A-Z Databases

Find the best library databases for your research.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
The U.S. federal government possesses extensive power to conduct foreign relations, but it is now common for U.S. states to interface directly with foreign sovereigns and their subnational jurisdictions, including by signing written commitments to cooperate on issues ranging from economic development to environmental protection. U.S. State Commitments with Foreign Governments is an online collection of the full text of the commitments that we obtained. The contents are searchable by keyword, title, state and foreign parties, subject, and date. The topics range from archaeology to human rights and transportation. There is considerable variation, moreover, in commitment design, as measured by the extent to which the instruments bind the parties, restrict termination or amendment, establish mechanisms to facilitate implementation, provide for judicial enforcement or other means of dispute resolution, address international law, and align with federal law and policy. Some of the commitments operate indefinitely, while others are term-limited. Some exhibit sophistication and formality, while others seem quite casual. Publishing them together significantly improves the transparency of modern practice. A curated collection of roughly one-quarter of them is available in hard copy under the same title.
Alternate Name(s) BLASE

HeinOnline’s Business and Legal Aspects of Sports and Entertainment (BLASE) is designed to assist researchers in locating sources relevant to the many issues surrounding these critically important subject areas, both of which have now attained global prominence. Organized into sixteen tabs, each covering a distinct type of material, the database builds upon HeinOnline’s historical strengths in legal periodical literature, case law, and U. S. federal and state materials by providing a unique topical arrangement for the documents within each tab while also adding many important new resources not previously available in HeinOnline.

 

BLASE is edited by Frank Houdek and Ed Edmonds, who both bring decades of work on the literature of sports and entertainment to this enterprise. The foundation of BLASE is the focused topical arrangement created by the editors after their analysis of more than 9,200 periodical articles. The treatment of sports-related material is comprehensive, while the approach to entertainment-related material concentrates on movies, music, television, and theater. Each topic contains a scope note that explains the focus of a given topic and the methodology used by the editors when assigning topics to a particular article. This approach, with some slight modifications, is also used for the material in the remaining fourteen tabs, which cover resources other than scholarly articles. The topic assignment is particularly helpful with the tabs that offer a large selection of books and an extensive bibliography of other relevant publications because it allows users to organize and filter titles by topic in addition to alphabetical or chronological arrangement.

In addition to full-text books and bibliographies with links to WorldCat holdings, the collection also contains federal and state documents, including legislative histories; House and Senate hearings and reports; committee prints; and reports from the Comptroller General, the Congressional Research Service, and the Government Accountability Office. The editors also provide carefully selected lists of court decisions important for researching particular issues in both sports and entertainment. The lists include citations and brief annotations describing the significance of each of the highlighted decisions.

Examples of the many business and legal areas included in the database are antitrust and labor law, athlete and entertainer representation, content regulation, contracts, criminal law, gender and race discrimination, governance, injuries and violence, intellectual property, health and safety issues, and publicity rights. By providing a wide range of materials on these and many other topics, the editors have sought to produce a truly comprehensive treatment of both sports and entertainment.

Additional features include an extensive collection of links to relevant external websites, organized topically; full-text access to the valuable publications of the National Sports Institute of Marquette University; and material pertaining to the Athlete Agents Act organized by annual meetings.

History of Capital Punishment This link opens in a new window
This online resource includes both database and PDF versions of the Eugene G. Wanger and Marilyn M. Wanger Death Penalty Collection: A Descriptive Bibliography, which represents more than 50 years of expert and extensive research on this subject. Also included are hundreds of additional related publications, such as hearings, trials, periodicals, and more. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.

The Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law was organized pursuant to the will of Judge Edwin B. Parker. Judge Parker was a leading international lawyer and senior partner in the law firm of Baker & Botts, and had served on international adjudicatory bodies following World War I.

He provided in his will for the establishment of a school devoted to the teaching and study of subjects relating to the international commerce and foreign relations of the United States. The mission of the Parker School of Foreign and Comparative Law, according to Columbia University statutes, is to promote the study and teaching of transnational and non-U.S. legal systems and international relations at Columbia Law, thereby facilitating engagement within the global legal academy and profession. 

Within HeinOnline, users are able to access more than 60 publications, including Szladit’s Bibliography on Foreign and Comparative Law, a 22-volume set spanning more than 200 years of coverage! 

U.S. Congressional Serial Set This link opens in a new window
The United States Congressional Serial Set, commonly referred to as the Serial Set, is considered the most essential publication for unveiling American history. Spanning more than two centuries with more than 17,000 bound volumes, the records in this series include House and Senate Documents, House and Senate Reports, the American State Papers, and much more. This ongoing project in HeinOnline will be released in phases and will soon contain complete coverage of the Serial Set. The Serial Set is indexed from inception to date and contains comprehensive full-text coverage from 1978-date. In addition, the HeinOnline interface is easy to search and browse and contains unique tools to help users quickly locate specific content. Available off campus with Pace portal credentials.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...