Research Guides: Federal Administrative Decisions and Resources: Interior

Mission Statement

The Department of the Interior protects and manages the Nation's natural resources and cultural heritage; provides scientific and other information about those resources; and honors its trust responsibilities or special commitments to American Indians, Alaska Natives, and affiliated island communities.

Department of the Interior

DOI Resources

Electronic Library of Interior Policies
Library of official policies, procedures, programs, and functions of the bureaus and offices of DOI.
Office of Hearing and Appeals
Decisions and other reference materials are grouped into databases, e.g., "A" and "M" Decisions (1920-1970), IBIA Decisions (1970-Present), and IBLA Decisions (1970-Present). Each search page has a list showing the different databases available.
Solicitor's Opinions
Decisions of the Department of the Interior

DOI Bureaus and Offices

Bureau of Indian Affairs
The Bureau of Indian Affairs (BIA) mission is to: "… enhance the quality of life, to promote economic opportunity, and to carry out the responsibility to protect and improve the trust assets of American Indians, Indian tribes, and Alaska Natives."
Indian Affairs Directives System
The Indian Affairs Directives System contains the policies and procedures to document the functions under the authority of the Assistant Secretary-Indian Affairs (AS-IA). The Directives System provides the structure for developing and publishing clear, concise, and consistent Indian Affairs program and administrative policy.
There are six components of the Directives System, with links to the respective documents: Indian Affairs Manual (IAM); Regional Directives; Handbooks; Assistant Secretary's Orders; National Policy Memoranda; Regional Policy Memoranda;
Online Forms.
Regional Offices

Bureau of Indian Education
BIE’s mission is to provide quality education opportunities from early childhood through life in accordance with a tribe’s needs for cultural and economic well-being, in keeping with the wide diversity of Indian tribes and Alaska Native villages as distinct cultural and governmental entities.
Family and Child Education (FACE) Reports
Performance reports, school report cards, and special education reports.

Bureau of Land Management
Mission is "to sustain the health, diversity, and productivity of the public lands for the use and enjoyment of present and future generations."
Laws & Regulations
Includes the text of the Federal Land Policy and Management Act, manuals, handbooks, instruction memoranda, Congressional testimony, regulations, proposed rules, and more.

Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
The Mission of the Bureau of Ocean Energy Management is to manage development of U.S. Outer Continental Shelf energy and mineral resources in an environmentally and economically responsible way.
Regulations and Guidance
BOEM offshore leasing and operations are governed by a wide variety of laws, regulations, and other communications with the offshore industry. The Bureau enforces compliance with these regulations and periodically updates rules to reflect advancements in technology and new information. This section provides access to BOEM rules, regulations, and guidance to the offshore industry.

Bureau of Reclamation
The mission of the Bureau of Reclamation is to manage, develop, and protect water and related resources in an environmentally and economically sound manner in the interest of the American public.
Environmental Resources and Reports
Links to various resources to obtain environmental related information, such as the Reclamation NEPA Handbook, Endangered Species Act, National Environmental Policy Act, and other related laws. The page also contains links to the Reclamation Regional Environmental Resources sites, where you can find information regarding their specific Environmental Assessments and Environmental Impact Statements.
Reclamation Manual
The Reclamation Manual consists of a series of Policy and Directives and Standards

Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement
The Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement (BSEE) works to promote safety, protect the environment, and conserve resources offshore through vigorous regulatory oversight and enforcement.
Guidance & Regulations
Provides access to BSEE rules, regulations, and guidance to offshore industry

National Park Service
The National Park Service preserves unimpaired the natural and cultural resources and values of the National Park System for the enjoyment, education, and inspiration of this and future generations. The Park Service cooperates with partners to extend the benefits of natural and cultural resource conservation and outdoor recreation throughout this country and the world.
National Park Service Legislative Resources

Office of Surface Mining and Enforcement
"Our mission is to carry out the requirements of the Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act (SMCRA) in cooperation with States and Tribes. Our primary objectives are to ensure that coal mines are operated in a manner that protects citizens and the environment during mining and assures that the land is restored to beneficial use following mining, and to mitigate the effects of past mining by aggressively pursuing reclamation of abandoned coal mines."
Laws, Regulations, and Guidance
Links to laws, regulations, executive orders, and memoranda of understanding.

U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service
"Our Mission is to work with others to conserve, protect and enhance fish, wildlife and plants and their habitats for the continuing benefit of the American people."
Policy & Management Guidance
Endangered Species
Search for endangered species by state, species, and county.

U.S. Geological Survey
"We provide science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change. Our scientists develop new methods and tools to supply timely, relevant, and useful information about the Earth and its processes."
Congressional Briefing Series
Began in 1999, in order to increase Congressional awareness of the role and relevance of our science in the public policy debate and to ensure that science is at the table when Congress is making decisions.
Data & Tools