Skip to Main Content

Federal Administrative Decisions and Resources: Federal Labor Relations Authority

Guide to federal administrative agencies, including links to decisions and regulations on agency websites, along with the mission statement of each agency.

Mission Statement

The Federal Labor Relations Authority (FLRA) exercises leadership under the Statute to promote stable, constructive labor relations that contribute to a more effective and efficient Government.  The FLRA mission is to carry out five (5) primary statutory responsibilities as efficiently as possible and in a manner that gives full effect to the rights afforded employees and agencies under the Statute. The five primary statutory responsibilities are:

  1. Resolving complaints of unfair labor practices (ULP)  
  2. Labor organization representation (REP)
  3. Arbitration (ARB) 
  4. Negotiability disputes (NEG)
  5. Resolving impasses during negotiations (Impasse)

In order to perform the many and varied functions in administering and enforcing the Statute, the FLRA is organized into three distinct components: the Authority, the Office of the General Counsel, and the Federal Service Impasses Panel. All components support and engage in collaborative and alternative dispute resolution (ADR) activities as an integral part of their program.

FLRA Resource Links