This is the "Home" page of the "Transit Oriented Development Legal Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Transit Oriented Development Legal Research Guide   Tags: environmental law, land use, local laws, municipal laws, ordinances, sustainable development, transit oriented development, zoning  

The focus of this guide is the search for local land use laws relevant to transit oriented development. This research guide includes links to primary and secondary sources.
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2015 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/transit-oriented-development Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Research Guide

This guide is written for use by Pace Law School students, faculty and staff, and contains links to transit oriented development law resources, with a focus on finding local land use laws.   

  • Many treatises and some books are made available on Westlaw and WestlawNext, or Lexis.com.  Where secondary sources are available on WestlawNext or Lexis.com, links have been provided along with call numbers for secondary sources that we hold in print. 
  • Some of the links included in in this guide require passwords which are available to Pace Law School students, faculty and staff via TWEN.  

Researchers from other institutions should ask their librarians for assistance if they do not have access to the materials noted in this guide.  

This research guide is an ongoing project. I would like to thank the staff at Pace's Land Use Law Center for Sustainable Development for their many helpful suggestions regarding websites and topics to include in the guide, and I welcome additional comments/suggestions from anyone who is using this guide.

Remote Access

On campus access: Most databases are available on campus via IP access without requiring an additional log in. Some databases are available on campus only. Read the description of the database you intend to use. List of databases is below. 

Off campus access: Some databases require Pace Portal login for access. Other databases cab accessed off campus via PaceVPN (Virtual Private Network). Download the Cisco VPN client from the link below.

Some electronic databases require login on and off campus. The login information is listed in the Database Passwords folder on the Law Library on TWEN course. See the link below. 

 

Introduction to Transit Oriented Development Law

Transit Oriented Development incorporates various land use mechanisms to reduce our dependency on cars and encourage the development and use of urban transit systems.

Transit Oriented Development, or “TOD,” refers to the reemergence and growing trend of creating livable communities centered around railway and other mass-transit systems. “Transit-Oriented Development is compact, mixed use development near new or existing public transportation infrastructure that serves housing, transportation and neighborhood goals. Its pedestrian-oriented design encourages residents and workers to drive their cars less and ride mass transit more.”(citation omitted)[1]

Researchers looking at land use law issues will need to consider federal and state statutes, federal and state cases, and federal and state administrative regulations and decisions. These resources can easily be searched by researchers with access to Westlaw and/or Lexis.

More difficult to locate are the local laws which put into effect the land use plans of local governments, and the planning documents, both local and regional, which inform land use planning. 

[1] Julian Conrad Juergensmeyer & Thomas E. Roberts, Land Use Planning and Development Regulation Law § 9.12 (2d ed. 2007).

Related Research Guides from the Pace Law Library

These research guides on related topics are written and maintained by reference librarians at the Pace Law School Library. 

  • Land Use, Planning, and Zoning Legal Research Guide
    Written by Vicky Gannon, this is a legal resource guide for information relating to land use law including primary and secondary source materials, quick links, and database resources.
  • New York Environmental Legal Research Guide
    Written by Taryn Rucinski at the Pace Law Library, this is "a legal resource guide for information relating to New York State and New York City environmental law including primary and secondary source materials, quick links, and database resources."
  • Environmental Legal Research Guide
    Written by Taryn Rucinski, this guide "is designed to assist both the novice and the experienced legal practitioner in locating resources related to federal environmental and administrative law."

Related Research Guides From Other Institutions

Research guides are often written with a specific audience in mind and may contain call numbers or specific to that library or may list databases specific to that library. When using a research guide published by another library, you can always check the Pace Library Catalog to see if we own a particular book and check Pace Law Library's list of databases to see if we have a subscription for a particular database.  

LibGuide Author

Profile Image
Vicky Gannon
Logo - Twitter
Contact Info
Head of Circulation / Reference Librarian
Pace University School of Law Library
78 North Broadway
White Plains, NY 10589
ph 914 422 4369
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip