Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Health Law Research Guide is for general research purposes only. It is intended to assist law students and other health law and medical professionals. Information herein is not intended, nor implied, to constitute legal or medical advice. Users should always seek advice from a licensed attorney in regard to legal questions, and consult a qualified health service provider for questions of a medical nature. There is no warranty as to the accuracy of the information herein, and no liability is assumed for any action taken in reliance upon information in this guide, or in any online site linked in any way.
- Find background information on your topic. Subject headings on the suggested topics page link to the Pace Library Catalog.
- Stay current on health law issues. For example, sign up for health alerts in Lexis and Westlaw, or follow some of the health-related blogs. Be sure to evaluate any of the information you find via Google.
- Find statutes, regulations, and legislation using the US Law or NY Law pages in this guide. Create a legislative history on the topic and find relevant statutes for major laws such as the Affordable Health Care Act.
- Find agency information. Both federal and state agencies have a wealth of information on topics including guidance documents, reports, and health promotional materials. Use the tab "Agencies and Organizations" to find these agencies.
- Use the secondary sources linked to throughout this guide to find more information about your topic.
Use Find in a Library link to find a book.
Pace Library Catalog
Search by author, title, author/title, journal title, keywords, subject, or call number. Sometimes you may have an incorrect title or author's name, so be creative in your searches. If the item is available in one of the other Pace libraries, use the REQUEST link and log in with your name and your Library bar code. Bar codes are available at the Circulation Desk in the Law Library.
Law Journal Library
Contains more than 2,200 law and law-related periodicals. Coverage is from the first issue published for all periodicals and goes through the most-currently published issues allowed based on contracts with publishers. Search by article title, author, subject, state or country published, full text, and narrow by date. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
This site, hosted by bepress, provides open-access legal scholarship from over 200 institutions. It is searchable and browsable by area of law, author, and institution. Free.
Social Science Research Network (SSRN)
SSRN includes working and published papers in the social sciences, and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences, including the Legal Scholarship Network. It is free, but requires registration. It includes PDF papers with abstracts, and the abstract, title and author are all searchable.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) at Pace
Create an account, log in, and request a book or article (photocopy). Provide all information, and be certain you have checked all resources available to you at Pace first.
Have a question? Feel free to ask a Reference librarian for assistance with your research.
This guide is currently maintained by Rebecca Pressman and Cynthia Pittson.