Research Guides: Feminist Legal Theory Research: Internet Resources

Evaluating Websites

Factors to look for in evaluating websites include

Authority
- Who is the author? Do they have a hidden agenda?
Objectivity
- Does the website purport to be objective? Advocacy group websites can be a valuable source of information, but you should question the information if they hide who they really are.
Timeliness
- What is the date of publication? When was it last updated?
Documentation
- Do they cite reliable sources?
Privacy
- If you have to sign up for a free account, what do they do with your information?

UC Berkeley Techniques for Evaluating Web Pages
University of California Berkeley library presents techniques to use and questions to ask when evaluating web pages.
Finding and Evaluating Online Resources
NIH guide to evaluating health and medical websites.
Getting It Right: Shortcuts for Busy Practitioners To Evaluate Web Content
Article from LLRX.com
Access to Legal Information
Guidelines are intended to help members of the general public assess law-related websites. They identify some of the issues to consider when deciding whether a website provides trustworthy and up-to-date information, suitable for a particular law-related information need.
Evaluating Information--Applying the CRAAP Test
The CRAAP Test is a list of questions to help you evaluate the information you find. Different criteria will be more or less important depending on your situation or need. From Meriam Library at California State Library at Chico.

Checklist from National Library of Medicine Tutorial
Use this checklist from the National Library of Medicine to evaluate any website. It includes a link to a tutorial on evaluating websites.

Research Guides

Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies
From the Cornell University Library.
Gender and the Law Research Guide
Georgetown Law Library

Feminist Law Profs

Websites

American Women
Gateway to Library of Congress resources for the study of women's history and culture in the U.S.
Anna Julia Cooper Center
The AJC Center supports, generates, and communicates innovative research at the intersections of gender, race, and place, sustaining relationships between partners on campus and throughout the nation in order to ask new questions, reframe critical issues, and pursue equitable outcomes.
Center for Reproductive Rights
A legal and policy advocacy organization dedicated to promoting women's reproductive rights.
Coalition Against Trafficking in Women
Resource library includes links to articles, legislation, reports and resolutions.
Discovering American Women's History Online
Digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States.
EISIL - Women's Human Rights
American Society for International Law website includes links to primary documents, other websites, and research resources, including bibliographies.
Equal Rights Amendment
Includes historical information and legislative updates.
Feminism and Legal Theory Project
Emory School of Law; includes a catalog of archived items from various conferences and workshops; newsletter; started by Martha Albertson Fineman in 1984 at the University of Wisconsin, now at Emory; sponsors workshops.
Feminist.com
Portal of resources and information that supports women's equality, justice, wellness and safety; index of research resources.
Feminist Jurisprudence
Part of Cornell's Wex project, a collaborative legal encyclopedia. Provides overview, with links to primary sources and some law review articles.
Feminist Majority Foundation
Up-to-date news and commentary and resources on politics, student activism, research, and much more; includes many related links.
Feminist Periodicals
Reprints tables of contents from feminist journals on a quarterly basis.
Free the Tampons
Advocacy group. Believes that every bathroom outside the home should provide freely accessible items that women need for their periods. Advocates with business owners and in the public policy arena to overcome barriers, such as the concern that products would be excessively costly due to theft. The organization is dedicated to providing education and resources that empower advocates to create change for women nationwide.
International Center for Research on Women
Network of leading research, advocacy, and policy centers. Includes policy papers and research on issues that affect women.
National Center for Victims of Crimes
Provides help for crime victims, victim law, conferences and trainings, stalking resource center, parallel justice, youth initiative, DNA resource center, resilience project, dating violence resource center, provider support, victim assistance, civil litigation assistance, public policy, resource library and press center.

more... less...

Is the nation's leading resource and advocacy organization for crime victims and those who serve them. Since its inception in 1985, the National Center has worked with grassroots organizations and criminal justice agencies throughout the United States serving millions of crime victims.
National Organization for Women (NOW)
Includes information on priority issues, hot topics, and campaigns and events.
Research Centre for Law, Gender, and Sexuality
From Kent Law School, Canterbury, UK; focuses on research in the area of gender, sexuality and law.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy - Feminist Philosophy of Law
Developed and maintained by the Center for the Study of Language and Information (CSIL) at Stanford University, and written by experts in the field, this article provides a brief overview of the fundamental themes of feminist legal theory as well as the evolution of views over time.
UN Women
Includes annual reports on gender equality and the progress of women.
Women's Legal History
Stanford University project, documents the live of women lawyers biography, a study of the lives of the individual women lawyers and the movements and philosophies that inspired and sustained them.
Women's Studies Librarian's Office - University of Wisconsin
Resources on women and gender.
Women, Business, and the Law
A collection of national legal provisions impacting women's economic status in 183 economies from the World Bank. The database facilitates comparative analysis of legislation, serves as a resource for research, and contributes to reforms that can enhance women’s full economic participation. The collection is updated regularly, and translations are not official unless indicated.
Women and Justice Collection
Cornell Law School's Avon Global Center for Women and Justice online library of legal and other resources relating to gender-based violence and gender justice.