Research Guides: Federal Administrative Decisions and Resources: Transportation

Mission Statement

The mission of the Department is to:

Serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people, today and into the future.

U.S. Dept of Transportation

Office of the General Counsel

OGC Official Website
Includes summary of the DOT's current and proposed rulemaking, and a list of DOT rules under review.

Resources

Docket Management System
Image-based database in which all DOT docketed information is stored. Includes information about proposed and final rules, along with public comments, from 1995 to the present.

Departments

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA)
Mission is to serve the United States by ensuring a fast, safe, efficient, accessible and convenient transportation system that meets our vital national interests and enhances the quality of life of the American people, today and into the future.
Aviation Notices and Orders
Aviation orders, IATA agreements, and notices from 1995 to the present.
FAA Advisory Circulars
This database is a searchable repository of all aviation safety Advisory Circulars (ACs). You can look at the most current ACs by their AC Number, or Regulatory Part Number (CFR, CAR...). It is also possible to view historical AC information to see old or cancelled ACs. For each AC, you can view a pdf copy.
FAA Enforcement Reports
Quarterly compilation of enforcement actions against regulated aviation entities that are closed with either a civil penalty or issuance of a certificate suspension or revocation. The compilation is based on data from the agency's Enforcement Information System (EIS).
FAA Regulations and Policies
Contains current and historical regulations, forms, advisory circulars, and orders and notices.

Federal Highway Administration
Supports state and local governments in the design, construction, and maintenance of the Nation’s highway system (Federal Aid Highway Program) and various federally and tribal owned lands (Federal Lands Highway Program). Through financial and technical assistance to State and local governments, the Federal Highway Administration is responsible for ensuring that America’s roads and highways continue to be among the safest and most technologically sound in the world.
FHWA Directives
Includes FHWA orders and notices.
Legislation, Regulations, and Guidance
Policy & Guidance Center
Central location of laws, policies, and guidance about the Federal-aid Highway Program (FAHP), including legal documents, links to relevant legislation, memos, directives, and guidance to support the Federal Highway Administration's mission and goals.

Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
Mission is to prevent commercial motor vehicle-related fatalities and injuries.
FMCSA Regulations
Regulations, notices, and adjudication decisions.
FMCSA Adjudication Decisions

Federal Railroad Administration
Mission is to enable the safe, reliable, and efficient movement of people and goods for a strong America, now and in the future.
eLibrary
Contains all the documents that are found throughout the FRA Public Website, and includes policy and guidance, forms, notices, reports, and other documents.
Legislation & Regulations

Federal Transit Administration
Provides financial and technical assistance to local public transit systems, including buses, subways, light rail, commuter rail, trolleys and ferries. FTA also oversees safety measures and helps develop next-generation technology research.
FTA Legislation, Regulations & Guidance
Regulations, FTA agreements, grants.
National Transit Database
A collection of transit and transportation related information.

Maritime Administration
Programs promote the use of waterborne transportation and its seamless integration with other segments of the transportation system, and the viability of the U.S. merchant marine.
Maritime Data & Reports
Policy papers, fact sheets, annual report, and reports from the Merchant Marine Academy.

NHTSA
Mission is to save lives, prevent injuries, and reduce economic costs due to road traffic crashes, through education, research, safety standards, and enforcement.
Laws & Regulations
Laws administered by the NHTSA, state alcohol highway safety-related legislation, significant guidance documents, regulations, and letters from chief counsel.
Research & Data
Interpretation Letters
Letters from 1988 (some earlier).

Office of the Inspector General
OIG conducts audits and investigations on behalf of the American public to improve the performance and integrity of DOT’s programs to ensure a safe, efficient, and effective national transportation system.
Investigations
Top priorities involve crimes with a public safety impact, procurement and grant fraud schemes that significantly impact DOT funds, consumer and workforce fraud, and employee integrity violations

Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration
PHMSA's mission is to protect people and the environment by advancing the safe transportation of energy and other hazardous materials that are essential to our daily lives.
Regulations & Compliance
Approvals and Permits; Enforcement; Inspections and Investigations; Interpretations; Hazardous Materials Registration; Legislative Mandates; Notices and Advisory Bulletins; NTSB Recommendations; Pipeline Drug and Alcohol; Regulations; Standards and Rulemaking