State Environmental Quality Review Act (SEQRA)
City Environmental Quality Review (CEQR)
This is the "New York State" page of the "New York Environmental Legal Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

New York Environmental Legal Research Guide   Tags: environmental_law, legal_research, new_york, new_york_legal_research  

A legal resource guide for information relating to New York State and New York City environmental law including primary and secondary source materials, quick links, and database resources.
Last Updated: Apr 3, 2012 URL: http://libraryguides.law.pace.edu/new_york_environmental_law Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

New York State Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

New York State Environmental Law

Conducting environmental legal research in New York is fairly complex due to the different layers of government (state/ city/ municipal).  This guide provides links and reference materials to primary and secondary sources pertaining to New York environmental law. For a deeper discussion of how to research New York law in general see our LibGuide for New York Legal Research.

 

New York Environmental Publications

(Need to be a member of the NYSBA to access)
            Albany's Government Law Online
(Topic Index includes Municipal, Environmental & Energy categories)    
 

New York Environmental Law Reviews & Journals

    

 
Please see HeinOnline, LexisNexis, and Westlaw for additional journals and for issues of the Albany Environmental Outlook Journal and the Touro Environmental Law Journal which are all published.

Articles

The following articles represent some of the most recent legal scholarship on issues relating to New York environmental law (by date):

 Lisa Gayle Bradley, On the Acquisition of Upstream Interests in New York Energy Operating Companies - An Uncharted Area?, 31 Energy L.J. 509 (2010)

Roger R. Martella, Jr., Climate Change Along th Northeast Corridor: How Washington and New York are Approaching and preparing for Greenhouse Gas Controls, 18 N.Y.U. Envtl. L.J. 14 (2010) 

Nicholas A. Robinson & David N. Cassuto, New York Water Law. Water & Water Rights, Matthew Bender and Co., Inc., SSRN (2009) 

Tonya R. Lewis, Comment, The Plenary Power of States to Protect Citizens from Environmental Hazards: Who's Failing - New York State: A Case in Point, 17 Buff. Envtl. L.J. 43 (2009-2010)

Please see HeinOnline, LexisNexis, Westlaw and SSRN for additional articles.



NASDA Report

National Association of State Departments of Agriculture (NASDA) produces federal and state specific reports on environmental law.

New York State Environmental Law

                                          

New York State's Consolidated Laws are available from LexisNexis and Westlaw.

  • New York State Consolidated Laws
    Hyperlinks arranged by subject:
    ENG - Energy
    ENV - Environmental Conservation
    PAR - Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation
    PBH - Public Health
    SWC - Soil & Water Conservation Distrcits
    TRA - Transportation
    TCP - Transportation Corporations
  • New York State Legislature
    Bill Text, Status, Summaries, Sponsor Memos and Floor Votes going back to 1995.
  • New York State Assemby
    See left navigation bar to search for "Bills and Legislative Information" and "Committees Commissions and Taskforces" for news and updates from the:
    Energy Committee
    Environmental Conservation Committee
    Agriculture Economic & Farmland Protection Subcommittee
    Oversight of the DEC Subcommittee
    Renewable Energy Subcommittee
    Workplace Safety Subcommittee
    Solid Waste Management Legislative Comm'n
    Toxic Substances & Hazardous Waste Legislative Comm'n
    Water Resource
  • New York State Senate
    See top navigation tabs to search for "Legislation" and updated information from the following "Committees:"
    Agriculture
    Energy & Telecommunications
    Environmental Conservation
  • New York State Agencies
    Hyperlinked list of all New York State administrative agencies.
  • New York State Unified Court System
    Homepage for the NYS Unified Court System.
  • New York State Courts An Introductory Guide
    An overview of the New York State court system.

New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC)

         The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation is the state agency who is responsible for "conserv[ing], improv[ing] and protect[ing] New York's natural resources and environment and to prevent, abate and control water, land and air pollution, in order to enhance the health, safety and welfare of the people of the state and their overall economic and social well-being."

 

Books

When searching the Pace Law Library Catalog the following Library of Congress Subject Headings can be helpful:

Conservation of Natural Resources -- New York (State)
Environmental Impact Statements -- Law and Legislation -- New York (State)
Environmental Law --  New York (State)
Environmental Law --  New York (State) -- Criminal Provisions
Environmental Policy --  New York (State)
Environmental Protection --  New York (State)
Water Resources Development -- Law and Legislation -- New York (State)

Cover Art
New York Environmental Law Handbook - Frank L. Amoro ed.
Call Number: KFN5610.T37 2006
ISBN: 0865877327
In its 7th edition, this text is still the most comprehensive handbook available.

Cover Art
New York Practice Series - Environmental Law and Regulation in New York - William R. Ginsberg & Philip Weinberg eds.
Call Number: KFN5610 .E575 2009
2009/2010 version is on Law Reserve. Also available on Westlaw (NYPRAC-ENV)

Cover Art
Environmental Impact Review in New York - Daniel A. Ruzow et al. eds.
Call Number: KFN5610 .A41 v. 1 & 2
Updated in looseleaf through November 2010. Also available on LexisNexis as part of the Matthew Bender Series.

Cover Art
Environmental Law in New York - Michael B. Gerrard ed.
Call Number: KFN5610.A15 E58
Looseleaf updated through July 2011. Also available on LexisNexis.

Cover Art
Environmental Compliance in Your State (New York) - Business & Legal Reports (BLR)
Call Number: KFN5610 .A6 E58 1992
Two volume series, includes a newsletter. Updated through July 2011.

Cover Art
Gibson's New York Legal Research Guide - William H. Manz
Call Number: KFN5074 .G53 2004 (Reserve and Reference)
See Chapters 5: Legislative History and also see Chapter 2: State Legislation: Legislative Process

 
 

Treatises

Environmental legal treatises and databases specific to New York are available to Pace students via their assigned passwords:

NY Environmental Cases  
New York Environmental Compliance Update
Environmental Law Reporter Environmental Statutes and Treaties  
NY Department of Environmental Conservation Decisions  
Environmental Impact Review in New York - Index  
Environmental Law in New York  (Environmental Law in New York Newsletter Michael B. Gerrard ed.)
Environmental Impact Review in New York  
 
New York Practice Series -  Environmental Law & Regulation in New York (NYPRAC-ENV)
New York/New Jersey Environmental Compliance Update (SMNYNJENVCU) 
New York Environmental, Health and Safety Regulations (ENFLEX-NY)
New York Environmental Records (EDR-NY) 
New York Environment Cases and Administrative Materials (NYENV)
New York Environmental Law Administrative Decisions (NYENV-ADMIN) 
New York Environmental Law Cases (NYENV-CS) 
Annotated New York Environmental, Health, and Safety Statutes (NYENV-ST)  
Environmental FormFinder - New York (FF-ENV-NY)
Drafting Tools: NY Environmental Forms & Checklists (NY-ENVFORM)
New York Jurisprudence 2d - Environmental Law (NYJUR-ENV)
ENFLEX Environmental, Health, and Safety Forms - New York (ENFLEX-FRM-NY)
 
On the main search page select the top navigation tab for "Topics" then select the link labeled "Environmental Law"

My Profile

Profile Image
Taryn Rucinski
Contact Info
Environmental Law Librarian
& Adjunct Professor of Law
Pace Law Library
Ref. Desk 914-422-4208
Cir. Desk 914-422-4273
Send Email

Blawgs

Environmental Advocacy in New York

 

Other Resources

Below please find a list of environmental databases and legal resources that Pace Law Library subscribes to.  Please note that some of these resources are only available on campus, some may require Pace Portal ID's, or in some instances they may require passwords that are available to Pace students on the Law Library's TWEN site:

 

       

       

     

                            

                

           

   

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip