Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Archive and Special Collections at Pace Law Library
Elisabeth Haub School of Law Archives collect, preserve, and provide access to primary source materials that have been donated by judges and legal scholars. To use the Archives and Special Collections, please make an appointment with, Gail Whittemore.
The researcher is responsible for the careful handling of all materials made available. Materials are to be maintained in the order in which they are received by the researcher. Haub Law School Archives may permit limited reproduction of materials when such duplication does not violate donor agreements and when it may be done without damaging original materials. Copies may be made for research and reference only. It is the responsibility of the researcher to determine any copyright restrictions on, and obtain necessary authorization for, copying and/or other use of the materials. All items researchers wish to photocopy must be shown to a staff member before photocopying.
Contact Gail Whittemore, J.D., M.L.S. or Alyson Carney for assistance.
Elisabeth Haub School of Law Archives
The Haub Law School Archives gathers and makes accessible the historical record of materials developed at Haub Law School. The collection includes publications, photographs, audio, and video recordings of lectures, symposia, and other Law School events, and artifacts.
List of Archives
- Archives: Chesapeake Bay Foundation, Inc. v. Gwaltney of Smithfield, Ltd.
- In 1984, the Chesapeake Bay Foundation instituted a citizen suit against Gwaltney of Smithfield, Ltd., a meat processor, for discharging pollutants into the Chesapeake Bay. Pace Professor Ann Powers was the lead counsel for the Foundation in the lawsuit.
- Archives: David Sive Environmental Law Collection
- David Sive, Esq., the "father" of modern environmental law, represented litigants in many important lawsuits seeking to enforce and broaden the reach of environmental law in the United States. This collection was created with help of a grant from the New York State Archives and Records Administration.
- Archives: Hon. Leonard B. Sand Collection, United States District Court, Southern District of New York
- Judge Sand was involved in many significant cases, both as an attorney and later as Senior District Judge for the U.S. District Court, Southern District of New York.
- Archives: Judicial Papers of Hon. John D. Carey, Supreme Court, Westchester County, New York
- Judge John D. Carey presided over many civil and criminal cases during his tenure on the Supreme Court, Westchester County, New York, notably the murder trials of Carolyn Warmus.
- Archives: United States v. Yonkers Board of Education
- Joseph M. Pastore, Jr., was appointed by Judge Leonard B. Sand, U.S. District Judge, Southern District of New York, as Monitor of the Settlement Process of the federal government's desegregation case against the Board of Education of the City of Yonkers.
- Archives: Winifred Armstrong Papers
- An international economist, Winifred Armstrong helped to plan and coordinate the U.S. business community's contributions to the United Nations Conference on Human Environment in 1972, where international pollution control standards were developed. Ms. Armstrong's several document collections and her perspective on the importance of document preservation are discussed in a 2016 article (http://bit.ly/WinArmstrong) published in the Swarthmore College Summer Bulletin.
- Archives: New York State Task Force on Women in Courts
- Pace Professor Jay C. Carlisle was a member of the New York Task Force created in 1984 to study and propose solutions regarding the roles of women in the New York Courts.
- Lincoln, Habeas Corpus, and the Suspension of Civil Liberties During the Civil War
- To complement "Lincoln: The Constitution and the Civil War," a traveling exhibition held at the Pace Law Library from March 5 to April 11, 2012.
- Archives: Chauncey Olinger - Documents on Citizens' Movement to Prevent the SST (Concorde) from Landing in the United States
- In the 1960s, the Concorde supersonic transport (SST) aircraft was manufactured in Britain and France, intended to cut flightt times between London and Paris to less than five hours. As the airlines sought authorization to land at U.S. airports, however, reports of adverse effects from SST flights, including inreased noise levels, additional fuel requirements, and pollution of the upper atmosphere, including the ozone layer, were detected. Chauncey G. Olinger, Jr., headed a groups of environmental activists that worked to prohibit SST landings in the U.S. [This collection is in process and a finding aid will be available soon]