Skip to main content

Archives: Hon. Leonard B. Sand Collection: Hon. Leonard B. Sand Collection

A collection of papers donated by Hon. Leonard B. Sand.

Descriptive Summary

The Honorable Leonard B. Sand, a senior judge on the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York, generously donated a selection of his papers to Pace Law School Archives. These papers include volumes of the Harvard Law Review published while Judge Sand was a member and Note Editor, as well as copies of briefs written when Judge Sand was an Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York, an Assistant to the U.S. Solicitor General, and in private practice.

The collection contains documents used and annotated by Judge Sand, who represented the appellants, in a New York reapportionment case, W.M.C.A., Inc. v. Lomenzo, 377 U.S. 633 (1964), including recordings of the oral arguments before the U.S. Supreme Court. Also in the collection are bound copies of district court opinions written by Judge Sand from 1983 to 2010. Several of these opinions were written in  United States v. Yonkers Bd. of Educ., 624 F. Supp. 1276 (S.D.N.Y. 1985), followed by a second school remedy order in United States v. Yonkers Bd. of Educ., 635 F. Supp. 1538 (S.D.N.Y. 1986), aff'd, 837 F.2d 1181 (2d Cir. 1987), in which Judge Sand determined that the New York Yonkers school system had violated the civil rights of  students in its schools, and ordered a detailed school desegregation plan. In that litigation, Judge Sand appointed Joseph M. Pastore, whose papers are also in the Pace Law School Archives (Archives: United States v. Yonkers Board of Education) to monitor the desegregation process of the Yonkers schools.