Skip to main content
Banner Image

Land Use, Planning, and Zoning Legal Research Guide: Home

This research guide contains links to primary and secondary sources useful in the study of land use, planning, and zoning law. Also included are pages focused on special topics in land use law.

About This Research Guide

This guide is written for use by Pace Law School students, faculty and staff, and contains links to land use law resources, with a focus on zoning and planning.  

  • Many treatises and some books are made available on WestlawNext, or Lexis Advance.  Where secondary sources are available on WestlawNext or Lexis Advance, links have been provided along with call numbers for secondary sources that we hold in print. 
  • Some of the links included in in this guide require passwords which are available to Pace Law School students, faculty and staff via TWEN.  

Researchers from other institutions should ask their librarians for assistance if they do not have access to the materials noted in this guide.  

This research guide is an ongoing project. I would like to thank the staff at Pace's Land Use Law Center for Sustainable Development for their many helpful suggestions regarding websites and topics to include in the guide, and I welcome additional comments/suggestions from anyone who is using this guide.

Remote Access

On campus access: Most databases are available on campus via IP access without requiring an additional login. Some databases are available on campus only. Read the description of the database you intend to use. List of databases is below.

Off campus access: Some database require Pace Portal login for access. Other databases can be access off campus via PaceVPN (Virtual Private Network). Download the Cisco VPN client from the link below.

Some electronic databases require login on and off campus. The login information is listed in the Database Passwords on the Law Library on TWEN course. See the link below.

Introduction to Land Use Law Research

Land use planning has been described as:

[A] process that allows municipalities to consider the impacts of land use decisions and actions on the immediate and long-range protection, enhancement, growth, and development of the community.  In essence, planning results in a blueprint for community development and it becomes an important indicator of quality of life in our cities, towns and villages....The legal system in nearly every state encourages local governments to consider all of this and to create, in response, a land use plan.

Zoning and other land use controls are the legal tools that implement the land use plan.[1]

Researchers looking at land use law issues will need to consider federal and state statutes, federal and state cases, and federal and state administrative regulations and decisions. These resources can easily be searched by researchers with access to Westlaw and/or Lexis.

More difficult to locate are the local laws which put into effect the land use plans of local governments, and the planning documents, both local and regional, which inform land use planning. The special topic tabs associated with this guide are designed to aid the land use researcher in finding model ordinances, case studies, and policy documents associated with these topics. 

[1] John R. Nolon & Patricia E. Salkin, Land Use In a Nutshell, 39 (2006).

Related Research Guides from the Pace Law Library

These research guides on related topics are written and maintained by reference librarians at the Pace Law School Library. 

Related Research Guides From Other Institutions

Research guides are often written with a specific audience in mind and may contain call numbers specific to that library or may list databases specific to that library. When using a research guide published by another library, you can always check the Pace Library Catalog to see if we own a particular book and check Pace Law Library's list of databases to see if we have a subscription for a particular database.  

LibGuide Author

Vicky Gannon
Contact:
Head of Circulation / Reference Librarian

Pace University School of Law Library

78 North Broadway

White Plains, NY 10589

ph 914 422 4369
Website / Blog Page
Social:Twitter Page