Research Guides: International Criminal Law: Online Resources

Organizations

ABA Section of International Law
ASIL
American Society of International Law
Coalition for the International Criminal Court
The Coalition for the International Criminal Court (CICC) includes 2,500 civil society organizations in 150 different countries working in partnership to strengthen international cooperation with the ICC.
International Association of Prosecutors
International Bar Association
International Commission of Jurists
International Committee of the Red Cross
Available in seven languages: Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish. The ICRC, established in 1863, works worldwide to provide humanitarian help for people affected by conflict and armed violence and to promote the laws that protect victims of war.
International Criminal Court Student Network
International network that brings together students interested in the ICC, the philosophy and history of international criminal justice, and the connection of international criminal justice to general international law.
International Criminal Law Society
International Criminal Police Organization (ICPO-Interpol)
INTERPOL is the world’s largest international police organization, with 190 member countries. Our role is to enable police around the world to work together to make the world a safer place. Our high-tech infrastructure of technical and operational support helps meet the growing challenges of fighting crime in the 21st century.
Investigative Project on Terrorism
Non-profit research group founded by Steven Emerson in 1995. Research Center provides access to reports, court cases, court documents, testimonies, and information in multimedia formats.
Max Planck Institute for Foreign and International Criminal Law
Transparency International
A global non-governmental group devoted to combating corruption, provides information on corruption world-wide.
TrialWatch
Clooney Foundation for Justice initiative focused on monitoring and responding to trials around the world that pose a high risk of human rights violations.
UN Commission on Crime Prevention and Criminal Justice
Central body within the United Nations system dealing with crime prevention and criminal justice policy, including trafficking in persons, transnational crime and aspects of terrorism prevention.
UN Commission on Narcotic Drugs
Central policymaking body within the United Nations system dealing with drug-related matters.
UN International Law Commission
UN Interregional Crime and Justice Research Institute (UNICRI)
UNICRI is a United Nations entity established in 1967 to support countries worldwide in preventing crime and facilitating criminal justice.
UN Office on Drugs and Crime
UNODC is a global leader in the fight against illicit drugs and international crime. Established in 1997 through a merger between the United Nations Drug Control Programme and the Centre for International Crime Prevention, UNODC operates in all regions of the world through an extensive network of field offices.
World Legal Forum Foundation
The World Legal Forum foundation aims at enhancing the effectiveness of international law by organising interaction between stakeholders and by stimulating the development and application in The Hague of new products and instruments in the international legal arena.

Additional Online Sources of International Criminal Law

Audiovisual Library of International Law
By the United Nations.

Flare Index to Treaties This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of basic information on over 1,500 of the most significant multilateral treaties from 1856 to the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained.

Gender Jurisprudence Collection
The Gender Jurisprudence and Int'l Criminal Law Project is a collaborative project between the War Crimes Research Office (WCRO) and the Women and Int'l Law Program (WILP) at the American University Washington College of Law.
more...less...
The collection contains judgments, decisions, orders, and other documents issued by international(ized) criminal courts and tribunals that have been coded and made readily searchable for issues relating to sexual and gender-based violence. Users may browse or search the collection.
Handbook on Establishing an International War Crimes Tribunal
The Public Int'l Law & Policy Research Group (PILPG) (2010).
Human Rights Library
Treaties, UN documents, regional material, U.S. documents, and links to other human rights resources. Project of the University of Minnesota.

International Crime Database This link opens in a new window
Resources on international crimes adjudicated in national and international courts. It includes speeches from the Ministry of Security and Justice, the International Centre for Counter-Terrorism (ICCT) - The Hague, ICD team members, the ICD steering committee, of course a presentation of the website itself, a keynote speech on international crimes by Judge Fausto Pocar (ICTY) and a reception for all those attending.

International Criminal Tribunals: Visual Overview
By Daniel McLaughlin and presented by the Leitner Center for International Law and Justice.
Legal Tools Database at ICC website
Accept the terms of use to access the database, which may be searched or browsed.
more...less...
Includes the following:
ICC Documents
ICC Preparatory Works and Rome Statute Amendments
Int'l Legal Instruments
International(ised) Criminal Jurisdictions
International(ised) Criminal Judgments
National Jurisdictions
National Implementing Legislation
National Cases Involving Core International Crimes
Publications
Human Rights Decisions
Other Int'l Legal Decisions
Treaties in Force
Department of State web site listing treaties and other international agreements of the U.S. in force.
Universal Human Rights Index
Provides access to human rights information from the United Nations system. You can access the information by country, by rights and by body.
more...less...
The index is based on the observations and recommendations of:
- The seven Treaty Bodies monitoring the implementation of the core international human rights treaties (since 2000)
- The Special Procedures of the Human Rights Council (since 2006)
War Crimes and Crimes Against Humanity, Genocide, and Terrorism
At the Human Rights Library by the University of Minnesota.
Handbooks and Toolkits
Public International Law & Policy Group - a global pro bono law firm.