about the commission, contacting the commission, guidelines, newsletter, rules of practice & procedure, publications (guidelines manuals & amendments, publications & resource guide, federal sentencing statistics, reports to congress, annual reports & statistical sourcebooks, research projects & working group reports, guideline application frequencies), education and training (office of education & sentencing practice, guidelines educational materials, annual national seminar materials, guidelines training videotapes, guidelines worksheets, court decisions, training opportunities / announcements), organizational guidelines, and booker Fanfan issues.
The Federal Sentencing Manual Guidelines
This is the 2016 federal sentencing guidelines manual... page includes access to an app for the current guidelines

ATF: Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives
Information about the agency, with links to related forms, publications, laws, regulations, and rulings.
more...less...
ATF's Mission:
A unique law enforcement agency in the United States Department of Justice that protects our communities from violent criminals, criminal organizations, the illegal use and trafficking of firearms, the illegal use and storage of explosives, acts of arson and bombings, acts of terrorism, and the illegal diversion of alcohol and tobacco products. We partner with communities, industries, law enforcement, and public safety agencies to safeguard the public we serve through information sharing, training, research, and use of technology.
DEA: Drug Enforcement Administration
Information about the agency (its history, organization, programs, operations, and offices), etc. l
more...less...
The site links to its legislative resources page listing congressional testimony, drug factsheets, DEA programs, DEA office locations, DEA staffing and budget, DEA diversion, Freedom of Information Act, Control Substances Act, Anti-legalization information, and DEA training).
Federal Bureau of Investigation
Information about the agency, including its current services,
more...less...
The FBI's mission is to help protect you, your communities, and your businesses from the most dangerous threats facing our nation—from international and domestic terrorists to spies on U.S. soil…from cyber villains to corrupt government officials…from mobsters to violent gangs…from child predators to serial killers. Learn more here about our work with law enforcement and intelligence partners across the country and around the globe.
U.S. Department of State
An agency created to shape and sustain a peaceful, prosperous, just, and democratic world and foster conditions for stability and progress for the benefit of the American people
Immigration Law: Federal Agencies
A list of federal agencies related to immigration law.
more...less...
Department of Justice, Department of State, Department of Homeland Security, US Citizen and Immigration Services, Department of Labor, Department of Commerce, U.S. Immigration & Custom Enforcement, Census Bureau, Social Security Administration, Department of Health & Human Services.

Local Criminal Justice Information

City of Yonkers - Crime Prevention Safety Tips
Collection of links and information.
more...less...
Robbery Prevention Tips, Operation Speak Up, Holiday Safety Tips, Use Your Car Keys as an Alarm
Larcenies of electronic Global Positioning Systems.

Topics also include: ATM Safety & Security Tips, Auto Theft, Child Safety on the Internet, Fraud Prevention Tips, Tips for Children, Tips for Senior Citizens, Telemarking Scams, Secure Your Home, Crime Prevention at Work, Babysitter's Guide To Being Safe, Tips against Carjacking, Tips against Identity Theft, Unwanted Marketing & Solicitations, and more.
City of Yonkers - Domestic Violence Information
Lists hotline and emergency contact information.
Westchester County Criminal Justice Website
This website links to the Westchester County Department of Corrections, Public Safety, & Probation.
more...less...
It lists links to the Westchester County local police departments (in alphabetical order), New York State Agencies (police, homeland security, corrections, wanted fugitives, Amber Alert system, victim information and notification everyday, etc.), United States government (homeland security, Department of Justice, FBI, Drug Enforcement Administration, United States Secret Services, etc.), the Victims Assistance Services (My Sister's Place, Northern Westchester Shelter, NYC Administration for Children's Services, NYC Office to Combat Domestic Violence, NYS Office for the Prevention of Domestic Violence, NYS Crime Victims Board, NYS Better Business Bureau Regarding Identity Theft, United States Department of Justice - Violence Against Women Office, National Domestic Violence Hotline, Simon Wiesenthal Center, and National Center for Victims of Crimes), and other websites (Protecting Youth - Cyberbullying, gang prevention, and Drug & Alcohol Use Prevention).
Westchester County Department of Public Safety - TIPS Phoneline
Public Safety maintains tip lines...
more...less...
Calls, e-mails and text messages to these tip lines are confidential. Tipsters can remain anonymous if they chose. The website links to Civil Unit (facts, Sheriff's sales, sheriff's notices of sale), pistol licensing unit, taxi and limousine commission (applications, rules & regulations, file a complaint, and contact information), tip lines, operation safe child, employment, preventing crime (protecting yourself, your home & family, fighting crime, gang prevention, rape and sexual assault, domestic violence, identity theft, and child abuse), Homeland Security, Environmental Security, Law Enforcement Explorer Post, County Road Conditions, and Shared Services & Programs.

Criminal Justice Information - Victims, Juveniles, Incarcerated & Accused: Government

New York State Court & Criminal Justice Agencies

NYS Corrections, Probation & Parole

Federal - Criminal Justice Information & Law Enforcement Agencies

Local Criminal Justice Information