Collection of online resources providing immigration law information & assistance, including laws, federal agencies, U.S., International, region- and subject-specific organizations, agencies, and institutes.
Last Updated: Jun 22, 2015
- Code of Federal Regulations: Title 8
The general provisions of laws enacted by Congress are interpreted and implemented by regulations issued by various agencies.
- Immigration and Nationality Act (INA)
Updated through March 4, 2010
- USCIS Immigration Handbooks, Manuals, and Guidance
Includes Adjudicator's Field Manual, Guidance on Uniform Denial Language Pertaining to Appeals to the Board of Immigration Appeals, Revisions to Adjudicator's Field Manual (AFM) Chapter 10.7(b) (AFM Update AD10-25), M-274 Handbook for Employers.
Interpretations were created to supplement and clarify the provisions of the statute and regulations as interpreted by the courts.
- NACARA Section 203
On November 19, 1997, President Clinton signed into law the Nicaraguan Adjustment and Central American Relief Act (NACARA). NACARA provides various forms of immigration benefits and relief from deportation to certain Nicaraguans, Cubans, Salvadorans, Guatemalans, nationals of former Soviet bloc countries and their dependents.
- Other Immigration CFRs
Title 6, Title 22, and other agencies' regulations.
- Public Laws Amending the INA
Updated through January 2011.
- TRAC Criminal Statutes Most Frequently Used in Immigration Prosecutin
List of the provisions of the U.S. Code that is most frequently used in immigration prosecutions.
- USCIS Federal Register Announcements
Provides a listing of regulations and other notices that were published in the Federal Register.
- Administrative Decisions
The USCIS Administrative Appeals Office (AAO) has jurisdiction over the appeals from decisions on most immigration petitions and applications that are entered by USCIS regional service centers and district offices.
- Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts
It provides a wide range of administrative, legal, financial, management, program, and information technology services to the federal courts.
- Board of Immigration Appeals (Home)
The Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA) is the highest administrative body for interpreting and applying immigration laws.
- EOIR Immigration Court Listings
Executive Office of Immigration Review.
Includes info about the courts. Lists courts by state in alphabetical order.
- Executive Office for Immigration Review (EOIR)
To adjudicate immigration cases by fairly, expeditiously, and uniformly interpreting and administering the Nation's immigration laws.
- Federal Rules
Includes Federal Rules of Appellate, Civil, Criminal, and Bankruptcy procedure, and Federal Rules of Evidence.
Office of the Chief Administrative Hearing Officer.
- Office of Administrative Law Judges
About the office and contact information. Also includes immigration collection: Board of Alien Labor Certification Appeals and Office of Administrative Law Judges.
- Office of Chief Immigration Judge
The Office of the Chief Immigration Judge (OCIJ) provides overall program direction, articulates policies and procedures, and establishes priorities for more than 230 immigration judges located in more than 55 immigration courts throughout the Nation.
- Board of Immigration Appeals (Precedent Decisions)
Precedent decisions" are administrative decisions of the Administrative Appeals Office (AAO), the Board of Immigration Appeals (BIA), and the Attorney General, which are selected and designated as precedent by the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security (DHS), the BIA, and the Attorney General, respectively.
- TRAC Immigration Court Backlog
Pending Cases and Length of Wait in Immigration Courts. Pending cases by state, court, hearing location, and nationality. Free service from Syracuse University.
- TRAC Immigration Court Outcomes
Completed Cases and Completion Time in Immigration Courts. By state, hearing center, court location or nationality. Cases can be viewed by removals, voluntary departures, terminations (no grounds for removal), and relief granted.
- TRAC Immigration Reports
Contains information about immigration judges in the United States. Free service from Syracuse University
- U.S. Sentencing Commission
The Sentencing Commission is an independent agency in the judicial branch of government.
- United States Supreme Court
Includes Docket, Oral Arguments, Merits Briefs, Bar Admissions, Court Rules, Case Handling Guides, Opinions, Orders and Journals.
- USCIS: Case Status Search
Website allowing applicants to check the status of their case by inserting the assigned receipt number.
The collection of resources in this guide is partially based on resources in Kurzban's Immigration Law Sourcebook.