Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Preemption checking requires searching beyond the world of Westlaw and Lexis because neither has exhaustive coverage - some full-text coverage goes back to only the 1990s. Look at the resources for preemption checking--it includes other databases you should consult before spending time researching and writing your case note or comment.
If you find a paper on your topic that appears to preempt you, it may just be a matter of revising your thesis to avoid preemption.
Academic Legal Writing by
Call Number: KF250.V65 2016
Publication Date: 2016-02-19
Finding what to write about (the claim); Test suites: making prescriptive claims more sound; Writing strategy; Writing the introduction; Writing the "background" section; Writing the proof of the claim; The conclusion and after the conclusion; Finishing the first draft, and the zeroth draft; Tips on researching; Editing: general principles; Editing: getting help from your faculty advisor; Writing: logical problems to watch for; Writing: paragraph-level problems to watch for; Writing: sentence/clause problems to watch for; Writing: word/phrase problems to watch for; Writing: rhetorical problems to watch for; Editing exercises; Using evidence correctly; Writing and researching: timeline and summary; A sample highly successful student article; Turning practical work into articles; Writing seminar term papers; Cite-checking others' articles; Publishing and publicizing; Entering writing competitions; Getting on law review; Academic ethics; Conclusion
Scholarly Writing (3d ed.) by
Call Number: KF250 .C528 2019
Publication Date: 2019-01-01
Introduction to scholarly writing; Thinking: finding your topic and developing your thesis; Preparing: developing horizontal and vertical knowledge; Executing: writing the draft; Refining: evaluating and revising your draft; Refining: taking and incorporating feedback; Finishing: polishing the final product; Finishing: publishing your paper
Scholarly Writing for Law Students by
Call Number: KF250.F35 2017
Publication Date: 2017-03-24
Introduction: scholarly writing in law school; Exploration: choosing and narrowing a topic; Inspiration: finding and developing a thesis; The mostly research stage; The writing process: getting it down on paper; The writing process: revising and polishing; Footnotes and the ethical use of borrowed materials; Writing with care; Writing with style; The law review process: evaluating and editing the work of others; Getting mileage: winning awards, publishing your work, and joining the conversation; Appendix A. Sample casenote/competition paper; Appendix B. Answers to exercises; Appendix C. Scholarly writing workshops and courses; Appendix D. Seminar paper rubric
Search the Library catalog and many interdisciplinary databases including HeinOnline.
Google Scholar Legal Opinions & Law Reviews
Advanced search option allows you to limit by author, title, jurisdiction, and court. How cited tab pulls up articles and opinions that have cited your opinion or law review article. Use "all versions" link to find free versions of articles.
Law Review Commons This link opens in a new window
This site provides open-access to over 300 law reviews published by over 200 institutions. It is searchable and browsable by area of law, author, and institution. Free.